Customer Reviews for

Children of Eden [Original Cast Highlights]

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    It is a great listen...

    ... so I disagree with your site review very much. As for Schwartz's body of work, if you think this is sub-par then you did not listen to the lyrics. Eden shows an amazing way to blend his style with the subject matter and story. But I take most offense to the comment of lack luster performances - you only mention to the two known star names in your review. How about Bill Solo as God, and WOW is the only way to describe Darius de Haas's performance as Cain on "Lost In The Wilderness." Far from lackluster as your site describes, de Haas blows that song away. I suggest that your reviewer is lost in the stars himself if he can not appreciate this show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best musical in the world!

    This is the most awesome, cool and wonderful musical on earth! Though the 1st time I heard it, I didn't love it. But I gave it a second chance and it was so much better for me! This is definetly a musical that will go down as one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One women's opinion

    I think that this musical was one of the greatest I have seen in a while. Some shows are over done and become irritaitng after listening to the scores a few times and seeing the production. This musical should be preformed more and can be easily because of the variety of ways a cast and crew can interpret the various aspects of the show. I agree that not all of the songs on this album are not my favorite examples of this show, but some of my all time favorite songs are included (spark of creation). Give the songs a shot and see the show. They are meant to be enjoyed together because they both make up one thing, Children of Eden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Close your eyes and be captivated!

    Even if you believe the acting is not quite up-to-par, close your eyes and get lost in the story, be captivated by the beautiful music! My children were confused in the beginning, stating ''that's not the way it happened!'', and I told them to close their eyes and think of it only as a fairy tale, and to listen to the music. They were captivated from then on. I love the score, the words, the deep underlying meaning of these songs. It has become one of our favorites~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Performer

    I bought this CD after I was cast in the play as Yonah. I was hooked immediately. If you have any interest in musical theatre this is a must have! The CD alone is enough to move you to tears, but if you see the show it will mean even more. I have had my copy for two years and it has not left my CD Player!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I agree...

    I agree with the site review for this, em, well-intentioned-but-obviously-lacking-effort-on behalf-of-the-creators show. I must admit I¿m not at all a fan of the whole 70¿s ¿Broadway is dead¿/ Christian musicals and ¿Hair¿ period. But while Godspell was at least sufferable, this show is a grueling task just to sit whiteness to. One must wonder: when there are so many good shows out there (Oklahoma, Fiddler..., Guys & Dolls, Anything Goes, South Pacific, 42nd Street, Les Miserables, West Side Story, etc¿), why would anyone bother recognizing the existence of, let alone buy the score of, a piece of cr@p like ~cough~ Children of Eden. The story is a pathetic and insulting (to anyone of intelligence) adaptation of the Bible, and the score is comparable to one of those summer Bible camps for elementary students. WARNING: Spend your money on some musical that has had a successful run (something with 30,000 performances) not Children of Eden (100 performances) that opened in January and closed in April of the same year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give it a chance!

    Though I must say that the recording isnt quite as good as the live productions that I have seen of this show... it is still a wonderful, unique musical with many good songs. I will agree that not every song is great or award winning, but some of the songs are some of my favorites ever. (children of eden, hardest part of love, aint it good, etc.) This is a musical that isnt as great as some others but it is still truly wonderful. It may not be able to compete with some of the big titles but c'mon, give it a chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I disagree with the reviewer

    I both own this 2 CD set and had seen the production it was based on. While I confess I don't know much about recording. I do know a great deal about theatre. I am very familiar with Stephen Scwartz (I hope I spelled it correctly) work. This is certainly my favorite. The Paper Mill Playhouse did a wonderful job and they should be proud of themselves. Children Of Eden I went to see on a lark and I fell in love with it. I now see every production I am able to see. I reccommend everybody do the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    its wonderful

    I agree that when you first listen to it you think the music is kind of weird but after the second listen you will fall in love. I recommend you see the show. It's magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give a Second Listen

    I tend to disagree with the author of the review posted at your site. When I first heard the cd, I was not a fan. The lyrics were hard to understand and the melodies were unmemorable. As time grew though, the same melodies draw parallels in the story, which enriches the experience totally. I don't think first time listeners should be deceived. I was at first, but the CD is among, if not THE best of Schwartz's career. It is a phenomenal score, with wonderful singers! This is a great CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1