Customer Reviews for

Chocolate-Covered Baloney

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I did not get to read the first two books in this series, and yo

    I did not get to read the first two books in this series, and you really do not have to, to get the drift of what is going on although I am going to order them because I really enjoyed this book, April Grace being my favorite character of course.

    I love how she snoops around trying to be the little detective to find out everything that is going on in her household to no avail. April Grace is very blunt, with her witty and straightforward humorous perspective on life. This is set in the 70’s and April Grace goes through many changes and struggles that young girl’s today face, she reminded me so much of myself at that age. You will fall in love with April Grace, and many of all ages will find themselves relating to her I am sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Hey person who posted on January 30, 2013! Listen to this

    It is a fantastic book and yes you should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    If you're a fan of books for tweens and teens, then you'll be a

    If you're a fan of books for tweens and teens, then you'll be a fan of K.D. McCrite and her lively young heroine, April Grace. This series takes place in the 1980's, before the age of cell phones and social media...which proves that tweens are pretty much the same regardless of the decade, and deal with the same kinds of issues.

    In Chocolate Covered Baloney, April Grace has a lot to deal with. A grandmother she's never met before shows up on the family doorstep, acting like she's family and ready to move right in. April's older sister, Myra Sue, is keeping secrets and acting mysterious, and April Grace still isn't quite sure how she feels about neighbors Isabel and Ian.

    In the third novel of a series (Confessions of April Grace), the title character lives up to her name...her middle name, at least. She learns a lot about showing grace, forgiving in love...and finally gets to the bottom of Myra Sue's secrecy...in the nick of time.

    April Grace is spunky and confident, and speaks her mind. She reminds me a little of the 80's sitcom character Punky Brewster...if Punky knew Jesus! Her family adventures are always fun and full of faith and love...with lots of humor thrown in for good measure. I've enjoyed the entire series, and Chocolate Covered Baloney lives up to its title.

    I highly recommend the first two titles in this series as well.

    (The Wordsmith Journal strives to guide readers to books of personal interest, with the understanding and respect that what appeals to some may not appeal to others. Therefore we attempt to keep our reviews focused on content, genre and style. The rating is necessary to make use of Goodreads and Amazon. It reflects the reviewer’s own level of enjoyment, but the review is intended to be informative for the benefit of all readers.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I loved the title and then the story. Chocolate-covered Baloney

    I loved the title and then the story. Chocolate-covered Baloney is marvelous! Bravo! I want book four now! JeanieL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    This is a great book for a tween girl. April Grace is such an a

    This is a great book for a tween girl. April Grace is such an adorable character. I loved her to pieces. She was interesting, funny, and witty. The entire book is full of good, believable characters. The writing is clean and entertaining, while conveying the story and message clearly. Honestly, I just loved this book and would recommend it to any girl ages 8 and up.

    While this is the third book in a series, it also can be read as a stand alone novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    April Grace Reilly is a sixth-grade girl who definitely knows he

    April Grace Reilly is a sixth-grade girl who definitely knows her own mind.  And in her topsy-turvy world, that's a very good thing.  She's got a grandmother who's dating a pastor from a neighboring church, an annoying sister who thinks she's God's gift to the soap opera world, and a Big Mystery on her hands.  To top it all off, April Grace's non-existent other grandmother drops in out of nowhere and becomes all too existent.  How's a girl supposed to stay on top of all of this?

    This was a delightful book to read.  April Grace has got the spunk and personality to match wits with Ramona Quimby any day of the week.  The first person point of view is very effective in this book.  We really get a great sense of April Grace's wit and frustrations with the people in her world.  She does read younger than sixth grade - but that's a very good thing, in this reader's mind.  A book like this would appeal to readers in fourth grade and up.  It's a very good example of middle grades fiction - and probably the best middle grades fiction book I have read in the Christian genre.

    The best part about this book was the writing.  McCrite is a very talented writer.  Chocolate-Covered Baloney has such amazing voice, and such skillful show-not-tell writing.  This is a book that any girl in the middle grades can enjoy reading.  I highly recommend this book .

    Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I have a question

    Now I didnt rate it because I didnt read it, is it a good book? I need to know because I want to read it!

    JUST WONDERING

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    There is no message to be taken from the novel. It simply is a d

    There is no message to be taken from the novel. It simply is a description of events that have taken place. In choosing Chocolate-Covered Baloney, I felt like reading something lighter and fun. I wanted that feeling of being a tween when I anticipated and dreamed of what life would be like in the coming years as I grew up. With the date of January 1987 on page 2, I was taken aback. I don’t think I even remember 1987!

    The novel has great chapter names, such as, ‘Oh to be Abducted by Aliens!’, ‘The Ways Spies Spy When Wind Blows in Their Eyes’, and, ‘A Real, Live Screaming Mimi,’ keep it entertaining. Along with the grandmother, April Grace’s paternal grandmother, who has the best sayings – ‘Good gravy, it is some kind of cold out there!’, ‘I sure do hope the deer stay off the highway. I can’t see a blessed thing after dark.’, ‘April Grace Reilly, what on earth are you doing, lolly-gagging in the old-lady aisle?’

    Although I do not know where the Chocolate-Covered Baloney title came from - I don’t think it was even used in the novel – it is an easy read with short chapters. As an adult, though, the book drags.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    April Grace is back! This is the third installment of April Gra

    April Grace is back! This is the third installment of April Grace, and the third one I have read and reviewed. As a fully-grown woman, I can't believe what passes for "reading material" for young women today. I have a hard time believing that young women can connect with the vapid characters, sorry plot line, and crass language. (Does that make me a prude? Maybe.) The fact that this series of books doesn't fall into those traps is what brings me back.

    April Grace always seems to find a mystery to solve, and we again follow along with a goofy cast of supporting characters including her sister.

    When I finish these books, I pass them along to my teenage cousins (young women currently ages 19 and 21), and they both enjoy them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is amazing! It is funny and very entertaining! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1