Customer Reviews for

The Children of Henry VIII

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2001

    Excellent and Outstanding

    This book is great. Alison Weir makes it so easy to understand. Read The six wives of Henry the VIII and The Life of Elizabeth I, along with this one for a full picture of the Tudor family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Wonderfully Addictive

    I am not quite done with this book but so far it has just been wonderful. Once i pick it up I can't put it down. I really enjoy that it was very easy to read. It is wonderfully written and just a great book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable reading!

    I love history, but I don't like boring history. This book is not only well-researched historically, but Alison Weird does a fabulous job of making this book interesting, if not gripping. I also enjoyed how the author went back and forth between the characters to maintain the time line. I know she has a book on Elizabeth...I wish she would come out with one on Mary, she is a fascinating character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A great read

    I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this book. The entertainment doesn't lie in the detailed, factual information (of which there is plenty) but rather in the author's use of psychological explanation in portraying these historical figures. I enjoy Weir's writing for the same reason that I enjoy Shakespeare's writing. Both authors not only present a good and entertaining story, they also present characters with such understanding that the stories become studies of humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book! Easy and interesting read. Didn't go into a lot of "extra" detail that sometimes makes you fall asleep. The book talked about a lot of people and places putting everything in prospective and easy to remember. She lets you know if a castle or building is still around today. This book made history interesting. Kind of like a cliffsnotes for history!
    Love love the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    a must for Tudor history lovers

    I'v read and re-read this so many times and continue loving it. So much drama and Alison Weir is a great story teller so it isn't dry at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great historical look into the lives of English royalty.

    Wonderful book for entertainment, information, discussion, gift giving. Alison Weir does it again. Information and history written just exciting and gripping as a novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I first read Alison Weirs' book about Henry VIII and his six wives and enjoyed her writing immensely. So well researched and it actually made history interesting! So I had to follow it up with "The Children of Henry VIII" and find it just as enjoyable and superbly written. I have made a promise to myself now to read every one of her books. If you're interested in this time period or Henry VIII and his life and related topics, Alison Weir is the writer for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read

    I read this book in 2 days! I thought this book would have more about Elizabeths reign. Though it didn't I still liked it and learned alot. I didn't know anything about Lady Jane and was glad to have her included in this book. I would recommend it to anyone. Now it makes me want to read more about Elizabeth and King Henrys sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Children Of Henry

    Alison Weir writes wonderful books.She really does her research.
    This book like all her others I have read are very captivating and hard to put down.She has a way of keeping you interested and there is never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2