BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Children of Hurin

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A superb final encore to Middle Earth and Tolkien

I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure i...
I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure involving a great warrior fighting in a darkness wrought by Morgoth, an enemy to whom Sauron was only a lieutenant.

The writing is closer to The Silmarillion in style than The Lord of the Rings, but still bears Tolkien┬┐s unparalleled gift for description, dialogue, and philosophy. It is easily one of my favorite books but I would only recommend it to fans of Tolkien as it would be difficult, even impossible, for newcomers to Middle Earth to appreciate or understand.

posted by Garren on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay, you've FINALLY finished the Silmarillion. What now?

If you've finished the Silmarillion, congratulations. You've accomplished something even die-hard Tolkien fans find daunting. Give yourself a quick breather, then read The Children of Hurin - if only to tie up some of the loose ends Tolkien left in the Silmarillion an...
If you've finished the Silmarillion, congratulations. You've accomplished something even die-hard Tolkien fans find daunting. Give yourself a quick breather, then read The Children of Hurin - if only to tie up some of the loose ends Tolkien left in the Silmarillion and to saturate your brain even more with pseudo-Biblical tales of the trials of Elves and Men. Don't wait too long, though - and DON'T try to read this one first just because it's thinner. The relationships in this pre-Elrond world are so complex and numerous as to necessitate yet another genealogical diagram or three in the Appendix.

In short, you're looking at "Silmarillion v1.5" here - and tales that are more of a DUTY to read than a pleasure.

posted by ISUPrez on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    To old

    Dont get tricked by the headline. I believe it is a little old for my 11 year old age. It has a really descriptive writing done so well that i dpnt know what it means. (This is where the look up comes in.) Maybe ill read it when im older...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Tragedy

    If you like fantasy or tragedy this book is for you. The tale is beautiful, timeless. As always, Tolkien created another masterpiece.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Another Satisfying Exploration of the Tolkien Universe

    I will keep this short. For fans of the Tolkien Universe this further exploration and expansion makes an enjoyable read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    MAKE A MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If this really is part of the middle earth saga, make it into a movie! Guigermo del Toro, Im looking at you back there in the corner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Tolkien fan

    It was an amazing book.tolkien was an amazing writer. Too bad middle earth died with him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Should i get it?

    Well? Should i?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good, interesting stylistic writing approach

    Let me premise this review with the fact that i'm a huge nerd for all things LOTR. it's one of my favorite series and i've read it through three times.

    The Children of Hurin is not like LOTR at all. It's written with a distinctly "mythic" voice that makes it feel thousands of years old (which is when the story takes place in the history of Middle-Earth). While I found this really cool and it made me think even more of JRR Tolkien's range as a writer, it sometimes annoyed me. Description like, "this made him sad." or something similar just seemed lazy to me, if though it fit the voice of the novel perfectly.

    The story itself is actually really good. it's a tragedy of sorts and I liked that there was no "happy ending".

    Overall, only true die-hard LOTR fans will appreciate what tolkien did here i think...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    must-read for dedicated Tolkien fans

    This is a very grim and gruelling tragedy, fleshing out some of the oft-referenced legends from the ancient past of middle-earth. It has a more novelistic structure and flow than the Silmarillion and various errata, and is comperable to LOTR in terms of readability. However it is unique in Tolkien's work for its darkness and relentless fatalism. This book is definitely a downer. It is almost shockingly bleak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and elegant

    This is no cheery Hobbit tale. The story of Hurin (and really of his son Turin) is dark and complex. It reads a lot like old Greek tragedy and mythology. As a background filler for Lord of the Rings, this book is superb. The only reason I think it avoids a 5 star rating is that like Greek tragedy, it can be unrelentingly grim and moody. One can feel tired after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Rings Fans Must Read

    Tolkien's writing is as hypnotic to me today as it was 30 years ago when I first read The Hobbit. Reading The Children of Hurin is bitter sweet because you come away wanting more yet you know it can never be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lord of the Rings meets history

    I took this book on a trip for 10 days. I really enjoyed it. It took the historical aspect of Middle Earth talking about what happened before The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. It was about teh ending of the first age of this world. If you enjoy Tolken and his style of writing you would love this book. I really enjoyed the story and it had wonderful illustartions in full color. It was beitfuly written and shown. The reason I gave it only four stars because at times it to drag and have little action. Over all I really think you would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    It was pretty good but you could tell it was all found in notes, but most of it was just added in.It was just miserable because pretty much everybody dies. Sure its ok to kill off a few guys but in this book it goes to far. And it was strange when he married his sister. But all in all, it was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Give us more!

    This new Tolkien release does not disappoint. While somewhat dry in style 'much like Tolkien's other works', those with vivid imaginations and a love for Middle-Earth should most assuredly read this. It's much bitterer than The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit, and it does lack our cute little friends with big feet, but the spirit of Tolkien still lives on through this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Dark and beautiful...

    I have to admit, I wish Tolkien had lived long enough to polish up this story that he spent so many years crafting. That said, The Children of Hurin is haunting and mesmerizing, despite its flaws. The style is classic Tolkien, and the narrative feels as though it has been passed down through countless generations. A true feat, and testimony to Christopher Tolkien's editing skill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3