Customer Reviews for

The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-Term Health

Average Rating 4
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Life Changing

This one-step-at-a-time, well-documented book changed the way I enjoy food.

From scientific research explained in comprehendable terms to anecdotal, yet convincing, information to exposure of food-politics and the linked economic greed in the United States, the aut...
This one-step-at-a-time, well-documented book changed the way I enjoy food.

From scientific research explained in comprehendable terms to anecdotal, yet convincing, information to exposure of food-politics and the linked economic greed in the United States, the author made an undeniable case as to why I should change my eating habits.

I have always been among healthy Americans by politically correct standards. I'm an outdoorsman, I work out, I weighed 185 with a 6' frame, I take the smallest dose offered of Lipitor, get a physical every year, had a "see ya in ten years" exit interview after my colonoscopy, etc, etc. etc. Why worry? Because life could be much, much better. Our our culture has allowed, and sometimes even advocated, a host of unhealthy habits in our diets. We need to get away from it.

Have I become a veggie freak? Absolutely not. But I've reinvented my approach to meals as a result of this book. From some sort of meat, fish, or processed pasta at least twice daily, I've now transformed to attempting to eat only what I catch or shoot. Even at that I limit my animal based food intake to three or four servings weekly at most--primarily because restaurants simply don't offer meals that don't include either pieces of farm raised animals or processed pasta as the main course. In place, I've learned to eat all sorts of plants and am having a blast at mealtime.

Results? I dropped about 10# of "baby fat" off the frame in about ten weeks. I sleep better. My doctor just allowed me to move off Lipitor (after six months of change) in that my "bad cholestorol" numbers are down by 60 (yes, sixty) points to 124 and my good cholesterol is up 8. This saves me about $600 a year.... Last, I feel good about it.

National healthcare crisis? We need to stop letting the insurers, the medical procedure performers, the hospitals and big pharma dodge the real issue. Reality is that the dairy, beef, sugar and prepared food industries are poisoning us in order to make a buck. Then, when they've given us diabetes, heart disease, and a higher incidence of Alzheimers, the "healthcare industry" takes over and bleeds us of our dollars treating symptoms -- not the real problem.

Read this book. Live longer for less money. Be active. Enjoy.

posted by not-a-health-nut on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

If you read ONE review...

Before I say one word about the book, I must say professionally, I am in the health and wellness field, so the subject matter of this book are my bread and butter. I say this only so you know this is not new territory for me. Also, I am not a vegan, but my wife is. As a...
Before I say one word about the book, I must say professionally, I am in the health and wellness field, so the subject matter of this book are my bread and butter. I say this only so you know this is not new territory for me. Also, I am not a vegan, but my wife is. As a result, I eat a mostly vegan diet, and I am very supportive of her in that choice. I am not hostile towards vegans in any way. In fact, my favorite restaurants near my home are all vegan.

Having said all that, I must add I am VERY hostile towards bad science and/or liars. I don't know which one Campbell is, but either way, I am sick of hearing about this book. If you perform a simple google search, you can find that he published his FULL findings, and you can read them in their entirety. But they're not in this volume. That's right, for some reason, he did not mention all the research in the book that is supposed to be a summation of the research. I won't bother going point by point, but I can tell you he left out an entire village that contradicted his points all across the board. That's one glaring omission. And there are many more where that came from. Beyond leaving things out, he misinterprets and makes broad leaps of logic that are not connected to the data he DOES use.

I won't lie myself and tell you that everything he says is nonsense, because he does make the occasional good point here and there, BUT when a "scientist" has to use smoke and mirrors, lie, and leave out large swaths of information that don't support his claims, he loses ALL credibility in my eyes. You can find other books that make the same good points but don't resort to manipulation to do it. I suggest reading those.

posted by JayEmEm on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Life Changing

    This one-step-at-a-time, well-documented book changed the way I enjoy food.

    From scientific research explained in comprehendable terms to anecdotal, yet convincing, information to exposure of food-politics and the linked economic greed in the United States, the author made an undeniable case as to why I should change my eating habits.

    I have always been among healthy Americans by politically correct standards. I'm an outdoorsman, I work out, I weighed 185 with a 6' frame, I take the smallest dose offered of Lipitor, get a physical every year, had a "see ya in ten years" exit interview after my colonoscopy, etc, etc. etc. Why worry? Because life could be much, much better. Our our culture has allowed, and sometimes even advocated, a host of unhealthy habits in our diets. We need to get away from it.

    Have I become a veggie freak? Absolutely not. But I've reinvented my approach to meals as a result of this book. From some sort of meat, fish, or processed pasta at least twice daily, I've now transformed to attempting to eat only what I catch or shoot. Even at that I limit my animal based food intake to three or four servings weekly at most--primarily because restaurants simply don't offer meals that don't include either pieces of farm raised animals or processed pasta as the main course. In place, I've learned to eat all sorts of plants and am having a blast at mealtime.

