Customer Reviews for

Child of the Ghosts

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great Middle Fantasy

This is a very well done fantasy novel. Not super complex, and a few major points fairly predictable, but it's good. There's a lot that goes on that's not predictable and doesn't play out to cliche. The main character faces a number of moral dilemmas that she deals w...
This is a very well done fantasy novel. Not super complex, and a few major points fairly predictable, but it's good. There's a lot that goes on that's not predictable and doesn't play out to cliche. The main character faces a number of moral dilemmas that she deals with in somewhat nuanced ways. I also really liked the Mediterranean and middle eastern mixed with Roman feel to the world, a welcome change from English & French mythology.

posted by 11054500 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Very gory

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great Middle Fantasy

    This is a very well done fantasy novel. Not super complex, and a few major points fairly predictable, but it's good. There's a lot that goes on that's not predictable and doesn't play out to cliche. The main character faces a number of moral dilemmas that she deals with in somewhat nuanced ways. I also really liked the Mediterranean and middle eastern mixed with Roman feel to the world, a welcome change from English & French mythology.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great Series

    I loved this book along with the next 3 books in the series. Well written and fast paced.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Really like the author

    Not for kids

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Great and free

    I never expected to enjoy a free listing this much. I am now a fan and have added other titles by this author to my wish list.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Entertaining

    This book was fun, well-paced, and engaging. If you like sorcery and revenge, girl heroines and happy endings, this is a book for you. Not deep, nor complex, this book is an easy read that'll keep you turning the pages.
    Best of all, it's free.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed this book. Only one part at the end I didn't like. Can't say for those that haven't read it yet. I liked it enough to read the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Read this review, it may be helpful.

    Jonathan Moeller has always been a favorite of mine, but this book fails to live up to the outstanding standards that he set for himself with the demonsouled saga. But this book is still incredibly fun to read, even though the second book is better. Besides, it's free, so why not?

    -VL

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    This was a good book. I liked the fact that Mr. Moeller can kill

    This was a good book. I liked the fact that Mr. Moeller can kill of main characters and his heroine was REAL. In most fantasy the girls kick butt, even against the men. In this book Caina is taught that she may not be stronger but she is faster and to end her fights early. This made the heroine very believable. Spoiler** the only thing I didn't like was when she was held captive and had decided to "end" her life, knowing that it would give the necromancer more power, I would think she would try everything she could to stay alive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    excellent read

    Great story and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Xgxhdvxg

    Jfyzjahhhdbdhxhbhxjfnhkhfgym xtwhdyjnd fnyss dgnhwbd iogvcyouuf hdjhe f ciete

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Good read

    Quite a few typos and format errors, but a great read. Good story, good plot, great descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Awesome

    The only reason for it not being 5 stars is that it needs editing. Names change spelling, wrong word or missing words etc. But great story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Child of the Ghosts

    Fantastic! Writen about a girl who experiences things no one should. She lives and becomes stronger because of it. The girl joins a group that sculpts her into an incredibly talented and dangerous young woman. Very well written, though not very well edited. Also needs a map, though one could probably just draw a map based from all of the wonderful details in the novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Good....very good

    I loved this book. I can't wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I was not familar with this author until free friday, When B&N listed this book for a free friday.
    This turned out to be a well written, held my attention, action filled fantasy novel.
    I cannot wait to read the second book in the series.
    If you like strong, independent female characters who kick butt with a good story line i recommend you read this book. I hope the rest of the series is as good as the first.
    I'm always surprised when a malle author writes a book with a strong female lead and does it so well.
    Recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great Read

    Nice storyline with interesting turns and not too much detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Tetra

    A good book for those that that love a violent espionage like book; I enjoyed this story but would not recomend it to those under 13 years of age. a few grammer annoyed me though; you will find yourself loving and root for at least one character

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed the story line and look forward to the rest in the series. You get somewhat drawn into the characters, there could be more depth, but they are still likable and make this a pleasing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Good

    Gory yes, but if you know it is there it isnt that bad. Good story...kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great start to a series

    This was a great kick off to what I hope will be a series that keeps my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3