BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chill of Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and Surpises

    A John Lutz book that will not disappoint. Strong characters, good story and as always, a great ending. John Lutz does not get the credit that he deserves. I know that when I begin reading his stories, it will be hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Chilling Indeed!

    I just caught up with this one and it is great. I am a John Lutz fan and he doesn't disappoint. The plot is good and the characterization terrific. This one will keep you up all night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Chill of Night is a Spellbinder

    Another gripping mystery from award winning writer John Lutz, Chill of Night is his best yet. I have read all of the thrillers in this New York City based series and Chilll of Night is a spellbinder. Like the others in the series, the reader never has an inkling as to the indentity of the perpetrator. From the surprise opening chapter to the end, which I never saw coming, the middle chapters make you wonder...is the perpetrator an avenging angel? The characters are richly drawn, and two female detectives in particular reflect the vicissitudes of life that young, attractive, successful career woman must cope with. The writing is especially detailed so the reader sees every scene, feels every nuance. Chill of Night would make a great movie. Susan Nelle Sarasota, FL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    He retired from NYPD after taking a bullet while chasing down a serial killer, but former homicide detective Artemis Beam knows he really left because he no longer had the patience to deal with unctuous superiors who interfered, not helped, on investigations. However, retirement is tedious and with the recent suicide of his wife ennui has set in on top of the despondency and survivor He, in a dark mood, negatively muses on what he could have done different. --- Because of his well earned reputation for catching serial killers, Deputy Chief Andy da Vinci asks Beam to help the department capture the ¿Justice Killer¿ this serial killer murders people who served as foremen on juries that freed the ¿guilty¿ the culprit leaves behind a trademark red J drawn on the victim¿s body. Beam agrees to investigate, but quickly realizes the Justice Killer seems one step ahead of the police making him wonder if an insider is the murderer. The former cop concludes that the Justice killer has plans to leave a J on the task force hunting him or perhaps even her. --- CHILL OF NIGHT is a typical serial killer cat and mouse thriller except that talented John Lutz refreshes the sub-genre with a sense of the terror gripping the city and how much the J-killer debilitates the justice system. The suspense remains in the stratosphere from the moment da Vinci brings out of retirement Beam and never slows down until the final confrontation between the killer and the retired cop ends with a masterful twist that readers will realize afterward was in our face, but brilliantly disguised. Mr. Lutz¿s fans or anyone who appreciate a tense police procedural will appreciate this high octane thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    an engaging mystery, typical of John Lutz

    A very good read. My only criticism is that the premiss of Mr. Lutz's books are all very similar. I have read three and found all to be good, however, they were just alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Undecided

    I can't quite put my finger on it but the story line seems to be missing some links. Not bad for a free Friday offering. I'd give Mr. Lutz another shot; perhaps it was simply a fluke that the pace seemed slow to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Good job Birdy

    Really good! Keep it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    1: The Old House

    I walked down macomb road, hands in my pockets. I was a teen then, about fourty feet tall, pink and black straight hair that went past my thighs, i had the word; Punque(punk) spray painted on my collar support structure(collar bone)in blood red. I had no sense of humor, and a lack of, er, what do call it?...oh! Yes, i remember now, it's called happiness. I never quite understood the point and meaning of it. Well, anyway, that doesnt matter right now...i was suppossed to be home with my two bros and sis, about, 1,6902 nanobreems ago. So i hastled my pace slightly. Macomb street was always an odd street to be on. The elder (ro)'bots always starred at you if they were around, but the were usually in their outrageously enormous(and wacky), houses. This is the kinda neighborhood my sis, Nightbird, would feel at home with. And there were no animals anear, ever. Except a hand full of black robo cats 'n' such. I kicked a metal rock as i walked, when somthing caught my eye. A house. An old, old, ever quite so old, house. Only, it wa different. Unlike the others. It wasn't normal, nor wacky and bizzarre. Just. Paranormal, i guess. I tried to pass it, but it seemed to pull me towards it. "Thats it," i thought. "I gotta check the place out." I said in my mind. I ventured up the stone steps, though, you'd expect my metal feet would make a loud noise, as i thundered up the steps. Nope. Not even a clack. I knocked on the doors, and, they fell off. My expression was(aaaand always is);-_-. I peered inside. All i saw, was darkness. I stepped in. ~until the next chapter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    typical typical

    Very slow in the beginning and towards the middle. Only picked up in the last quarter of the book. Everything was pretty predicatable in the beginning, but some unexpected things did occur, which lifted the book, from dismal to o.k.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2