Customer Reviews for

Chinese Handcuffs

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    This book is great, definately worth reading!

    I truly enjoyed this book; it kept me reading for hours. I did not want to put it down. Honestly at first I didn't want to read this book, but like I said it turned out to be great. This book really opens up a lot of feelings about how telling your secrets can be helpful and how they can also hurt you. Chinese Handcuffs is about two kids who attend Chief Joseph High and both go or have gone through struggles. First of all there is Dillon Hemmingway whose brother shot himself in front of him and partially blamed it on Dillon. Dillon's family then crumpled apart; due to all the emotional and physical stress of Dillon's brother, and Dillon's mother and sister left. Leaving Dillon and his dad alone to the house where it seemed that they never really talked to him. It actually seemed that Dillon went to Coach Sherman for advice rather than his father. Dillon also tries to help a girl named Jen. Jen experienced and during the story experiences some serious events that completely changed their life. I can't tell you the events that take place because it would easily spoil the story, but Jen is the star of the basketball team and has a "thing" with the team manager, Dillon. Jen actually does tell her secrets to Dillon who really wants to help, but has trouble because he doesn't want to lose Jen's trust. That's all I can tell you without spoiling the story, sorry. On the plus side I'd like to say that Chris Crutcher wrote this story very well and I look forward to reading his other stories. Also on the plus side I would recommend this story to anybody over the age of 12 or 13; due to the content of Chinese Handcuffs. I'd like to thank my English teacher for making this book available to me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Chinese handcuffs

    Chinese Handcuffs is a tremendously good book especially for teenagers in high school. Dillion Hemingway, a typical high school student with a talent of running marathons. Everything is going well until his drug-attict brother desides to commit suicide. As Dillion watches in horror, his brother takes his life before he even gets to really live. On top of this tragedy, the girl Dillion is crazy about is still in love with his dead brother and only sees him as a friend or "brotherly" figure. Dillion doesn't have much of a home life since his parents are divoriced and his dad is always working. Dillion has only one person to turn to. His best friend Jennifer. Jen is the star of the varsity basketball team, smart, and pretty, but Dillion still doesn't quite want to see Jen as anything more than a friend. As perfect as jen seems she also has problems of her own. I would recommend this book to all of my friends and even some adults looking for a great book. This story made me realize how real life could be. I learned how i should take situations more seriously and treat people the way they trully deserve to be treated. This book is powerful and could also be life-changing to some individuals.I am looking forward to reading other books by Chris Crutcher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Review

    Chinese Handcuffs was a book that I probably wouldn’t have picked up own my own, because of the overall unhappy story. It dealt with issues like drugs, rape, and suicide. Dillon, the main character, witnessed his brother kill himself, and is living with that guilt as well as the memories of the events to follow. Jennifer, his friend, has a big secret of her own, but is afraid to tell anyone because it will put her family and the people she loves at risk. Overall, Chinese Handcuffs was a book that I might recommend. The plot kept you guessing, but the ending still left some unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Absolutely Recommended!

    Chris Crutcher hit a home run with this book! It keeps you intrigued throughout the story! Although some parts were a-bit graphic and sad, it was still a really good book! Take it from me! My English teacher gave my class this book to read, and I wasn't too thrilled about reading it. After the first page I thought that the book was going to be stupid and only filled with letters. Turns out, it's better than what is on the first page! I definitely recommend this book to teenagers and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    I would recommend this book

    I actually only read this book because my English teacher assigned it. At first I hated it, just because I usually hate every book that the school makes me read. Once I got into it though, I realized that this book was not quite as bad as I thought. It talks about issues that occur in the real world; issues that some people can relate to. Although in this case that's not really a good thing. I suggest that if you are looking for a good book to read on your time off, that you check out Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it! I recommend this book to all teenagers!

    This book was an eye-opener! It showed struggles in life for everyday teenagers ,drugs, sucide and rape. The characters Dillion, Jen,and Stacy show how you can change your life around even if there is a no hope. This book illustrtes there's hope in life, and it can be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great Book - an enthralling story

    Chinese Handcuffs may not be the most well known book in existence, but it’s truly a great read. Keep in mind it’s only for mature readers. The story revolves around a boy who has to face difficult obstacles involving the people he loves. Real world problems like suicide, abuse, and pregnancy are addressed, and each character in the book handle their issue differently. The characters are highly relatable and realistic, and the plotline will cause smiles and tears. This isn’t a happy bedtime read, but it is an enthralling page-turner that is not easy to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it! I recommend this book to all teenagers!

