BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Children's Blizzard

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Touching stories included...

This book starts out and ends great. There are several chapters that explain weather patterns, 1888 weather knowledge, etc that I found somewhat dry. It was the stories that I found so intersting! I've always been intersted in historic events and stories of individual...
This book starts out and ends great. There are several chapters that explain weather patterns, 1888 weather knowledge, etc that I found somewhat dry. It was the stories that I found so intersting! I've always been intersted in historic events and stories of individuals. However, I did not like how the author added his own perception of what happened to some people (but he worded them as fact). He put too much of his own personal emotion into stories that were already great.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read - offensive summation

The author's extensive research permeates this book with intricate details on freezing bodies, politics of the Signal Corps, and first-hand accounts to make this an important read. Interesting, mo mention of the Native Americans during this tragedy. In his bio, the auth...
The author's extensive research permeates this book with intricate details on freezing bodies, politics of the Signal Corps, and first-hand accounts to make this an important read. Interesting, mo mention of the Native Americans during this tragedy. In his bio, the author reveals "I have never lived on the American Prairie"; made obvious by the ending comments. He says "Children were the unpaid workforce of the prairie, the hands that did the work no one else had time for or stomach for." He also quotes a NYT op-ed page which concludes that one of the greatest mistakes in American History was the "scheme" to settle the Great Plains. Mr. Laskin concurs that the blizzard of 1888 was an early sign of that mistake. Regardless of how these pioneers came here, be it false promises or lies of abundance, they came with a work ethic and strong belief to make a life out of nothing. If this author had been lucky enough to be a descendant of these pioneers, he would have heard wonderful stories of creative games, family, Church, and yes even hard work. A work ethic that continues today in the people of the Great Plains. If he had been blessed to be a part of this culture, I think he would have offered a different spin on the topic. Its unfortunate to summarize this amazing story of human perseverance as a mistake.

posted by NatNB on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Don't miss out on a great book!

    I could not stop reading this book until I finished it! Barely put it down to eat. So informative about the weather that cruel winter and not in the least boring. You will feel such sorrow for the children caught in this tragedy and their grieving families. Truly a story of the past not to be forgotten. Please read this book and be forever changed by understanding the hardships of the people living through this time in our history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Great Book

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. The author did an outstanding job of details and writing. Had he not written this book to give us historical information of the time, we would not have known these historical facts, job well done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Excellent Reading

    This book is not only intriging by introducing you to meterology, but is a part of our history that you will never forget. His writings transport you back in time. I could not put the book down. Excellent!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Little House on the Prairie meets the Best of the Weather Channel

    I loved the two-sided aspect of this book. This is the gripping tale of real American families facing an unreal situation on the prairies. The story is woven through the fascinating account of the development of weather technology and the American weather service. Laskin shows tender and thoughtful attention to both of his subjects and particular care to the places where they meet. This is not simply a book about weather - it's more of a portrait of how weather interacts with people and shapes their lives. A wonderful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Greatheart

    I find that offensive.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    An account of a blizzard that was a perfect storm...you won't put this book down until the storm is over!

    I was fascinated by this account of a devastating blizzard that swept over the plains. My ancestors were surely involved and I was glued to this book until the storm was over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Wonderful Book !!!!

    What a great book to read and I'm not one to read a lot !! It is very interesting and keeps you on your toes. If you have lived in the Midwest and have witnessed any of the blizzards that we have here, you can definitely relate to this book. I am over half way done and have only been reading it about 2 weeks. Awesome !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Walks the fine line

    I enjoy history but don't like when an author takes license with the facts. This book walks the fine line between objectivity and the author's emotional involvement with his subject, a difficult feat to accomplish. The supporting research has been done with great care. (Thank you, Mr. Laskin.) Where the author indulges in very limited speculation in dramatizing the events, it is both obvious (so the reader does not confuse it with the available facts) and informative, based on current scientific knowledge. By way of example, his descriptions of what a person endures physically and psychologically when enduring extreme cold is excellent. The reader emphathizes with the sufferings of people he has never met, and comes away with more appreciation of what it took to make the America we live in today. I highly recommend this book as a resource for all home-schooling parents. It would be a good unit study in several areas: U.S. history, science (hypothermia, weather, weather prediction), media (how newspapers stirred up public response), politics (how lives were thrown away because politicians wanted to build their power base).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Great Book... Interesting...

    Read about this book thru a book review in the paper, and found it at and Indi Seller. Growing up in the Midwest I was eager to read about this historical event... and was not disappointed. Highly recommend this book to historical buffs... it did not bog down and kept moving at a good pace. Kept your attention until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Highly recommended look at the precarious lives of the pioneers

    Highly recommended look at the precarious lives of the pioneers of the Great Plains states and their coexistence with the land and weather. You will never take for granted a weather storm warning, again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    History Channel meets the Discovery Channel in a book! A fasci

    History Channel meets the Discovery Channel in a book!


    A fascinating and compelling read. Personally I loved the meteorological detail that's the backstory to a human tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Blizzardclan Camp ~ Elder's Den

    ~ Snowstar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1