Customer Reviews for

The Children's Hospital

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    This was terrible

    This book seemed to be the musings of somebody that was stoned. I enjoy science fiction but this didn't seem to fit this category either. Didn't care about the characters, good thing, since they all die anyway. Extremely weird book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Zealous young write writes great short stories...but this isn't one of them

    An interesting take on Noahs Ark. Only problem is that at many times is seems to be quite overwritten (which is generally the case at McSweeney's because they have lacklucter editors but great book packaging designers)--a lot could have been cut out and made this an excellent and understandable book at all times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    The Children's Hospital

    "I don't know why it happened," Jemma said slowly.
    "Yes, you do." She peered closely at Jemma, and even in the dark room Jemma could see that her eyes had become almost all pupil. "You know the reason. Tell me the reason."
    "There was no reason."

    The world is under water. The trees, and the buildings, and the animals, and the people. All of it. Except one building- A children's hospital. And everyone in it.
    Through alternating points of view, we are led (presumably by the "recording angel") through the events prior to and during the second biblical flood. Jemma is the only one not devastated by this flood; all of her immediate family was lost long before the disaster. But the coming of the flood brings far more than that for Jemma. First, she finds herself pregnant. Then she discovers her supernatural healing powers.
    With these newfound abilities, our protagonist makes an obvious first move-
    Healing all the patients (thereby eliminating the original purpose of the floating hospital).
    The inhabitants of the hospital cope in the best way they can; they do what work they can, form the first government of the new world, and remodel the hospital with the help of an angelic guardian's special abilities. But above entertainment and occupation is Why. Why another flood? Why Jemma? Why a children's hospital?
    The story unfolds in slowly, in its own time, but the result is worth it. The Children's hospital is deep, and often emotionally heavy- but not above a number of lighthearted jokes and an overall sense of satire-

    "A real disease, Pickie," Jemma said. "Come on. Start over."
    "Every disease is equally real and unreal, now," he said. He filled his mouth with candy corn and would not talk anymore, But Ethel raised her hand and offered to speak on an illness she had been researching.
    "Atrocious Pancreas Oh!" she said.

    Chris Adrian finds a sort of equilibrium in these, making for an entertaining and enlightening (if a little unsettling) read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    All Kinds of Spectacular

    Juggling theology with mythology with contemporary literary writing, Chris Adrian manages to turn in one of the most moving, devestating, and beautiful books I've read in a long while. Sure, sometimes the characters can fall more into their overall roles than into the real people they can be and sometimes it seems a little silly, but the delivery and execution and just masterful ability Adrian possesses to write make this one spectacular read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    I loved this book

    What was compelling was the terrible conditions but the believable and very human responses that the characters had to their circumstances. Jemma as the reluctant saviour was poignant and funny. Also the idea that what is most flawed, most dispensible becomes the hope of mankind has a ring of truth. I had just read The Road so it was interesting to compare the two books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    A Major Disappointment

    I was really looking forward to this novel as I loved Gob's Grief. It was so creepy and imaginative and I hoped for more of that. To start with the plot is almost incomprehensibly silly. Maybe that could have been overcome with characters you could care about and a good plot. This novel has neither. The characters are one-dimensional and never came to life for me. I can't even describe the ridiculous plot. Chris Adrian is capable of much better, let's just hope this can be put down as an example of the sophmore jinx.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Disappointing

    Potential to be so much better. Long and confusing. Didn't finish.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Pure delight

    I read this advance copy in 4 sittings. It was a beautiful novel--scary, delightful, funny, odd--you name it. It's perfect. The best book of the fall!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1