Customer Reviews for

Chinese Handcuffs

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Chinese handcuffs

    Chinese Handcuffs is a tremendously good book especially for teenagers in high school. Dillion Hemingway, a typical high school student with a talent of running marathons. Everything is going well until his drug-attict brother desides to commit suicide. As Dillion watches in horror, his brother takes his life before he even gets to really live. On top of this tragedy, the girl Dillion is crazy about is still in love with his dead brother and only sees him as a friend or "brotherly" figure. Dillion doesn't have much of a home life since his parents are divoriced and his dad is always working. Dillion has only one person to turn to. His best friend Jennifer. Jen is the star of the varsity basketball team, smart, and pretty, but Dillion still doesn't quite want to see Jen as anything more than a friend. As perfect as jen seems she also has problems of her own. I would recommend this book to all of my friends and even some adults looking for a great book. This story made me realize how real life could be. I learned how i should take situations more seriously and treat people the way they trully deserve to be treated. This book is powerful and could also be life-changing to some individuals.I am looking forward to reading other books by Chris Crutcher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it! I recommend this book to all teenagers!

    This book was an eye-opener! It showed struggles in life for everyday teenagers ,drugs, sucide and rape. The characters Dillion, Jen,and Stacy show how you can change your life around even if there is a no hope. This book illustrtes there's hope in life, and it can be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it! I recommend this book to all teenagers!

    Chinese Handcuffs, written by Chris Crutcher was an eye-opener! It showed struggles in life for everyday teenagers ,drugs, sucide and rape. The characters Dillion, Jen,and Stacy show how you can change your life around in life's troubles. This book illustrtes there's hope in life, and it can be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Truly a Good Read

    The novel Chinese Handcuffs, by Christopher Crutcher, is truly a good novel. The plot of this novel grabs your attention and creates intrigue, to the point where it is just impossible to put the book down. However, the plot does have a darker side. It includes many sensitive topics such as sexual abuse and suicide. Although this book is in fact very sensitive in nature, it is still able to make a very good book, even though it may not be a very ‘fun’ book. This is definitely a book aimed towards a more mature audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Story - it's a page turner!

    I would give the Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher a nine out of ten. It had great suspense and was a page turner, especially towards the last few chapters. Dillon is a marvelous character and it was great to see his life and way of thinking change throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended Book!

    Chinese Handcuffs has to be one of the most thrilling books I have read in a long time. Dillon Hemmingway is not your average 16 year old. He's smart, caring, and athletic. But he refuses to use any part of his athleticism towards his school teams. Instead he participates in triathlons. As smart as Dillon is he has a hard time making out why his brother committed suicide. And why Jennifer Lawless is having such a hard time accepting him as more than a friend. To help him cope with the emotional details, Dillon turns to a journal where he writes letters to a brother that is dead and gone. In time, he comes to understand that he and Jennifer have more than sports in common. By the end of the book Stacy, Preston's girlfriend and Jennifer become the best of friends. Chinese Handcuffs tells the story of fear, isolation, and hopelessness. But with one brave step at a time, you will never want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    One of the best books I have ever read!!!!!!

    Dillon Hemmingway, a training triathlete, has to deal with the loss of his brother, the pain of a friend, the lonliness of his father and himself, and every other issue a normal teenager experiences. Ever since Dillon's odler brother, Preston, died Dillion has been confused, lost, and causing trouble. Almost every month he gets suspended, skips school, and almost every day pushes the principal's buttons. Jen, a very close friend of Dillon and star basketball player, has to deal with her step father who hurts and abuses her constantly, her mother who is afraid of her own husband, and on top of that take care of her younger sister. Dillon and Jen stick together most of the time and can open up around one another. However, the two friends hide their issues and deepest secrets from the rest of the world and one another. If you did not truly know these two characters you would think they are some of the happiest people alive, considering they are very good at hiding their pain and secrets, especially Jen. Eventually Dillon and Jen crack and reveal their personal problems to one another. Dillon thinks he has it bad, but compared to what Jen is going through it does not seem all that bad anymore. Dillon tries to help Jen without her knowing to stop her step father from hurting her. Will Jen and Dillon ever have peace and be freed from harm? I really enjoyed reading this book, which always kept me guessing and held my interest. Once I picked up the book, I could never put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is willing to read it! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Wow!Simply Wow!

    Sixteen year old Dillon Hemmingway has a lot to deal with. His brother, Preston, killed himself last year right in front of Dillon. Not only that, but Pres blamed him for it too! Dillon¿s mother and little sister left, and now it¿s just him and his father who he hardly has what you¿d call an ideal relationship with. He¿s training for the Ironman triathlon, and to top it all off, he¿s walked his way right into the middle of a dirty secret.
    Jennifer Lawless. She¿s the star athlete on the basketball team and boy is she a hit! With both aggression and sensational skill, she¿s gotten her team to the finals. Her pregame state is always there and very focused, but sometimes it¿s even worse; she seems almost not there. But it isn¿t just because of the big game; you see, Jen has a secret too¿ a big one.
    They both have temporary fixes for their pain: Jen plays basketball and Dillon trains for the triathlon, but it always comes back. The entire story you¿ll be on the edge of your seat wondering ¿Will they be able to reach each other before it¿s too late?¿
    Chinese handcuffs is an exceptional novel that I suggest to anyone who¿s up for a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Chinese Handcuffs