    Results? I dropped about 10# of "baby fat" off the frame in about ten weeks. I sleep better. My doctor just allowed me to move off Lipitor (after six months of change) in that my "bad cholestorol" numbers are down by 60 (yes, sixty) points to 124 and my good cholesterol is up 8. This saves me about $600 a year.... Last, I feel good about it.

    National healthcare crisis? We need to stop letting the insurers, the medical procedure performers, the hospitals and big pharma dodge the real issue. Reality is that the dairy, beef, sugar and prepared food industries are poisoning us in order to make a buck. Then, when they've given us diabetes, heart disease, and a higher incidence of Alzheimers, the "healthcare industry" takes over and bleeds us of our dollars treating symptoms -- not the real problem.

    Read this book. Live longer for less money. Be active. Enjoy.

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "The China Study" really can save or change your life!

    This book should be required reading!! Dr. Campbell has done the whole world a favor in writing this amazing book. By page 120 my chin had fallen to the floor and I think it is still there! You CAN prevent and cure cancer, you CAN prevent and cure heart disease, diabetes, and so many horrible diseases! Do you know the most toxic food you can put in the human body? Answer: Cow's Milk. It can cause all of the above diseases plus is responsible for 70 to 80 percent of all hip fractures and 88% of all macular degeneration - where you can go blind!!! And that is just one of the foods discussed in this book! In their tests with rats, they got to the point where they could turn the growth of cancer on or off just by the amount of animal protein they fed the rats!! I am so angry at the Pharmaceuticals, the Lobbyists, the Dairy Association (who have known for 80 YEARS that our bodies cannot assimilate bovine calcium) and the Beef Association that I am going to spend the rest of my life pleading with people to read this book. They will never find a cure for cancer, heart disease (or any disease) as long as the reseach facilities are full of scientists paid for by lobbyists. If someone reads the book and does not want to follow it, at least they have had the "choice." I am even holding an "Alternative Medicine Health Seminar," which, will, of course, include this book. Do yourself and your loved ones a BIG favor and at least read the book. The rest, as they say, is up to you. THANK YOU DR. CAMPBELL!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The China Study

    I was diagnosed with a rare genetic cancer and my oncologist suggested that I get this book and read it. I did and could not put it done. I learned so much about diet and cancer. I am constantly picking up the book and reading certain parts of it as a reminder of what I need to continue to do to stay healthy.
    I gradually started changing my diet and daily habits and I can honestly say that I feel so much better. My hsband even got a few shocks himself and has also changed diet and daily habits with me.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone that is interested in changing thier diet and health hbits. It is so important for thier whole family.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Compelling

    Whole plant foods are good. Animal products (including dairy and eggs)are bad. We don't need as much protein in our diets as we have historically believed.

    That is Campbell's thesis in a nutshell.

    I had already greatly reduced my meat consumption prior to reading The China Study, but I still love cheese and eggs. My morning breakfast has consisted of cereal and milk since the dawn of time. So it was very upsetting that he/they put the fix on some of my favorite foods. It is not a case of being swayed by someone with credentials telling me that milk is bad. The fact is the authors make an unusually compelling argument. As nice as it would be to shake this book off and go back to old habits, The China Study has changed my life.

    I am not a scientist, merely a reasonably intelligent and sensibly sceptical layperson. So I know there are deep and winding discussions to be had about the validity and interpretation of his data. And presumably the addage about moderation in all things still holds.

    That said, this is an important book to read and consider in your search to understand what is "good nutrition."

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Required reading for any medical professional, & anyone on prescriptions

    At the tender age of 67, this book was handed to me to read, and turned my 67 year old dietary habits totally around. When I went vegan 6 mos ago, I was pre-diabetic, with a fasting glucose of 109 moderated by 1000 mg of Metformin, with cholesterol of 224 moderated by Simvastaatin. Six months later, I've lost 15#, dropped the Metformin & Simvastatin protocol, with fasting glucose readings in the high 70's, and cholesterol at 114 (HDL=56, LDL=35). Having been educated as an engineer, Campbell's statistics are overwhelmingly are accurately documented, and I'm a one man case study of his the results of his recommendations. Now, for the hypertensive meds...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Cancer and Heart Disease are voluntary

