Customer Reviews for

Children of Paranoia (Children of Paranoia Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW, Just WOW!

    All wars have rules!
    1. No killing innocent bystanders.
    2. No killing anyone under the age of eighteen.
    3. Have a child before you are eighteen, the child must be turned over to the other side.
    BREAK THE RULES YOU BECOME THE TARGET!


    Children are indoctrinated at the age of 16 and begin their war training. On their eighteenth birthday they become the hunters and the hunted in the war of "us" vs. "them".

    The war has gone on for generations, fought all over the world, with two distinct sides "good" and "evil". The terms vary based on which side you are on. Reasons for the war change depending on who you ask. Every killing is done in way to look random or like an accident right out in the field of innocents. Plus the "us" and the "them" are not even clearly identified by those fighting the war. There is one rule everyone knows, Paranoia will keep you alive.

    When I finished this book, I said "Wow" and then sat back to contemplate the story I had just read. The news is filled daily with crime, scandal, and war. Wars in Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya, gang wars, drug wars, political wars, but to think a war like the one described in this book never entered my mind. Many wars are entered into without exit strategies or based on unclear information but the fact that this war has divided two factions without even a clear inkling WHY? scares me more than any of the other wars.

    This book takes us with Joe on his journey in this war. It is definitely an intense suspense thriller that at times will have you on the edge of your seat, but it is so much more than that. Children of Paranoia is a book that will make you stop and think.


    What really knocked me for a loop is that this is Trevor Shane's first novel. He has created the character of Joe with so many layers, it is almost like peeling an onion and there is still more. He also surrounds Joe with other wonderful characters that the reader becomes invested in with a few short sentences. Joe's mother is just one of those characters, her actions were both shocking and understandable.


    This story is heart stopping one moment and tear jerking in another. Shane has created a masterpiece you will pick up and not put down until the final word and then you will say "Wow" and sit back contemplate this story and then want to tell your friends all about it. Just like I did!!



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Dutton, a division of The Penguin Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Good Read

    Great! Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!

    A must read - great story that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish - I'm waiting eagerly for the next of the trilogy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Wow! What a book that took me out of my comfort zone and I loved it!! A semi dystopian book with a love story twist, what more could a girl ask for? Written in the form of journal entries and a letter to a child, I connected with Joseph our main character from the beginning and was just waiting for him to find the love that would change his life.

    Before you get to the love story, you must read quite a bit of guts and gore. If you have a weak stomach for death, then this may not be the book for you. But if you can handle it, there is more to this story than a man who is killing people. The bigger story of trying to find where one fits into a bigger picture is something that everyone tackles at one point in their life. Was he on the side of good or evil? Did we find out or do I still wonder? This made the book deep and it made me fall in love with the story even more.

    Head to your closest store and grab this one. I noticed in Goodreads it said #1 - so is it the first in a series, I sure hope so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dystopian for Adults!

    I was very excited to read this book. You all know how much I love dystopian so I was very excited to find that Children of Paranoia is dystopian for adults. I really, really liked this book. It did take me a little while to get into it though. The beginning of the book is very violent. It's not violent without reason, which is why I was able to get into it. The main character, Joseph, is fighting a war so the violence is understandable. I would have had more of an issue if the violence seem gratuitous, which it doesn't.


    At its core, this is a story about protecting the things and people that you love, something most of us can understand. Once I got through the beginning, I really got sucked into the story of Joseph and Maria and how with their growing love, Joseph begins to realize that he's tired of fighting the war and he wants a different life for himself. This isn't a war or action story only; it's way more than that. It's a human story with social commentary.


    This is the beginning of a trilogy but the end of the book is neat and tidy but still made me want to read the next books. I NEED to find out what happened and I cannot wait for the other books to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Great book!

    I don't often read thrillers but I really enjoyed this one. Like most good books, it's difficult to put down once you start. Highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    A Powerful Story

    You read about death every day, see the reports on television. Some are called 'accidents.' The murders seem senseless and go unsolved. Did you know, however, there is a secret war going on all around you, every day? It is being waged by two sides intent on killing the other. "Children of Paranoia" introduces you to this war. It will show you some of the participants, but the reason behind the killings are, well, as one character says, "One side is good, one side is evil."
    Twenty-five year old Joe grew up with family deaths before learning about the war. When he turned eighteen, he became an assassin for his side. He followed the rules and made his kills. After nearly getting two of his friends and himself killed in New Jersey, his contact sends Joe to Montreal for a job. While tracking his quarry, Joe meets Maria and love blooms. Unfortunately, the job doesn't go well and an innocent is almost killed. After a period of recuperation followed by a few more assignments, Joe returns to Montreal to finish what he started and to see Maria. By this time, he's sick of the war and wants out. Maria reveals two devastating pieces of news: she's pregnant and she's only seventeen, which by the rules of the war means her baby gets handed over to the other side. Joe finishes his last job and he and Maria run, knowing they will be pursued by not only his side, but the enemy too.
    This story is an interesting but poignant metaphor for the senselessness of killing, be it by rival street gangs, feuding families, or entire countries.
    It's written in a clinical manner, portraying the war as always existing, and never ending, with nobody really understanding why certain people need to be killed. It shows that while the majority of mankind lives normal lives, certain individuals are recruited to kill or to orchestrate and assist the killers. This is a powerful story, one where you ask for an explanation, but after the last chapter, you wind up looking at certain aspects of life and wondering about the point of them.

    Reviewed by Stephen L. Brayton, author of "Beta" for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Exciting, heart-wrenching novel

    Joe is a soldier in an underground war, but he doesn't know over what the war is being fought. All he knows is that he's good and 'they' are evil. Joe meets a civilian woman and accidentally pulls her into the war with him. To escape a horrible end, they have to live on the run from everything and everybody they know.

    Though this is considered a Thriller, it's much more than that. There's commentary about the confused state of our world, and a story about a young family trying to make a life for themselves. Children of Paranoia is a page-turner that makes the reader think. Great first novel by Trevor Shane - looking forward to reading more by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy this exciting twisting thriller

    For seven years, twenty-five years old Joe has fought in the secret war. The adversaries conceal the combat from the public through supposed horrific accidents or inexplicable violent acts. Thus civilians remain ignorant. A dedicated assassin, Joe believes he fights on the righteous side of good though he does not understand the underlying cause of the war only the other side is evil. He adheres strictly to the rules of engagement that he is not to kill an innocent bystander as collateral damage is unacceptable and he is not to kill anyone under the age of eighteen as assassinating a child is unacceptable too. Joe knows if he breaks the commandments he becomes the enemy of his side.

    His last assignment went terribly wrong so his handler punishes Joe by tasking him to perform a dangerous kill in Montreal. However, Joe's frozen heart melts instantly when he meets Maria. He no longer can kill at random. To stay alive and keep his beloved safe, Joe flees as his former associates hunt him as he is now considered an evil traitor. In his attempt to escape Joe learns the third rule of engagement on his side of good is agents retire only in body bags.

    Although the premise seems over the top of the St. Joseph's Oratory; fans will enjoy this exciting twisting thriller while pondering who is good and evil in terms of alleged patriots and terrorists. The story line is fast-paced from the first kill to the final confrontation. Though a lack of how Joe became indoctrinated to believe his side is the good killers would have helped anchor reader support of him, Trevor Shane provides an engaging thought provoking tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1