    Madison Colby
    9/15/09
    English/Sautner6
    Chinese Handcuffs
    Chinese Handcuffs is a book about life. It explains real life experiences that an outsider would not be able to notice problems a person is dealing with. In this book Dillon Hemingway and Jennifer Lawless have to struggle to get their problems solved. Dillon has to watch his brother commit suicide, while Jennifer has to deal with her "touchy" dads. Together they overcome their tribulations, but go through a great deal of adventures to succeed.
    This book is a mass of conflict, and it seems like no matter how Dillon and Jen try to conquer their evils they just won't go away. Their life is like they are both stuck in a set of Chinese handcuffs, no matter how hard they pull; their problems just keep getting worst. There are some dilemmas in this book that no one would ever suspect. Two amazing athletes with the will to succeed, have two dark secrets that always come back to haunt them.
    Chinese Handcuffs is real life experience that has been let loose. You never really know about something until you have gone through it or had it explained to you. This book draws you in and doesn't let you go. Once you read about the problems, you won't want to stop because the conflict just keeps building up. Once the story takes a dramatic twist you get lost in the words that the author wrote.
    This book is extremely good. Once you start reading Chinese Handcuffs you'll be hooked. If you like suspenseful books that you can get hooked on you should read this book. If you have troubles that are just too much to handle, read this book and see how teenagers dealt with their issues. Don't just take my word for it, read it yourself and get lost in the heap of inconsistency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Anything by Chris Crutcher is well worth reading and this was no exception. I love how he really gets teenagers and teenage angst without making it sappy and sweet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Wow....just wow!

    Dillon, 16, has to live with the memory of his brother¿s suicide. Before his brother kills himself, he tells Dillon all of these horrible things that he didn¿t know and it makes it worse. He runs triathlons to help keep him occupied. Now he met this girl named Jen who is going through some problems in her life also. With her grandfather dying, and her father molesting her, she doesn¿t know if she will ever be able to get over it. Together, they try to get rid of their problems and make life better. While you are reading it, you just get overwhelmed. Some parts make you want to go into the book and stop it all. It was excellent and really showed how life is for some people. The whole point of the book is that even though you don¿t think someone loves you, there is always someone there that will help you and cares about you. Chris Crutcher doesn¿t give you one of those fake ¿everyone is always happy¿ stories, he gives you the other side you never see, which made me like it so much. I would recommend it to any young adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Chinese Handcuffs

    This book was one I couldnt put down and I dont like reading much. Im more of a writer but this book was really good. It shows teens going through these kinds of problems how to deal with their troubles and its not by suicide. The author shows teens there is other ways to deal with things like this than doing that. he shows suicide is not how to deal because in doing that you leave others with a bigger pain left in them than you had before you left them. All in all it was an amazing book and I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    'Gritty and Realistic. Riveting'

    This book is very realistic. I love the way Chris Crutcher can write his books through a high school student's perspective. Kids in this book find comfort in each other and can really talk to each other about things. Although this book is fiction it has very realistic parts and they are incidents that happen every day. I think this is definitely one of the best books I've ever read. I recommend this book to anyone who likes realistic events and suspense. It keeps you on your toes so you want to keep reading more. Chris Crutcher is a great writer, he can be very comical but yet serious at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Amazing Book, Best suited for teens

    I loved this book. I think that any teen who has ever delt with a big problem like this one could really connect. I think that some Adults wouldn't quite get the book like teens would. This book deals with now-a-day situations. Not only does this book touch teens it also gets you really into the mind-frame of the characters themselves. I would love to see a movie made out of any of Chris Crutchers books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    another great book from chris crutcher

    I loved this book! I chanced upon Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes at a bookstore and then searched for other titles by the same author. This book is great. I can't say anything else, except that it's wonderful. Perfectiuon. I don't even like sports and i loved it. Read it asap!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    lost and found

    as an eighteen year old girl who just found her world blown apart, exactly like jens, i felt lost but i didnt have dillion, Chris Cuthcher is amazing, he caught the raw emotion of it all and i identified with the carachter so much, the way he conveyed everything,he definaly helped me to be found agian,although i am still a little lost this is a definate MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Wonderful book

    I just finished reading chinese handcuffs last night and loved it. The story makes you appriciate life a little more, and as far as the book itself goes, it is extrememly well written, and is definitely a page-turner. I recommend it to anyone thirteen and up because there are quite a few tough issues in it, and while they can be hard to read sometimes, it is important for teenagers to learn about them, as there may be similar issues in their own, or in classmates lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Amazing

    This book was very inspiring. My friend and I read it for book club at school in three days, we couldn't put it down. I makes you appreicate the good things you have in life, like friendships, family, love, and life in general. This book is far from lighthearted, but Dillion's sense of humor keeps you from going into depression. I don't reccomend it to younger kids because of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1