    If you want to really take charge of your own destiny with regards to your health, Dr. Campbell's book is a MUST READ. I have been a vegeterian for about 10 years before reading this book and didn't feel I could learn a lot of new things in this regard, but I was wrong. Campbell describes the three stages of cancer: Initiation, promotion and progression. He clearly shows how ANIMAL PROTEIN is responsible for all three stages. One of the Key Findings in his 35 years of research is the fact that CANCER GROWTH CAN BE TURNED ON OR OFF, simply through the ingestion or non-ingestion of animal protein. Dr. Campbell, his research and his book deserve a lot more attention and public recognition than is presently the case. People should take heed of the vital message conveyed to us by this ground breaking book. Society and humanity at large owe a great debt to the work of this man. Stop being a victim of disease and misery, reclaim your God-given right to health and happiness. Take the first step and read this book! Unlike other authors who have a product to push, Dr. Campbell is a scientist in the truest sense of the word. What I like best is that the information in this book originates from research of the highest quality, meeting the most rigorous scientific standards. I also like the fact that he is not an M.D., who btw are not scientists at all, but has a doctorate in Biochemical Nutrition. Society looks to medical doctors for advice on health. What could be more absurd than that?! M.D.'s spend all their time studying and exploring disease. How is it possible to know about health through the study of disease? Modern medical science is a farce and is preoccupied in treating disease, all the while completely ignoring the cause of disease. And the cause of 95% of all disease is lifestyle with nutrition dominating the top of the list. Thank you Dr. Campbell!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Great Teacher, Great Lessons, Great Book!

    I bought this book because of the excellent reviews it kept getting and because of how much I enjoyed hearing Dr. Campbell speak about the China Study (the actual study, not the book) in Sept 2001. I was comfortably certain that I would enjoy the book, but what I didn't realize was how much I would learn from it. After listening to several lectures, asking numerous questions, and reading many books and articles by a variety of highly credible authors about the benefits of a plant-based diet and the harmful consequences (to humans, animals and planet) of an animal-based one, as well as experiencing first-hand what a positive difference switching to a vegan diet makes, I didn't think there could be much left on this topic to learn. But I gleaned new, interesting and important information from every chapter in this book, whether it was about nutrition, the mechanics of disease, or the disturbing details about what goes on behind the scenes as industry, medicine, science, government and business collude to spew out self-serving, deceptive and destructive 'nutrition guidelines' for us hoi polloi. 'The China Study' has inspired us to fine-tune our diet (already plant-based for 5 years) by switching to mostly whole (minimally or unprocessed) foods, and has me looking at things like pharmaceutical ads and medical study headlines (such as 'Diabetics At Higher Liver Cancer Risk') with better informed, wider open eyes. While I already knew *that* a plant-based diet is far healthier, this book explains in superb detail why and how that is the case... and despite the frequent complexity of the science, his explanations are clear and understandable - thanks in part to his excellent use of analogies. Condensed and designed to make a large volume of scientific study results accessible to and understandable by the lay public, 'The China Study' is well written, interesting and informative, engaging, sincere and forthright, and peppered throughout with a wonderful wry and self-effacing humor. I applaud Dr. Campbell's courage in speaking out against the status quo because he cares about the well-being of people and the planet, and am grateful to him (and his son) for sharing his hard-earned knowledge, behind-the scenes experience, and impressive expertise through this important book. Sometimes, when I read books like this one that credibly and responsibly confront what we've been taught and think we know, challenging us to open our minds, think anew and experience a paradigm shift, I am reminded of my high school history teacher's pet saying. When my class would do poorly on a pop quiz, he'd shake his head and mutter, 'Buy 'em books and buy 'em books, and all they do is eat the covers.' I hope The China Study is widely read and influential, and that all anyone eats after being handed this book...is plants! :-)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Medical oncologist review of The China Study

    As an oncologist, it is heartbreaking to see so many cancer patients with cancer that could be prevented if people took advantage of the scientific research presented in this book. The book is scientifically sound and very readable. If someone is serious about their health or the health of their family, this is a must read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Finally, the truth!

    If what the China Study claims to be true is accurate, this book will be the most important work on health ever written. Animal protein is singled out as the primary cause of most western disease. The study makes sense. Big business in America does not want us to know the truth. Billions of dollars are behind the meat, poultry and dairy industries. The author says that removing animal protein and eating a whole grain, plant based diet, will stop cancer and swing the pendulum in the other direction. He sold me.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Simply Awesome!

    The information in this book is so clear and concise and it makes absolute sense! Western diseases are related to diet; Dr. Colin Campbell has proven it. If Westerners continue to eat animal flesh, dairy and refined sugar, they are simply going to continue suffering from a slew of illnesses and diseases. When a person eats a diet consisting of whole grains and plants, the body flourishes and thrives. Quit saying "but it tastes so good" and read this book! Once you make the switch to a diet of whole grains and fresh fruits and veggies, your taste buds will change for good! I only wish that the experiments carried out on innocent rats and mice had been avoided; Americans shouldn't need to torture animals in order to realize that eating right is good for us and eating bad will kill us.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    This book demands attention

