Customer Reviews for

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 633 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(269)

4 Star

(195)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Read

This book is a good weekend read. If you're just starting with mysteries (like I was when I read it), then its a nice place to start. Its nothing too out there and it has a more down to earth feeling to it. Its got a good start. And the recipes are entertaining. The ...
This book is a good weekend read. If you're just starting with mysteries (like I was when I read it), then its a nice place to start. Its nothing too out there and it has a more down to earth feeling to it. Its got a good start. And the recipes are entertaining. The lead character is also someone easy to identify with, and it'll have you wishing you lived in a small time like hers (well, one without all the murders). I think its a nice combination of chick-lit and mystery and highly recommend it if you're looking for a quick read or something to get your mind off of work. Joanne Fluke definitely has a lot of talent.

posted by 2633715 on April 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder

A good quick read and the recipies were actually great

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 636 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    A Fun Read

    This book is a good weekend read. If you're just starting with mysteries (like I was when I read it), then its a nice place to start. Its nothing too out there and it has a more down to earth feeling to it. Its got a good start. And the recipes are entertaining. The lead character is also someone easy to identify with, and it'll have you wishing you lived in a small time like hers (well, one without all the murders). I think its a nice combination of chick-lit and mystery and highly recommend it if you're looking for a quick read or something to get your mind off of work. Joanne Fluke definitely has a lot of talent.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    5 stars read

    Joanne Fluke does a wonderful job at creating an amazing plot. I stayed up late to read it and enjoyed every minute. will buy more.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    A Great Book with Delicious Cookie Recipes

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Hannah Swenson is able to keep the towns folk in delicious cookies while solving a murder mystery. She does all this without finding the need to use foul language or sex to do it. I tried several of the cookie recipes she includes throughout the book and found them to be very good. My family and friends enjoyed them. A very good read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining amateur sleuth tale

    Thirty-year old Hannah Swensen lives in Lake Eden, Minnesota, a town with a winter population of about three thousand residents. Though her mother lives near her, Hannah likes living in her own condo shared with a one-eyed cat, Moishe. Hannah enjoys being single and resents her mother¿s efforts to fix her up with seemingly every bachelor in the state. Hannah owns and operates the Cookie Jar, a combination coffeehouse and catering service. Her business is thriving but dramatically increases when Hannah discovers the murdered body of dairy delivery person Ron La Salle in the parking space behind her shop. <P>Hannah¿s brother-in-law Winnekta County Deputy Sheriff Bill Todd asks her to help him solve the case. He knows she is a good sleuth and he feels he will get a promotion if they succeed. The enthusiastic Hannah dives into the investigation to uncover the identity of a killer. However, unlike a cat, Hannah does not have nine lives and if she gets too close she might lose the one she has. <P>Readers will need to make a quantum leap of faith to believe that law enforcement official will ask a civilian to help on a homicide case. That flaw permeates a well-written novel as Bill continuously encourages his sister-in-law Hannah to make inquiries that place her in danger. The story line is fast-paced and the fully developed characters except for Bill (who places career ahead of loved ones) are all likable. Throughout the tale are recipes for cookies as expected from a ¿culinary¿ mystery. Joanne Fluke shows she is no fluke as an author of amateur sleuth tales as the novel is quite interesting. It does needs a different plot device for Hannah to enter the investigation realistically. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder

    A good quick read and the recipies were actually great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    fun reading and great receipes

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great series

    This is a great series. I have read all of them that are out. They are like chocolate. One is never enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I loved the Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder book. It is the only on

    I loved the Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder book. It is the only one I have read. I just started reading it the other day. I thought that it was neat to have the recipes written out in the book. I also thought that the characters were really cool and believable. Hope to get the second one soon. Trying to read them in order.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great Mystery Book!!

    This is a great mystery book. It is for all ages because it a good clean story. It is hard to find a mystery book that has "NO" sex or "NO vulgar language. I plan on reading the rest of the series. I love the recipes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great Book!! Highly recommended!

    The plot was great. I am now going to read the whole series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Great read!

    A great blend of mystery, romance and humor. I also love having the recipes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book... Easy read....added bonus...recipes for cookies!

    This book is an easy read... I like her writing style. Love that she includes the recipes for the cookies she talks about in the story. I also like the fact that the main character is trying to be an detective making references to the many csi type shows and movies. Fun read... Definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    This is a delightful series set in Lake Eden, Minnesota. I love

    This is a delightful series set in Lake Eden, Minnesota. I love the quirky small town setting and the bakery theme. In this first book in the series I thought the author did a great job of introducing the main characters. I wanted to light the fireplace, curl up and grab a cookie when I read this book. Hannah is a likeable character with a humorous relationship with her family... especially her mother. The mystery kept me guessing. This book doesn't have a deep sub plot with lots of twists and turns but it's a fun, quick read that draws you into the small MN town and makes you want to come back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of fun!

    I went into this book expecting a bit of fluff. I have to say, the mystery was actually quite good, and I found myself LOVING the characters! A very fun read. I immediately bought the 2nd book in the series. I also look forward to trying some of the cookie recipes found between chapters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Easy fun reads

    All of the hannah swenson books are fast-paced and fun. A guilty pleasure that doesnt put on pounds...unlike the delicious recipes!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very cute book

    I wanted to read a light hearted book. Even though this was a murder mystery, the characters were all great. The recipes are fantastic!!! I can not wait to read the next one I downloaded!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Cookie Lover's Mystery

    A lighthearted little murder mystery. Not John Sanford, but it was fun. The recipes I tried were easy and good. Might be a nice beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Anonymous

    A cozy and fun mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book...liked the novella at the end as well...and as always i need to try the cookies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Miranda

    "Okay...."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 636 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32