BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Children of Hurin

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A superb final encore to Middle Earth and Tolkien

I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure i...
I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure involving a great warrior fighting in a darkness wrought by Morgoth, an enemy to whom Sauron was only a lieutenant.

The writing is closer to The Silmarillion in style than The Lord of the Rings, but still bears Tolkien¿s unparalleled gift for description, dialogue, and philosophy. It is easily one of my favorite books but I would only recommend it to fans of Tolkien as it would be difficult, even impossible, for newcomers to Middle Earth to appreciate or understand.

posted by Garren on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The Mythical Adventure

The book The Children of Hurin is about a boy Turin, whose family is put under an evil curse. Turin grows up to become an adventurer. During his adventures he meets elves, dwarves, dragons, and other humans. To find out the rest of Turin¿s adventures you will have to re...
The book The Children of Hurin is about a boy Turin, whose family is put under an evil curse. Turin grows up to become an adventurer. During his adventures he meets elves, dwarves, dragons, and other humans. To find out the rest of Turin¿s adventures you will have to read the book. I will say this right off the bat, I didn¿t like the book at all. The book did not capture my attention at all. It was also very hard to follow because it kept switching characters and places in an instance. This book is about what happened before The Lord of the Rings series took place. This boo also reminds me off The Lord of the Rings movies. I would have to say that this book is for older readers about the age of sixteen just because of the fact that it is so hard to follow. Another author similar to J.R.R. Tolkein is R.A. Salvatore, the author of the Forgotten Realm series.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    A superb final encore to Middle Earth and Tolkien

    I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure involving a great warrior fighting in a darkness wrought by Morgoth, an enemy to whom Sauron was only a lieutenant. <BR/><BR/>The writing is closer to The Silmarillion in style than The Lord of the Rings, but still bears Tolkien¿s unparalleled gift for description, dialogue, and philosophy. It is easily one of my favorite books but I would only recommend it to fans of Tolkien as it would be difficult, even impossible, for newcomers to Middle Earth to appreciate or understand.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    J.R.R Tolkien does it again!

    I thought that this was a very entertaining book. I found myself wanting to reach the next page. However, the book is very grim and is full of surprises that leave you distraught. The book is written so well that you can feel the sadness that is happening and it adds greatly to the effect it has on you. Also, there is a lot of action in the book. Time and time again Turin is faced with a new enemy. When this happened I became eager to find out how the battle turns out because in the book you never know when it can take a turn for the worse. At times I found the book hard to read because of the numerous names and places that were so unfamiliar. If you get confused to the extent that you can no longer understand the story anymore, there are pages in the back of the book where you can find answers. I think this is a great read and extremely interesting. I would recommend this to people without hesitation.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Not An Easy Read But Well Worth The Effort

    Set in the first age of Middle Earth, The Children Of Hurin recounts the life of Turin, Hurin¿s son. Nearly 7,000 years before the Lord Of The Rings and The Hobbit, men and elves struggle against Morgoth, the enemy who has placed a curse on Hurin¿s family. Raised as a fosterling by a king of elves, Turin tries to escape the doom set upon him and in doing so ensnares friends and family in the evil plots and designs of Morgoth. For the avid Tolkien reader, The Children Of Hurin adds yet more detail and substance to J. R. R. Tolkien¿s creation. The same stunning and descriptive language used in both the Lord Of The Rings and The Silmarillion invests the reader in the tale. The Children Of Hurin is not an easy book to read, but like Beowulf or Le Morte d¿ Arthur it is well worth the effort. It is rare to find such mythic and compelling work among the flotsam and jetsam of current fantasy writings. For those who love the ¿old¿ tales, or for those who love mythology, The Children Of Hurin is a must read. Quill says: Christopher Tolkien (J. R. R. Tolkien¿s son) has brilliantly edited, compiled and presented his late father¿s unfinished works. One can only hope that there are more gems yet to be mined from that source!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All around 5 star book.