    <p>The China Study is a courageous survey of the best science has to offer about your health and what you eat. In addition, the China Study reveals a system of nutrition misinformation that has created public confusion equal to that which surrounded the health implications of smoking. Remember the days when ¿no one knew¿ that smoking was bad for you? That all ended when a few morally courageous individuals spoke out and demanded examination of the topic. We now know that the tobacco industry not only knew the health risks, they added ingredients to make their products more addictive. The current state of nutrition information is just as convoluted ¿ and the food industry is just as interested in keeping you confused and addicted to its products. Dr. Campbell (writing with his son, Thomas) is the morally courageous voice in this field and he speaks the truth about what he has found, above the clamor of the objecting voices in ¿the establishment¿.</p> <p>The book is organized into four parts. The first part follows the compelling life story / research career of Dr. Campbell. Campbell grew up on a dairy farm in Virginia and began his professional life trying to discover more efficient ways of raising cattle to deliver protein to our diets. Through an accidental series of discoveries, he became interested in the relationship between high levels of protein consumption and cancer development. He ended up with astonishing research that showed high levels of protein consumption to be a more potent promoter of cancer than high level exposures to Aflotoxin. This startling evidence led him to organize ¿The China Study¿ (namesake for the book) ¿ a uniquely comprehensive study of the relationship between diet and disease in 65 counties of rural China. The study examined approximately 6,500 adults and looked at blood samples, urine samples, and food intake records (researchers went into homes to observe and collect this data), to document over 367 variables related to health status and diet. This data was systematically compared with disease rates for 48 different diseases.</p> <p>The second part of the book is a survey of professional scientific research from around the world, regarding the relationship between diet and a whole host of diseases. Campbell focuses on a class of diseases ¿ referred to as ¿diseases of affluence¿ ¿ that are experienced at higher rates in developed countries than in developing countries. This part of the book meticulously documents the relationship between various diets and the following diseases: heart disease, obesity, diabetes, common cancers (breast, prostate, large bowel), auto-immune diseases (including type I diabetes, MS), osteoporosis, kidney stones, macular degeneration, dementia and Alzheimer¿s. This survey reveals that across this broad range of diseases, there is one diet that consistently prevents these diseases, and one diet that consistently promotes these diseases. </p> <p>The third part of the book is a brief nutritional guide. It discusses eight principles of food and health, and gives advice on how to eat. In essence, these eight principles present Campbell¿s theory of nutrition ¿ what is important to health and what is not. Principle six, for example, says ¿the same nutrition that prevents disease in its early stages (before diagnosis) can also halt or reverse disease in its later stages (after diagnosis).¿ The principles create a well-founded summary derived from the evidence presented earlier in the book.</p> <p>The fourth and final part of the book answers the question ¿so why haven¿t I heard all this before?¿ Campbell sits in a unique position to answer this question. He has been involved in the relationship between nutritional scientific research and public health information at all levels. As a university

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    A must read for every health minded person

    After starting this book I could not put it down. If this book does not make a major change in the standard American diet, then we, the people, are hopeless. If it does not make an impact on the way medicine is practiced (my doctor was not even aware of this book) then something is definitely wrong and we will go on paying for drups and therapies, even surgeries, that may not be necessary if the reccomendations in this book are followed. I had already recently become a vegan when I came across this book. It has totally rein- forced my decision.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Read this book and it will change your life. My only complaint - after a while, I wanted to yell "I GET IT" and skip a few pages. My family and I are now trying to eat a whole foods plant-based diet. We feel great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    China Study is Must Read!

    Amazing book---will open your eyes and make you think about the way we eat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    READ AT YOUR OWN RISK

    I tell friends and acquaintances about 'The China Study' frequently however I give them a friendly warning. Please read this book but only if you are willing to change your diet. I also tell them the one liner a teacher of mine gave me years ago. ' Ignorance rapidly progresses to stupidity once knowledge is acquired' When we read this book we just quit eating animal & dairy products and so will unless you a willing to admit that you are just plain suicidal. BEST VEGAN PROMOTION EVER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    If you want both inspiration and the cold hard facts, and a lot

    If you want both inspiration and the cold hard facts, and a lot of them, you have to read this. Stay in the dark no longer. Take your life (and health) into your own hands by beginning your research and your journey with this incredible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    This book will change your life.

    While nothing is a silver bullet for obesity and chronic illness, this book is as close as you're going to get. If you struggle with your weight or just accept cancer or heart disease as inevitable, you need to read this book and recommend it to everyone you know. Campbell cuts through all the crap about fad diets and gets to the point of what's really wrong with the way we eat in his comprehensive study a people who don't deal with the same problems as the west. Imagine a world where cancer, obesity, etc are gone. That's not some sci-fi future society, it's real and in the present, and it's in the East.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    TAP HERE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    New chat room type in Taylor Swift and click on 3rd book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great book

    This book was recommended by the oncologist. It has been helpful in understanding what can cause different kinds of cancers and what we should eat and not eat in a daily diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Eye opening

    Definitely changed my views on food, diet and nutrition

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7