    Chinese Handcuffs, written by Chris Crutcher was an eye-opener! It showed struggles in life for everyday teenagers ,drugs, sucide and rape. The characters Dillion, Jen,and Stacy show how you can change your life around in life's troubles. This book illustrtes there's hope in life, and it can be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Truly a Good Read

    The novel Chinese Handcuffs, by Christopher Crutcher, is truly a good novel. The plot of this novel grabs your attention and creates intrigue, to the point where it is just impossible to put the book down. However, the plot does have a darker side. It includes many sensitive topics such as sexual abuse and suicide. Although this book is in fact very sensitive in nature, it is still able to make a very good book, even though it may not be a very ‘fun’ book. This is definitely a book aimed towards a more mature audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book was incredibly interesting. At first, it was hard to get attached to because it dealt with some sensitive topics that were explained in much detail, but once you learned the characters, you absolutely loved and felt them. These characters dealt with rape, suicide, and so much more. After reading this heart felt book,I was truly grateful that I do not live a life like these teenagers. It also made me realize that anyone around me could be living a live as bad a s going home to a rapists every night, or thinking that they were the one who drove their brother to his death. This book will make you laugh,cry,and make you realize that nobody has it as easy as it looks. I highly recommend reading this wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Chinese Handcuffs review

    Chinese Handcuffs was a story about a teenage boy who was forced to watch his

    brother commit suicide when he was younger. One of his friends had to go on with the

    rest of her life knowing she was unable to protect herself and her younger sister from

    her father. Her father would come into her room every night and rape her. The story is

    about how they are coping with the horrible situations. Overall, the book, Chinese

    Handcuffs was a page turner. Once you start reading a chapter or two, its hard to put

    the book down. The piece of writing was well written and interesting to read , although I

    would not recommend it for younger people. This is a book for young adults. Some of

    the events were inappropriate for younger kids and teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly recommended for the young adult!

    Overall, I loved the book Chinese Handcuffs. It does not seem like a kind of book I would read if it was not for an English assignment. It is a very realistic story that I could not put down. I would highly recommend it for a young adult, as it is mainly about relatable struggles that a teenager may face. One thing that disappointed me about the book was that the story line was so interesting, and the ending was not. I expected a surprising ending, but it did not occur and I thought that it did not provide enough closure. Besides this, I absolutely loved the book and how exciting the story line was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Story - it's a page turner!

    I would give the Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher a nine out of ten. It had great suspense and was a page turner, especially towards the last few chapters. Dillon is a marvelous character and it was great to see his life and way of thinking change throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended Book!

    Chinese Handcuffs has to be one of the most thrilling books I have read in a long time. Dillon Hemmingway is not your average 16 year old. He's smart, caring, and athletic. But he refuses to use any part of his athleticism towards his school teams. Instead he participates in triathlons. As smart as Dillon is he has a hard time making out why his brother committed suicide. And why Jennifer Lawless is having such a hard time accepting him as more than a friend. To help him cope with the emotional details, Dillon turns to a journal where he writes letters to a brother that is dead and gone. In time, he comes to understand that he and Jennifer have more than sports in common. By the end of the book Stacy, Preston's girlfriend and Jennifer become the best of friends. Chinese Handcuffs tells the story of fear, isolation, and hopelessness. But with one brave step at a time, you will never want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Check it out!

    The Book, Chinese Handcuffs, by Chris Crutcher is a very good book. The way that Crutcher writes keeps your attention throughout the entire story. His style is easy to read and interesting. One of the main reasons I liked this book is because I feel like I was able to get to know the characters by the way that Crutcher explained them and the events that occurred. I also liked this book because he went back and forth between two different stories, but they were related in a way. It was about a boy, named Dillon, and a girl named Jennifer, who both attends high school. Dillon is going through a really tough time. A tragic event occurred in his life and he does not know exactly how to cope with it. His best friend Jennifer is also going through a hard time. Jen tells Dillon her biggest secret and after hearing that, Dillon knows that he has to help her. He finds out a little later that he has stronger feelings for Jen, but given her secret, it is hard for him to act on them. The book was constantly flipping from Dillon’s story and Jen’s Story. It was disturbing at times and very sad, but in the end it all paid off. I highly recommend this book to anyone, especially high school students. I really enjoyed reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    One of the best books I have ever read!!!!!!

    Dillon Hemmingway, a training triathlete, has to deal with the loss of his brother, the pain of a friend, the lonliness of his father and himself, and every other issue a normal teenager experiences. Ever since Dillon's odler brother, Preston, died Dillion has been confused, lost, and causing trouble. Almost every month he gets suspended, skips school, and almost every day pushes the principal's buttons. Jen, a very close friend of Dillon and star basketball player, has to deal with her step father who hurts and abuses her constantly, her mother who is afraid of her own husband, and on top of that take care of her younger sister. Dillon and Jen stick together most of the time and can open up around one another. However, the two friends hide their issues and deepest secrets from the rest of the world and one another. If you did not truly know these two characters you would think they are some of the happiest people alive, considering they are very good at hiding their pain and secrets, especially Jen. Eventually Dillon and Jen crack and reveal their personal problems to one another. Dillon thinks he has it bad, but compared to what Jen is going through it does not seem all that bad anymore. Dillon tries to help Jen without her knowing to stop her step father from hurting her. Will Jen and Dillon ever have peace and be freed from harm? I really enjoyed reading this book, which always kept me guessing and held my interest. Once I picked up the book, I could never put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is willing to read it! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Great Read!