    After reading the hobbit and lord of the rings a lot of people seem not to read anymore Tolkien. This was quite an amazing book really, In the first few pages they hit you with a lot of information, but don't stop reading try to understand as best you can, It will get easier. I loved the entire storyline, I enjoyed the characters of this book quite a lot, that should be noted. Lastly, the deluxe edition has been quite a nice addition to my little library, looks simple yet just looks so awesome. It has Awesome illistrations and sketches. The fold out map in the back really helps you to know whats going on and where, and the little dictionary in the back definitely helps you to understand the book. I would highly recommend this book, especially if you already enjoy Tolkien books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Wonderful story!

    It reminded me much of a Greek tragedy. Some people dislike the archaic style, but I for one loved it. It is now one of my favorite books. The characters, especially Turin, were deep and complex. It is hard at first to distinguish his actions, but you must remember his curse.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book :)

    I recently finishedLOTR, and they were just as good as this! Some parts got confusing, but other than that I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    To old

    Dont get tricked by the headline. I believe it is a little old for my 11 year old age. It has a really descriptive writing done so well that i dpnt know what it means. (This is where the look up comes in.) Maybe ill read it when im older...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Tragedy

    If you like fantasy or tragedy this book is for you. The tale is beautiful, timeless. As always, Tolkien created another masterpiece.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Another Satisfying Exploration of the Tolkien Universe

    I will keep this short. For fans of the Tolkien Universe this further exploration and expansion makes an enjoyable read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Okay, you've FINALLY finished the Silmarillion. What now?

    If you've finished the Silmarillion, congratulations. You've accomplished something even die-hard Tolkien fans find daunting. Give yourself a quick breather, then read The Children of Hurin - if only to tie up some of the loose ends Tolkien left in the Silmarillion and to saturate your brain even more with pseudo-Biblical tales of the trials of Elves and Men. Don't wait too long, though - and DON'T try to read this one first just because it's thinner. The relationships in this pre-Elrond world are so complex and numerous as to necessitate yet another genealogical diagram or three in the Appendix.

    In short, you're looking at "Silmarillion v1.5" here - and tales that are more of a DUTY to read than a pleasure.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    great!!!

    i love this book! i think that everyone should read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    The Mythical Adventure

    The book The Children of Hurin is about a boy Turin, whose family is put under an evil curse. Turin grows up to become an adventurer. During his adventures he meets elves, dwarves, dragons, and other humans. To find out the rest of Turin¿s adventures you will have to read the book. I will say this right off the bat, I didn¿t like the book at all. The book did not capture my attention at all. It was also very hard to follow because it kept switching characters and places in an instance. This book is about what happened before The Lord of the Rings series took place. This boo also reminds me off The Lord of the Rings movies. I would have to say that this book is for older readers about the age of sixteen just because of the fact that it is so hard to follow. Another author similar to J.R.R. Tolkein is R.A. Salvatore, the author of the Forgotten Realm series.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ok I absolutely loved this book. It was constantly entertaining. It did have its slow points but over all I loved this book. It rose above my expectations with flying colors. Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Great Book!

    This is an outstanding book. However, it also has to be about the most depressing story I have ever read. Nonetheless, it kept me so engrossed that I couldn't put the book down. If you liked the Simarillian, you will LOVE this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Amazing story

    Amazing story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Plot summary please?

    Can anyone please provide a quick summary of the plot?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Eowyn

    Me too!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    MAKE A MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If this really is part of the middle earth saga, make it into a movie! Guigermo del Toro, Im looking at you back there in the corner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    A sad read, but a very good one.

    A sad read, but a very good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Tragic yet gripping

    I loved this book. I am a huge lotr fan but i had a hard time reading the silmarillion. The story of hurin, morwen, turin neinor, and everybody else told in story format was a lot easier to read than the turin chapter in the silmarillion. The story is so sad because all those that hurin loved are basically doomed to misery by morgoth. But you cant help hoping that they will somehow escape their fate and live a happy life like they deserve. Even though turin is a stubborn jerk at times i couldnt help but feel sorry for him. He more than pays for his bad choices. The ending is heartbreaking but powerful. all in all a must have for lotr fanatics and a wonderful tale from middle earths history!! - a teenage girl who eagerly awaits the third hobbit movie. Less than three months to go...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11