Customer Reviews for

The Chocolate War

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The chocolate War

This book is a very signifacint book. It has many twist and turns to it,and it like it a lot. It has an amazing plot to it too that is very original. The title of the book is just amazing to. The chocolate war is a title that you could go many ways with. And when you ac...
This book is a very signifacint book. It has many twist and turns to it,and it like it a lot. It has an amazing plot to it too that is very original. The title of the book is just amazing to. The chocolate war is a title that you could go many ways with. And when you actually read it, it surprises you. I love this book and i think everyone should read it. Its an amazing book, that has a great plot. There are many twist and turns and at sometimes i was confused, but there was always a resonable explanation to it. And it was also easy to understand. So even when i didnt get it they would explain it later, and i thought that that was really nice.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Decent book, I didn't really like it.

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is an ok book. It is easy to follow, but the plot is not that good. I thought it was a boring book. Basically, the book is about a boy named Jerry Renault who plays football for Trinity High School. There is a group of boys called Th...
The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is an ok book. It is easy to follow, but the plot is not that good. I thought it was a boring book. Basically, the book is about a boy named Jerry Renault who plays football for Trinity High School. There is a group of boys called The Vigils, led by Archie Castillo, and they give assignments to people to cause destruction to Trinity. Things were going good in Jerry's life until he met the Vigils. Jerry's assignment was not to sell the chocolates for a few days at the annual Trinity chocolate sale. After his deadline is up he still refuses to sell the chocolates. He turns the whole school against him by doing this. This book has a little bit of violence in it. There are some gross parts and a lot of curse words. A couple reasons why I did not like the book was the author did not tell enough about the characters, so I could not really get into it. The settings at times were confusing, like they were in the wrong place for certain parts. I also did not really understand why he said some of the things he said. It is a decent book, pretty boring in my opinion. It needed to explain more things. Robert Cormier could have taken a few things out and the book would not have changed that much. A few things were just pointless to write. I would not recommend this book. It is an easy read but it is also a very boring read. It is hard to get into the book and want to read it. It did not matter how many times I forced myself to pick it up I just could not pick it up to read for fun.

posted by alewis25 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    The Chocolate War

    Jerry Renault is a freshman that is trying out for the football team. Jerry Renault has one friend, and his name is Obie. Jerry Renault and his dad don¿t get along that much any more, because his mom just died. Archie Costello is a mean heartless senior who runs a gang, The Vigils. Archie Costello passes out assignments to chosen people. Archie¿s buddy Carter helps Decide who should get the assignments. Brother Leon is a staff member at the all boys¿ school that Jerry Renault and Archie Costello go to. Brother Leon is a cruel, and mean teacher at Trinity. For instance there is this kid who has never gotten an F on anything in his live. Brother Leon gave this kid his first F and only gave it to him because he wanted information out of the kid. Brother Leon also lies and steals. Brother Leon stole money from the school to buy the chocolate for the chocolate sale. Jerry Renault gets assigned an assignment from Archie Costello. Jerry¿s assignment was to not sell the chocolates at first. After the assignment was over Jerry Renault still refused to take the chocolates. After Jerry Renault refused the chocolates some things started to happen to him. When Jerry Renault did not take the box of chocolates everybody at his school thought it was unfair. So The Vigils decided to help out with the chocolate sale. The Vigils went in big groups to sell boxes and boxes of chocolates. This book has a few assignments that were given out. The book also has many twists and turns. I thought the book was kind of slow at the beginning but then it was pretty good in the middle. I was very surprised at the way the book ended. I wish this book had ended differently. Over all I enjoyed reading ¿The Chocolate War,¿ and I would definitely recommend this book to other people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Hello