    I’ll have to admit, Chinese Handcuffs is a book I would never have read if it weren’t for my English teacher. So I owe her a thank you because Chinese Handcuffs was one of my favorites to read! It may be extremely detailed in scenes you’re not used to talking or hearing about, but it’s suspenseful and will keep you turning the pages rapidly until the end. The main characters are forced into situations that aren’t the prettiest, but it’s realistic and that’s the best part, no matter how sad or heartbreaking the situations may be. I highly recommend this book to anyone, but especially high school students!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Wow!Simply Wow!

    Sixteen year old Dillon Hemmingway has a lot to deal with. His brother, Preston, killed himself last year right in front of Dillon. Not only that, but Pres blamed him for it too! Dillon¿s mother and little sister left, and now it¿s just him and his father who he hardly has what you¿d call an ideal relationship with. He¿s training for the Ironman triathlon, and to top it all off, he¿s walked his way right into the middle of a dirty secret.
    Jennifer Lawless. She¿s the star athlete on the basketball team and boy is she a hit! With both aggression and sensational skill, she¿s gotten her team to the finals. Her pregame state is always there and very focused, but sometimes it¿s even worse; she seems almost not there. But it isn¿t just because of the big game; you see, Jen has a secret too¿ a big one.
    They both have temporary fixes for their pain: Jen plays basketball and Dillon trains for the triathlon, but it always comes back. The entire story you¿ll be on the edge of your seat wondering ¿Will they be able to reach each other before it¿s too late?¿
    Chinese handcuffs is an exceptional novel that I suggest to anyone who¿s up for a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Excellent book- definitely one to read!

    This horribly eventful book starts off with a 16 year old boy, Dillon, who witnesses his brother, Preston, ¿leaving¿ without any warning and whose mother and sister left him as a child. Dillon later comes to learn that his brother had left something with its whole life ahead of it behind, along with a girl whom both brothers liked but one more than the other. Dillon also has an attraction towards Jennifer, the best basketball player on the school team whom Dillon was manager of, who has been sexually abused by her father and later step father and is afraid it may happen to her younger siblings as well if it hasn¿t already. Over time Jennifer¿s step father appears to be ¿untouchable¿ as both she and Dillon try to figure out ways to stop him as Jennifer has before but never succeeded for the consequences she could have suffered were severe to her and her family. On an important night something you may have expected to later happen does for an overpowering of thoughts had taken over. I believe the author¿s message may have been about helping your loved ones in the worst of times even when they think it may not be possible to find a loop hole or another way around the obstacle. This is definitely a valuable book for other people to read because if the events that happened to Dillon and Jennifer in the book happened to another person it may be easy to connect with and let them know that they¿re not the only ones out there that this has happened to. I will personally take away the fact that there are horrible events like this happening every day in the world and more people should help one another to try and solve another friends or family friend¿s situation in hopes that your help or understanding of the situation will help them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Amazing!

    Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher is an amazing story about healing and overcoming emotional trauma. Well written and easy to read, Chinese Handcuffs is the perfect book for high school students who think they have it tough. For anyone who does not enjoy reading, you will have a hard time putting this book down. Chris Crutcher uses real life situations to relate Chinese Handcuffs to the average teenage life. Crutcher uses remarkable word choice to show emotion throughout the book.
    Dillon Hemmingway was a typical high school kid; that was until his drug addicted brother, Preston, committed suicide in front of him. On top of that, Dillon is in love with his dead brother¿s girlfriend who will never see Dillon as anything more than a close friend. He turns to a friend he is extremely attracted to, Jennifer Lawless. Smart, pretty, and the star of their school¿s basketball team, Jen and Dillon have lots of chemistry together. But Jen is not as perfect as she seems to everyone; she has a big secret she has been hiding. For years Jen has been sexually abused by first her father and then her step father. At first she is not sure is she can trust Dillon, let alone have a relationship with him, but as the story progresses you see how perfect the two are for each other. Can Dillon help Jen with her step father? Will Jen and Dillon end up together? I guess you will have to keep reading to figure out.
    I would recommend Chinese Handcuffs to anyone who is ready for the emotional rollercoaster it will take you on. Once you have finished the book, you will walk away with a new, in sighting view. This book made realize how life could be and made me appreciate the life I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3