Customer Reviews for

Chloe Does Yale: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

So i just finished my first year at college, and this book definitely had me laugh and remember memories from the year. This book is entertaining, realistic, and a good laugh. I'd recommend it to anyone in or out of college.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's like a ditzy girl yelling in your ear and not telling you anything

not a whole lot happens in Chloe Does Yale. there's very little in the way of interesting dirt, and there's no plot to speak of. basically Chloe goes to a sketchy party at the beginning, worries about it for like a hundred pages, goes to the Harvard-Yale game, goes ho...
not a whole lot happens in Chloe Does Yale. there's very little in the way of interesting dirt, and there's no plot to speak of. basically Chloe goes to a sketchy party at the beginning, worries about it for like a hundred pages, goes to the Harvard-Yale game, goes home to New York, and then goes to another sketchy party at the end. then she meets a guy and falls in love in the epilogue. in between those things, her basically pointless columns are reprinted. there's nothing else to it, really--you just got the whole book in my synopsis, minus krinsky's terrible writing.

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    So i just finished my first year at college, and this book definitely had me laugh and remember memories from the year. This book is entertaining, realistic, and a good laugh. I'd recommend it to anyone in or out of college.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    It's like a ditzy girl yelling in your ear and not telling you anything

    not a whole lot happens in Chloe Does Yale. there's very little in the way of interesting dirt, and there's no plot to speak of. basically Chloe goes to a sketchy party at the beginning, worries about it for like a hundred pages, goes to the Harvard-Yale game, goes home to New York, and then goes to another sketchy party at the end. then she meets a guy and falls in love in the epilogue. in between those things, her basically pointless columns are reprinted. there's nothing else to it, really--you just got the whole book in my synopsis, minus krinsky's terrible writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Behind close doors

    Taking a page from the successful Sex and The City series by Candace Bushnell, Natalie Krinsky takes a stab on a single and something college paper sex columnist and pens Chloe Does Yale.



    In Chloe Does Yale, the lovable Chloe opens her inner sexual kitten and broadcast it in her college paper. Themes transcend the spectrum from is a "blow job in your 20s really is the new hand job from your teens"? "Spit or swallow?", that is the question or the joys of portable hand massagers.

    The first chapter captures the imagination as this quirky sex kitten goes to a hip fraternity "exotic exotic" party and hooks up. Then in the midst of passion she discovers and declares that she can't believe he "shaves down there?" Chloe Does Yale is a silly peek into the college kid angst of a young woman trying to find her identity while living up to her expected good girl front.

    The book starts as an edgy salacious temptation appetizer but ends up as boring as a meat and three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Sex Lite

    Taking a page from the successful Sex and The City series by Candace Bushnell, Natalie Krinsky takes a stab on a single and something college paper sex columnist and pens Chloe Does Yale.

    In Chloe Does Yale, the lovable Chloe opens her inner sexual kitten and broadcast it in her college paper. Themes transcend the spectrum from is a "blow job in your 20s really is the new hand job from your teens"? "Spit or swallow?", that is the question or the joys of portable hand massagers.

    The first chapter captures the imagination as this quirky sex kitten goes to a hip fraternity "exotic exotic" party and hooks up. Then in the midst of passion she discovers and declares that she can't believe he "shaves down there?" Chloe Does Yale is a silly peek into the college kid angst of a young woman trying to find her identity while living up to her expected good girl front.

    The book starts as an edgy salacious temptation appetizer but ends up as boring as a meat and three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for a funny look at college life

    This was a funny look at college life and since I am finishing my first year in college, I have seen alot of the same sorts of things going on. I think the whole idea of a sex life column in the campus newspaper would be a great thing to have, but no way would it ever fly here. The stories were all really funny and if you want something to take your mind off things, this is the book to get. Do not expect to read this and learn some gobsmacking new thing about the opposite sex though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rainy Day for College Ladies

    I picked this book up at my University's bookstore out of sheer curiosity. Midterms were coming up and I wanted to read something written by someone other than a historian or a philosopher. So, I sat down and read the first chapter, and my interest was piqued. I'm a Women's Studies Major and sexuality and dating are one of my particular areas of interest. I waited until after the semester was over to purchase the book so that I could read it without interruption and I enjoyed it immensely. The characters were wonderful, realistic with just a touch of extreme, and the complications associated with sexual interaction on a college campus ranged from serious to mildly hilarious. This story is definitely one to keep on the bookshelf for a rainy day or day at the beach. Pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Very Entertaining

    Very funny, very clever, keeps you wanting more. I was laughing throughout the entire book at all the crazy stories! It makes you want to back to college and do it all again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Chloe Does Yale

    A quick read that is pretty good. Some of the things that happen to her and her friends are pretty close to real life which make it even funnier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Great read!

    Loved this book...a great poolside read for the summer! Took me back to my college memories. Left me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Great Chic lit

    This was a really good book. Great Reminder of my own college days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Loooooved it.

    I've read this book many times. I just love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    College Girls Wanted...

    I really loved this book, it made me think about my college years, and how every college has 'that girl' or 'that bar'. It's a great beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Great Fun Read!

    This is a wonderful book to just relax with and remember the good days of college. For those who question the validity of this book, rest assured, this a tame version of the real college experience for TONS of people. This book isn't Tolstoy but it's the type of book that grabs your attentions and makes you laugh. Read it with a sense of humor not as an articulate thesis. Perfect for Summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Great for College Girls looking for some laughs, Bad for People With High Expectations

    This book kept me entertained for hours during the summer break. I giggled outloud all the time, much to my boyfriend's disapproval, and really loved it. But this review comes with a warning: Read with caution. I loved this book because I'm not looking for award winning writing or perfectly planned plots and the stories of college life are really relatable. I could totally imagine some of the situations happening to myself or a friend. If you are a tough sell though, don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    loved it

    this book is great... very relatable if your a college student... definitely reccomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Great entertainment

    If you are looking for a book that you will learn from, this is not for you. Although it is a great book to make you laugh, and kill some time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Save Your Money

    In a society where Carrie Bradshaw is a household name most readers will find Krinsky¿s writing lack luster compared to that of her predecessors. While the plot of the novel (Yale Undergrad pens sex column) is intriguing the character development was lacking to say the least. The main character Chloe seems to be too much of a younger less loveable Bradshaw and to an audience that has already watched Sex and The City, Chloe Does Yale falls short of Sex¿s brilliant writing. If however you live under a rock and have not seen Sex and The City this novel would most likely be enjoyable and perhaps even clever. I would recommend this book to people in high school, or anyone that can not discuss sex without blushing. However if you do not fit into either of these categories do yourself a favor and turn on HBO.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    So Funny!

    Excellent book. As a college student myself, I felt like I was attending Yale right along with Chloe and listening to her tell about her escapades. I only gave it 4 stars because some parts were a bit predictable and the ending came about too suddenly, but overall, Krinsky gives a highly entertaining and realistic look at dating in college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    A train wreck of a novel

    This book is atrocious. Why I kept reading reading it is beyond me. Its characters are flat, its pacing abysmal (one page it's Christmas, and the next page it's March, with absolutely no comment of the three months past), and the plot non-existent. Ms. Krinsky obviously fancies herself to be both the next Carrie Bradshaw (her column is entitled Sex and the Elm City) and an amazing writer (the characters keep congratulating her alter ego Chloe on her magnificent writing talent)--she is clearly neither. I like a good chick lit book as much as the next girl, but this is one to skip.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    A Definate Must Read!

    Chloe is a great charecter with an interesting life! This book was so hilarious and close to home for me and most college girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2