Customer Reviews for

The Children of Hurin

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A superb final encore to Middle Earth and Tolkien

I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure i...
I will begin by saying this is far from a feel-good riece of literature as the heroes of this story undergo a number of grueling trials that result in unhappy endings, often brought upon them by their own flaws and errors in judgment. But it is still a grand adventure involving a great warrior fighting in a darkness wrought by Morgoth, an enemy to whom Sauron was only a lieutenant.

The writing is closer to The Silmarillion in style than The Lord of the Rings, but still bears Tolkien¿s unparalleled gift for description, dialogue, and philosophy. It is easily one of my favorite books but I would only recommend it to fans of Tolkien as it would be difficult, even impossible, for newcomers to Middle Earth to appreciate or understand.

posted by Garren on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The Mythical Adventure

The book The Children of Hurin is about a boy Turin, whose family is put under an evil curse. Turin grows up to become an adventurer. During his adventures he meets elves, dwarves, dragons, and other humans. To find out the rest of Turin¿s adventures you will have to re...
The book The Children of Hurin is about a boy Turin, whose family is put under an evil curse. Turin grows up to become an adventurer. During his adventures he meets elves, dwarves, dragons, and other humans. To find out the rest of Turin¿s adventures you will have to read the book. I will say this right off the bat, I didn¿t like the book at all. The book did not capture my attention at all. It was also very hard to follow because it kept switching characters and places in an instance. This book is about what happened before The Lord of the Rings series took place. This boo also reminds me off The Lord of the Rings movies. I would have to say that this book is for older readers about the age of sixteen just because of the fact that it is so hard to follow. Another author similar to J.R.R. Tolkein is R.A. Salvatore, the author of the Forgotten Realm series.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Want a free ipad

    Kiss your hand 3 times, post this on 3 different books,and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    I got a little skeptical when I saw this title. Another book by

    I got a little skeptical when I saw this title. Another book by Tolkien? I assumed it was another loose collection of tales. But I love Lord of The Rings so I decided to read it. I was blown away, instead of a loose collection of tales, this is a tightly-focused, haunting, tale. Tolkien really elevated his style for this novel. It is a moving tale, a tale that you wished turned out differently because you are so invested in the characters. It has a surprise/Shakespearean ending. I put this in my list of top five novels. In the short time I have owned I have reread at least twice. Buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    I own it

    I already own it on paperback but never read it yet, but now that I've read the reviews I am definitely gonna read it.

    R.I.P J. R. R. Tolkien
    May the gods of Olympus watch over him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Awsome

    Best book ever (besides Harry Potter) im addicted to this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Really good book, Didn't want to put it down. Somewhat short tho

    Really good book, Didn't want to put it down. Somewhat short though, that was the only problem i had. If you are new to JRR tolkien and want something like lord of the rings or hobbit, you wont find it in this book, more of a sorrowful tale with unhappy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Rodo

    *In a yoda voice* 1,000 balls i have kicked, hm?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Amazing

    Awsome book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    what is it about

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Tolkien fan

    It was an amazing book.tolkien was an amazing writer. Too bad middle earth died with him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great!

    Great read for LOTR fans. Also great read to understand some information in the new Hobbit movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Would I understand this?

    I have read the hobbit and loved it! I read the Fellowship of the Ring and am half way through the Two Towers. Would this book give any spoilers to the rest of the LOTR series? Would I be able to understand this? For the rating I'm going to give 4 stars because I love the hobbit and LOTR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    is it good?

    ??

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    To: should i get it?

    I recommend that you read this book. It may be confusing if you did not read the lord of the rings trilogy or the hobbit thougj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Should i get it?

    Well? Should i?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    BRHIE

    Go to the book of lost tales part two by j.r.rtolkien and we'll talk there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good, interesting stylistic writing approach

    Let me premise this review with the fact that i'm a huge nerd for all things LOTR. it's one of my favorite series and i've read it through three times.

    The Children of Hurin is not like LOTR at all. It's written with a distinctly "mythic" voice that makes it feel thousands of years old (which is when the story takes place in the history of Middle-Earth). While I found this really cool and it made me think even more of JRR Tolkien's range as a writer, it sometimes annoyed me. Description like, "this made him sad." or something similar just seemed lazy to me, if though it fit the voice of the novel perfectly.

    The story itself is actually really good. it's a tragedy of sorts and I liked that there was no "happy ending".

    Overall, only true die-hard LOTR fans will appreciate what tolkien did here i think...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    must-read for dedicated Tolkien fans

    This is a very grim and gruelling tragedy, fleshing out some of the oft-referenced legends from the ancient past of middle-earth. It has a more novelistic structure and flow than the Silmarillion and various errata, and is comperable to LOTR in terms of readability. However it is unique in Tolkien's work for its darkness and relentless fatalism. This book is definitely a downer. It is almost shockingly bleak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    im buying this for my older brother in paperback i hope he enjoys it

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11