Customer Reviews for

Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 816 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(262)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

A Thrilling tale of love and betrayal, set in the Highlands of Scotland

This is a fantastic, engrossing story of a young healer, Anne MacGregor, and a dark, tormented hero, Niall Campbell, who are forced together in an unlikely alliance to bring peace to their two feuding clans. Anne, however, is unjustly thought a witch by some and doesn'...
This is a fantastic, engrossing story of a young healer, Anne MacGregor, and a dark, tormented hero, Niall Campbell, who are forced together in an unlikely alliance to bring peace to their two feuding clans. Anne, however, is unjustly thought a witch by some and doesn't find life in Niall's home overly welcoming. And, as if an unwanted fiance isn't enough of a problem, Niall soon finds his own life in jeopardy when he assumes leadership of his clan. Fanatics, traitors, and those who pursue their own ambitions over what is right and good add to the ever rising suspense. I couldn't put this book down, and can't wait for it's sequel. Bravo, Kathleen Morgan! You've a winner with this one!

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

highlander with a twist

this is a highlander with a who done it twist. i very much like the story and characters but beware of a lot of religious undertones to the story. if you like a clean highlander love story without sex then this is for you.

posted by pepper-ann on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    It was so cheesy i could barely get through the first few chapters, and i read like 24/7 and absolutely adore good literature. I was so excited to read thus because i love celtic mythology history etc, but this was a huge dissapointment!

    Why cant anybody write a story with a love story in it either as a side plot or the real plot, without it being a lucid sex scene or incredibly cheesy?

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Repetitious.

    The story really didn't get interestin until the last 100 pages. I also don't think that the male main character was developed. And how the heck did they know they were in love so fast? I won't be reading the sequels.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    To focused on religion

    I wish this book had come with a warning. All the religious referances are distracting. The characters keep doing the same things and having the same conversation over and over. Maybe the writer should take a break from church to develope her plot and characters.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Don't bother

    This story could have been so much better, very predictable as far as Anne is concerned. Nothing like the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. Not a very in depth story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    More of a novella

    Was this written to be an ebook. I've noticed that things written to be ebooks don't seem to be edited at the same level as print books. Otherwise, the story was ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Slow moving hard to get into it

    I was going to quit reading many times, but forced myself to read the entire book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Not a favortite

    Too much fighting and arguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Very BORING

    Would give it 0 stars but can't!! Couldn't even finish it! I dont recommend this book! Very boring and made me want to sleep -_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    The worst

    it makes no scence at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Meh

    Unlikeable main characters and an unrealistic plot make this a tedious read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Horrible

    Do not take the time to read this. If I could give it 0 stars I would! It is aterrible book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Just couldn't read with the dialect

    Although there were some good reviews, the way it was written distracted me enough that I gave it up a few pages in.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    *****

    Really enjoyed this book. Would read again!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Review

    Terrible. Worse book i've ever tried to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    highly recommend

    Enjoyed very much, mystery..possible murder plot and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Attention

    You can only get book one free the rest are 4.99

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    don't know

    Have not read this book yet

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Not a must read, but fanciful love in midieval Scotland

    Midieval Scotland's clans clash. Love interest brings members of two rival clans together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Worth every penny

    It's worth exactly what I paid for it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Meh

    Hilarious and stereotypical 'scottish' dialogue thatleft me cringing. No depth, no wonder this book is free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3