Customer Reviews for

Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Hero's come in all ages

    The main story of the novel in the Secret Dragon Society is about a girl who lived in fear and was abused by her evil stepmother, but finally found the courage she needed in the Secret Dragon Society. The Secret Dragon Society was a Kung Fu school that secretly helped US soldiers escape from the Japanese. The book was enjoyable, but confusing at times. I found the book confusing because they moved from scene to scene so quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Chinese Cinderella is a Great Historical Fiction!

    This book is an interesting read about a girl in China who has been thrown out of her home by her cruel stepmother and goes to live with some acrobats she saw in the park. Eventually the acrobats take her in. It turns out that they are not just acrobats but members of the Secret Dragon Society, who are Chinese people who have devoted their lives to kung fu. These secret warriors are part of the resistance against the Japanese who are occupying China. The girl, who calls herself Chinese Cinderella, must prove herself worthy of being a member of the Secret Dragon Society. If she can do this, she will have to join her warrior friends to rescue American bombers. All the while, her stepmother is looking for Chinese Cinderella and who knows what she will do if she finds her... This book is set in China during World War Two, and the author does a good job of portraying the setting. The book even gives a map at the beginning and describes different areas of the city such as the market where Chinese Cinderella first met the Secret Dragon Society. The characters are very real-seeming and you can really relate to them as you follow them on their adventures. Overall, I liked this book but it isn't the best I've ever read because the beginning isn't very exciting and the theme is fairly unclear. But I would reccomend it to anyone who likes historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    A Chinese insparation!

    Chinese Cinderella and The Secret Dragon Society was a sad but terribly compelling book. The main characters name was Ye Xian, the chinese equivelent of Cinderella, But this book is no Cinderella story.It is the historicl fiction account of Adeline Yen Mah's childhood growing up in the midst of World War Two. The Characters and plot were so believeable that I felt like I was watching everything happen in the story as I read it. I was amazed. CC, (Chinese Cinderella) was an English nickname given to Ye Xian at the beggining of the book, when she learns that her aunt is going away. When her stepmom kicks her out of her dads house, she finds she has no where to go but The Secret Drogon Society. There she is welcomed as a member to learn to cook, learn Kung Fu, but also to embark on a dangerous journey to help ingured American allies. The only problem is that helping Americans is againt the Japanesse rulers law. CC is risking her life for the American people. Every part and aspect of this book is clear, well written, and interesting. There are simple themes woven into this story but also more complicated and deeper meanings as well. I would reccomend this book to anyone, no matter there taste. No matter where you come from or what you like, this book truly is a Chinese insparation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Excellent Story, But the writing could have been better

    The storyline is great, one of the best I've seen. It's about a girl who is neglected by her father, and eventually gets turned out onto the streets. She then joins a club called the 'Secret Dragon Society'. The writing could have been better, though. Some parts of the story, especially the middle and end of the book were hard to understand. I would not recommend this to anyone under 10 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Love this book!

    it was exciting, but at the same time it was sad. I couldn't put the book down. I didn't give it 5 stars because when I got to the end of the book, I thought it wasn't finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Chinese Cinderella was a great story!

    Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society by Adeline Yen Mah was a fun and interesting book to read. The story took place in China in the 40's and during the Japanese invasion. It was about a girl named CC who got kicked out of the house because of a fight with her stepmother. She met a woman named Grandma Wu and joined a kung fu class. She met three older boys named Sam, Marat, and David. Together, they trained until they were experienced fighters to rescue American airmen from Nan Tian island, which was surrounded by Japanese gunboats. They managed to find them, but later on, when a visitor from home asks for CC's return, she does not know where to stay. The Dragon Society, or home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    A pretty good story but the writing could have been clearer

    This was a book which you can't put down. It is a tragic story of a little girl named CC. When her evil stepmother threw CC out of the house that's when the secret dragon society comes in. Will CC be able to learn how to be a good martial artist and in time? Or will all that training hav e gone to waste? Read it to find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    A facsinating Chinese story

    The book Cinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society is about a brave Chinese girl who sacrifices alot for her country. In the year of 1942 Japan and Germany started a hostile takeover against China. Ye Xian and her family and friends lived in China at the time.They embarked on a dangerous journey to Nan Tian island to rescuse American pilots. I think this was a touching and meaningfull story, that was well written and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    A pretty good story, but the writing could have been better

    This was about a girl who lived in fear and suffered frome abuse from her evil stepmother, but she was able to find courage in herself at the secret dragon society. The sectet dragon society was a place to learn kung fu that helped u.s. soldiers very secretly escape from the japanese. I thought this was a good but bad book, it was kind of confusing at some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    A very exciting story.

    This book is about a chinese girl named Ye Xian, or CC, who lived with her mean stepmother and loving father. When her father threw her out of the house for being rude to him and her stepmother, CC joined the Secret Dragon Society where she learned kung fu and tried to help China gain independence from Japan. This book was very enjoyable, and good for people age 10 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Adeline Yen Mah definately captures the way it was in China in the early 1940's.

    Adeline Yen Mah's historical fiction book, A Chineese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society tells a capturing tale about one litte girl who is unwanted by her family who joins a secret society to help in world war 2. The book is excellent, but takes some concentration reading because there are many of facts that you need to concerntrate on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    A Great Historical Fiction Book!

    Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society is a great book if you want to learn about chinese history. This book is about a girl who gets kicked out of her home by her father and her stepmother. She finds a secret club and learns many things with her friends in the secret dragon society. She doesn't think she will need to use what she learns in the society, but in the end, she doen't realize she will have to use one of her new skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    A great story with powerful meaning!

    The Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society is a great book for people who enjoy learning about history! It starts off with a girl who gets kicked out of her house by her loving father and not so loving stepmother. She remembers the card she was given by a member of the Secret Dragon Society! She goes to live with the Secret Dragon Society and ends up becoming a member! While living there she learns many important skills that she uses to help defeat the enemy! Along the way she discovers many friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Sad, but keeps yor eyes glued

    A fascinating plot forms around Chinese Cinderella as she is abandoned by her parents as she finds that she is not alone there are nother kids like her without parents as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    An Emotional Book

    This book was telling sad things, but I also know it is a good book because it made me sad. It was also adventurous. One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1