Customer Reviews for

Children of the Storm (Amelia Peabody Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    THE BEST OF THE SERIES!!

    I reread the entire series while eagerly awaiting 'Children of the Storm'. It was like visiting with dearly loved friends. 'Children' adds another generation to the wonderful Emerson-Peabody clan, and finally makes Sethos a real and important addition to the family. Ms. Peters' attention to historical detail is, as usual, magnificent. Her characters are wonderfully human, as well as being heroic, intelligent, eccentric... I can't recommend this series of books highly enough. When is the next one being published? Ms. Peters, your public (and of course, Amelia's) awaits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    The one you've been waiting for!

    At last! The next generation. As always a terrific mystery and hilarious happenings as can only occur to the Peabody - Emerson's!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    highly recommended! addictive! can't just read one!

    GOOD AS EXPECTED!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Excellent book

    The Amelia Peabody series is so entertaining I am able to re-read them, and enjoy doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Peabody Adventure!

    If your like me and love to read the Amelia Peabody Series you can't leave this one out. This suspenseful book will have you reading all hours of the day. Absolutely wonderful as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    a real archeological pot-boiler (yet again!)

    i am pleased as punch to relate that the latest installation in the amelia peabody series is a winner. In 'children of the Storm', the author manages to re-capture all of the enthusiasm for her subject she made a literary name for herself doing. the characters (family, friends, & villains) are exceptionally well drawn and the denouement is a truly pleasant surprise. Highly reccommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    absolutely enthralling, as usual

    Have read all her books.1 thru' fifteen..and have never been dissapointed. Ms. Peters cannot write other than wonderful books.This series has grown to now include Amelia's entire extended family. (well,perhaps?). the story is grasping..loving..exciting..hated for it to end...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    the immortal writer

    Elizabeth Peters can write no wrongs! Having stayed up till 3 in the morning to finish this book i must say that i still could not fall asleep. I lay awake and thought only of the next wonderful installment(and the headaches from David John!). Reading about the Emerson clan is like coming home to welcome arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Rock On Amelia!

    Peters has done it again delighting her legion of fans with another exciting Peabody adventure. All our favorite characters are reunited for a rousing good time filled with intrigue, surprises and nasty villians. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Another Great Amelia Peabody Mystery

    This was another wonderful book from the series and Ihave read them all. The twins are adorable but they will give the Emerson clan a handfull I cant wait to see what kind of trouble they will get into in the next book. It was nice to see the whole family together and Amelia being Amelia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    One of the best Peabody Mysteries ever!!!

    I've read every Amelia Peabody mystery (most a few times) and I have to say that this is most definatley one of the best ever! Being utterly in love with Sethos I loved that the was featured again, but the addition of Ramses and Neffret's children just made it all the more enjoyable. Who doesn't love those two, especially after the trouble they had getting together? A definate 'Must Read' and for any who haven't experienced Amelia and her adventures, you don't know what you're missing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    Order does not count!

    As yet I have not read this newest book even though I gave it 5 Stars; all her others are 5 Star therefore, I can not imagine this one falling short! I have several more to read before I am ready - but for those of you who have not read any of Elizabeth Peters books don't fret if you should read them out of context; which I did when first discovering her wonderful books! I find that the sheer joy of reading her books, regardless of the order, does not take away from ANY of the fabulous reading this author produces!!!! Like the movies, one must investigate on their own and ignor the critics....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    The best Amelia Peabody mystery yet

    A full cast of characters and an elaborate mystery make this one of the best Amelia Peabody mysteries to date. The whole Emerson family is in Luxor for this one, along with several of the characters who enlivened previous books in the series. As usual, the mystery is well-developed, and the book is suspenseful up to its gratifying ending. For those new to this series, I recommend reading some of the earlier books first just to add to the enjoyment of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    WARNING to FANS

    WARNING - do not read the review from 'HARSTAN' if you are not caught up with the series. The reviewer gives away plot twists that are not revealed until after 'Ape who Guards' - I just wandered by and read a character twist that really spoiled the next 4 books for me. The exclamation and curses scared the dogs and my husband - clear out of the house. Shame on her! please use a review format, not plot summary.! Plus the 'Critic' can't spell and the 'Yahoo' link (how I got here) can't even get the character's name right - amanda peters??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong historial amateur sleuth

    By December 1919, the Great War is finally over. Amelia Peabody and her husband, the famous archeologist Emerson, are in their Luxor, Egypt home along with their extended brood. This includes their son Ramses, his wife Nefret, and their two children, Emerson¿s brother Walter, his wife Evelyn, their daughter Lia and her husband David and their children as well as Emerson¿s illegitimate half brother Sethos and his illegit daughter Maryann. Emerson and Amelia¿s friend and colleague Cyrus Vandergelt has found a well preserved tomb in the Deir el Medina, the same place where Emerson is working on an archeologist site. Soon afterward, a trusted worker disappears with some of the treasure and his murdered body is found in the desert. A woman pretending to be the goddess Hathor kidnaps Ramses, but he escapes before he finds out what she wants. Maryann is attacked and someone sabotages the boat they are traveling on. None of the incidents form a pattern that makes any sense but Amelia knows someone is weaving a web around them and intends to trap them in it. It is fascinating to read about three generations of Emersons in the same book. CHILDREN OF THE STORM is the fifteenth mystery starring Amelia Peabody and it doesn¿t get any better than this. Elizabeth Peters brilliantly shifts from the first person to the third person so readers always know what is going on the minds of the characters. Old enemies reappear while the heroine of this amateur sleuth novel works overtime trying to figure out who is waging a vendetta against her and her family. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2