Customer Reviews for

Children of the Mind (Ender Quintet #4)

Average Rating 4
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing?

I have to say that people are being a little hard on this book. I thought that it was great...not only did we grow to love Ender MORE, but we also got to learn more about the Hive Queen and the pequininos, which I was frankly happy about. I thought that the character ...
I have to say that people are being a little hard on this book. I thought that it was great...not only did we grow to love Ender MORE, but we also got to learn more about the Hive Queen and the pequininos, which I was frankly happy about. I thought that the character struggles and triumphs were so intense at times, that I felt moved. Jane, who I didn't care a lot for in previous books, became someone I actually cared about. Even Peter became likable. All in all, I say definitely read this book, maybe you will like it even better than Ender's Game.

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Card's best

I read this because it was part of the Ender Wiggin series, which turned into one of my favorite book series. It took me a while to get into it, It is not a bad read, if you can force yourself to read past the boring parts. Though definitely not the best in Enderverse, ...
I read this because it was part of the Ender Wiggin series, which turned into one of my favorite book series. It took me a while to get into it, It is not a bad read, if you can force yourself to read past the boring parts. Though definitely not the best in Enderverse, I would highly recommend reading this if you have read the previous novels to the series. The entire novel is NOT horrible, so do not be dissuaded by the negativity in this review.

posted by eisen_TDH_herz on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Half way through!!!

    I started reading a few days ago and can almost not put it down. its is a hard book to understand and comprehend but its not so bad...i read reviews and thought that it was going to be a hard book to read but if you've read the other three books you can definetly read this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    you people are mad to say this was a bad book

    I loved this book more than xenocide or even ender's game. C'mon this one is one of card's best. Dont believe most of the other reviews, this is a must read. If you want to skip a few books of card then skip the Bean saga but dont even consider skipping this book. The only reason that you should skip this book is if you hated the whole ender saga exept Ender's game.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong entry that readers will appreciate if they have read the previous novels

    Ender Wiggin continues to redeem his life following the genocide he once caused. Ender resides on the planet Lusitania, home to the indigenous Pequeninos, a human settlement, and the Hive Queen he saved. <P>Ender soon finds life is a circle as the weapon that he used thousands of years ago has come to destroy his adopted home. The Starways Congress has sent a fleet to destroy the planet out of fear of a virus traced back to Lusitania. They also want to kill Ender's friend, Jane the computer for they are afraid of her ability to control communications. Jane tries to save the sentient races of Lusitania before the Congress shuts down her intergalactic Net. Meanwhile Ender makes a last stand by creating replicas of his brother Peter and his sister Valentine. <P>The conclusion of the Ender¿s series is a strong entry that readers will appreciate if they have read the previous novels. The tale provides the Orson Scott Card¿s powerful philosophy of involvement inside a strong redemption story line. However, many threads tied up in this novel will mean nothing to new readers, as this book is not a stand-alone. Still CHILDREN OF THE MIND is a fine finale (with new dangling threads) to a wonderful series. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    It's a re-reader!!!

    Read the entire series years ago love it wanted to read it again. Loved it the second time as well. the characters come to life on the pages with great story line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    To all of you people

    To all you people who think its boring you just dont understand

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Children of the mind

    Good read held my interrest

    Only problem was it is OCR into e-book: words lumped together, miisspelled words

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Bios

    For all clans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Dig

    Big time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Pretty Good

    I think that this book was a good book. I didn't like the ending because it leaves you hanging. I would love to see what they did with the desclodores.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4