BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Child's Journey Out of Autism: One Family's Story of Living in Hope and Finding a Cure

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    Such an inspirational/enlightening story...MUST READ for everyone!

    Although I have read many books about autism, this one is by far my favorite. There is no sugar-coating in this book; Leeann Whiffen does not fail to inform on what a difficult and strenuous journey it is getting your child back from the demons of autism, but she also describes just how worth it this journey really is. I am not even a mother to a child with autism, but I do work with kids on the spectrum, and I found this story sooo inspirational. It offers hope to all to never give up; each kid on the spectrum is different, and each kid will come around in there own time. Just believe in them...a miracle may happen, just like it did w/ Clay!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read "A Child's Journey Out of Autism" simply because it is the right thing to do, for all of us!

    Leeann Whiffen's "A Child's Journey Out Of Autism" is a shining example of one family's triumph over autism. It absolutely explodes with emotion and familiarity. Leeann's easy-to-read, true-life tale of her family's struggle, challenges and search for answers leaves the reader once again encouraged, motivated and inspired. It rekindles hope. I highly recommend this book for anyone touched by autism.

    As the parent of a child with the autism label, I evoke those not yet familiar with the world's now most prevalent, childhood debacle; to please take the time to read Ms. Wiffen's literary accomplishment. For those of us still encompassing this ill sought epic, that which we need most is encouragement, understanding and compassion. "A Child's Journey Out Of Autism" will undoubtedly, easily provide the reader with a fuller, better appreciation and empathy for families living the autism rife.

    Lin Wesssels
    Sam's mom
    Autism Action Network, District Leader
    Piecing It All Together, Treasurer
    Something For Sam, Autism Advocacy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Loved This Story

    This book has a lot of technicality to it, but the Leeann Whiffen does a good job of balancing the reality of dealing with Autism with the emotions of facing it. I loved her personal thoughts and how it impacted her family relationships, she expressed that beautifully. She also goes through the different treatments and the medical side to everything, including how much work it is to get her son and family through the education and therapies. A marvelous story for any mother, and I imagine if you have an autistic child it would bring a lot of comfort and perspective. It's like talking to a best friend, Leeann's voice is real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    A Gift from God!!

    This is the most amazing book for parents, teachers and those curious about autism. It is written from the heart with a wealth of facts and references. It should be required reading for college students in the educational field and all med students!! I cannot say enough about this book!! I thank the Author for sharing the life of her family with the world. I have become a better teacher because of this book and cannot thank her enough. It is my favorite book to share with people! I hope her family continues to be blessed. Most of all, I hope and pray she writes a follow up book on the progress of her son and the help she has given to other families coping with autism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Truly Motivating!

    This book is a must-read for anyone with a child in the autism spectrum. Every child in the spectrum is different but the emotions felt by the parents are the same. That is what Leann Whiffen captures so well in this book is the emotion and the struggle. It hits home in so many ways. My husband and I both read it and it filled us with a renewed hope and motivation to do whatever we can to help our child in his own "journey out of autism".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone should read this book!

    As the mother of three boys under 5, I can't remember the last time I read a book in less than a month. I read this one in three days. It is a wonderfull book full of hope and inspiration. If your child has autism you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    A book of HOPE for all new families with newly diagnosed children on the spectrum.

    First I would like to thank Leeann for sharing her story and giving mom's like me HOPE and strength to keep fighting. While on this journey we hit bumps in the road and spend many night crying and feeling alone in our battle but this book will help us mom's keep on fighting autism!
    Thanks Leeann! Your victory over autism with Clay will help many of us mothers pushing through it right now gain strength from your's.
    This book is a book of HOPE, love, and courage to face autism head on! We are mother warriors and autism is treatable!!!
    Let this book be the book of hope for us and hopefully more recovery stories to come!

    Traci Bauer-Vowell
    Jack's mommy
    Las Vegas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Inspiring and insightful!

    Leeann Whiffen writes a compelling and inspiring story about her family's desire to help their son, Clay, conquer autism. When Clay was diagnosed before the age of two, Whiffen refused to believe there wasn't something she could do. This story is a wonderful resource and is told in such a manner that balances clear medical explanations with a very personal story. As a mother, I admire Whiffen's strength and pledge to "never give up." I highly recommend this read to anyone interested in learning about autism and a variety of therapy treatments. You will finish the book with tears in your eyes and a hopeful heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An absolute MUST-READ!

    In an age where autism has become such a worldwide epidemic, Leeann Whiffen delivers a powerful, heartwarming story of one mother's refusal to give up on her son, and to defeat the monster known as Autism.
    Ms. Whiffen is able to put into words the story of thousands of mothers who go through the many stages of the autism diagnosis: denial, sadness and finally an anger and a determination to bring about change, resulting in the battle for "Clay's Law."
    Ms. Whiffen is a prime example of a "Mother Warrior," and her son Clay is living proof that a child CAN recover from Autism. This book offers hope, and is a definite must-have for ANY parent who has a child on the autism spectrum.

    K Dunham
    Mother Warrior to Seth
    Volunteer/Autism Puzzle Piece Campaign
    Illinois Chapter President, Train4Autism

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    An emotional chronicle of what it takes to recover a child from autism

    This book is the emotional telling of a story I have heard many times and never get tired of reading in print as a testimony to parental fortitude. Recovery is possible, but it takes parents who are willing to never give up, no matter the financial cost, and supporting cast of friends and providers. This book details the steps the Whiffen family, and many others like them, took to bring their child back despite all obstacles the system put in their way. I would recommend it to all parents of newly diagnosed ASD kids, and those without a diagnosis yet, to use as a blueprint to recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    A book of hope and direction.......

    A Child's Journey Out of Autism is a bright light in what, for many parents, is a very dark place. Thanks to all the parents who have gone before her with diligent work and all the researchers who refuse to give up, Leeann's unrelenting determination and hard work paid off, not only for Clay, but for those children not yet diagnosed. Parents new to the "world of autism" can open this book for strength and courage as they maneuver the road to recovery.

    I am thrilled that this book is there for the hundreds of parents I talk with every month who are struggling to help their own children with autism. The road ahead looks brighter and easier to navigate having A Child's Journey Out of Autism as a guide.

    May the research continue and may we be better equipped to recover our little one as well as those who have been living with autism many years.

    Thanks Leeann!


    Nancy H Cale
    Vice President, Unlocking Autism
    www.unlockingautism.org
    Manager, ARI Call Center
    www.autism.com
    Defeat Autism Now! Outreach Coordinator
    www.defeatautismnow.com/
    Director of Counseling, Nat'l Vaccine Information Center
    www.NVIC.org

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1