BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Children of Dune

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another great addition to the dune series!

Children of dune is a great addition the Dune science fiction series. I really enjoyed reading this book. Leto II is my favorite character in the series after reading this. Children of dune is set 9 years after Dune messiah. Paul and chani's children are 9 years old and...
Children of dune is a great addition the Dune science fiction series. I really enjoyed reading this book. Leto II is my favorite character in the series after reading this. Children of dune is set 9 years after Dune messiah. Paul and chani's children are 9 years old and have certain memories that they maybe shouldn't about their parents and the past of planet arrakis. This is one of the best in the dune series. I highly recommend it to fans of the series and fans of science fiction in general. Frank Herbert has a unique and great writing style.

posted by bookwormTE on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Price Check?

Why is the published cost of this ebook 17.92 when it can be had in paperback for under 8.00 at B&N.com, and <$8.00 in ebook format at other online retailers?

posted by 2069026 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    its DUNE

    its DUNE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Children of Dune, the Dune Chronicles, Book 3

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Amazing

    This book was really good. Not quite as good as the first, but much better than the second. The whole book is interesting. Some chapters focusing on Alia drag on a little, but everything about the twins, the precher, and jessica will keep you reading. The ending is amazing, i think possibly the best ending out of all the dune books. Herbert has a great way of making you feel for the characters, and it shows most in this book. Surprising and very interesting, this book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Ignorant, that's what you are when you skip Dune Messiah...

    Children of Dune was no doubt a wonderful book, that's why I gave it the rating that I did...but if you skip Dune Messiah it's because you're ignorant to the messages that it puts out. It gives out way too much information to just skip over. You can't tell me that the death of Chani, and the 'dissapearance' of Paul Muad'dib, the two most important characters of the original trilogy is not important. This book is awesome, but if you skip the one before it, you're not a true fan of Herbet's genius, or his hard work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    I've gotta say something!

    First this book is the real sequl to Dune its really entertaining because its smart and action packed and everything is cloaked in one gigantic mysterie.the best character by far is the preacher i love him because he so mysterious and you get the impresiom hes all powerful.get this book after dune and just borrow dune messiah-that stunk because it was short and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    miniseries dune

    I have seen the miniseries for dune and children of dune. They were the most enspiring thing that you can watch, and for that matter, read. A book that is recammended for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    The most significant of them all

    I'm going to try to keep this nice and short. To understand the entire Dune Chronicles, especially the end, you have to read Children of Dune. It's literally the prologue to God Emporer of Dune, the greatest of all Dune books. Children of Dune sets the stage of the events that will unfold on Dune. True there are some drawn out chapters, but if you don't read it from beginning to end, you won't see how all those things come together at the end. To really understand the Golden Path, and especially the sacrifice Leto II makes, you have to read Children of Dune, it takes you into the reasons of the why and how Leto is the way he is in God Emporer of Dune, and how he changes Arrakis forever...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Great Book

    This book is an outstanding expansion of the Dune World. It is much darker than you might expect with an ending that leaves you wanting to get into the God Emporer phase immediatey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    Greatest book ever... yes...

    Without a doubt this enables you the reader to step back from every day life here... the way he writes and everything... Just within the book itself it's wonderful... the twins, the characters in general........ but after reading this... you can't look at anything the same... You are missed Frank Herbert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    Best So Far

    This is the greatest of the Dune books up to it's release. It surpasses both Dune and Dune Messiah in it's Mystery and Intrigue, leaving the reader with the desire to see it to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4