    The story takes place at a private school named Trinity High School. It is an all boys¿ school. The main character of the story is Jerry. Jerry is a freshman football player. He is trying to go out for quarterback but the coach does not thinks he is the guy for it. Goober is his only friend and he plays football with him. Brother Leon is a teacher that is a corrupt person that does not like the kids. The Vigils are a gang at Trinity High Schools that is lead by Archie. The president of the vigils was Charter he sets up everything for them. The black box is a box that has all white marbles and one black one. If you pull the black one you have to do something. The vigils also give out assignments to all the freshmen and they have to do it or else. Brother Leon set up the chocolate sales he borrowed money that he was not suppose to. Ever kid has to sell 50 boxes each. The Vigils give Jerry an assignment to not sell the chocolate for ten days. After the ten days was up he still did not sell. So the other kids decided they were not selling the chocolate either. Goober starts to sell then he stops to support his friend, Jerry. The Vigils start harassing Jerry for not selling the chocolate. They do that by destroying a poster in his locker, cutting his shoes into pieces. Then at football practice he got hit from behind and got hit in the kidneys. In the classroom this artwork got destroyed. One day after footballs practice Jerry was walking. A kid named Emile Janza stopped him and started talking to him. Suddenly four boys jumped out of the bushes and started beating him up. Then they took off. The Vigils did not want Jerry to make them look like fools so they took the chocolate sales into there own hands. They had people start selling the chocolates so all the chocolates got sold and they did. Archie set up a fight for Jerry and Emile Janza to get even. The fight did not turn out how it was suppose to. Read the book to find out what happens at the end. I thought the book was ok, at times it was slow but it picks up at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Fantastic

    I have seen that there are a couple of people claiming to be High School stundents who say that they dislike this book. I am a high school student too but I disagree with those other people. This book has many themes that many would consider contreversial but its message is still clear and should be looked at by everyone. It is a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    The Chocolate War

    I am a junior at Clinton-Massie High School. For my English II Class i was to choice an independent novel that had to do with bullying and i chose the Chocolate war. This book was an alright book. It goes good with the theme of bullying. Its kind of confusing at the begaining of the book cause it seems to go back-n-forth like it's a flash back, but you aventualy catch on to what is goimg on. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to be on their toes while reading. Cause it WiLL keep you on your toes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    great great great!

    this book is wonderful! its what any body would love to read with its violence, language, and its sence of masterbation. i recommand this book to anyone who would love violence and swearing. This is a 9th graders dream book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Real...

    This book was wonderful. I guess most people liked Jerry and I did too, but I had a soft spot for Archie, strangely enough, his weird control issues had me hooked. As for the ending, I think it was fitting. Most books end with the 'good guy' triumphing over the 'bad guy' which almost never happens. The ending was just reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 1999

    One of the best books I've read!

    I think this book was one of the best I've read. It's real. That's what young people want to read, realistic fiction. Teachers and parents say how much we need to read, right? These kind of books we are interested in. I don't know why parents get so offended or mad because these books are being published. Even though they don't write about 'a perfect world' they do use some advanced grammer in here and really need to have an expanded vocabulary to understand the story. I'm not up for the parents taking them off the shelves. That isn't fair for other, older, and/or more mature people who would like to read them. I think these parents are just mad because it may be true for their child(ren). Or maybe, because their just scared they didn't raise their kids right and are scared they'll go off doing that. Hopefully, this isn't true! If you parents don't like the book, fine! Just don't go taking them off the shelves. If you don't want your kid reading it, tell them you don't want them reading it. Or ask the librarians at the school or local library you don't want your child checking them out, ok. Some kids are mature enough to not take this personally and/or offensive. I really recommend this book to all the mature kids in this world witout crazy, easily offensive parents. Hi Stone!!!! I'm not afraid to say what I think. I hope i get published in the newsletter, Ms.Hellmann.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Spoilers!!!!

    I hate people that spoil perfectly good books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    I have not finished it

    At school we are reading this book and so far it is prety good altough i can not say it is the best book ever but it is a prety good book and in our reading group we answer questions about th book and have a discusion about it.

    I am only ten years old so I have not read alot of books but this is definetly not the worst or best book i have ever read but I have not even finished the book so i really can not be a good judge if you ask me but I assure you this is not the worst book ever. It is actually really cool you just might want to know what some words in the book mean otherwise you will be bewildered.

    So i recomend reading it and maybe think about the first sentence of the first chapter THEY MURDED HIM so really atleast read through the third chapter in conclusion this book is pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    I AM anoyed at you pople who write giberish at least tell us your opinion too!!!!!!!!! PS ok not great though

    Seriusly people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    sdfsshfdfsdfgfnhgmnhbv gbfvgbc xcvbfvbfd

    sdfsshfdfsdfgfnhgmnhbv gbfvgbc xcvbfvbfd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Chocolate War was an interesting book that started out as a

    The Chocolate War was an interesting book that started out as a little dry but towards the end it speeds up with excitement of “what’s going to happen next?” The Chocolate War will keep the reader guessing, not knowing what’s on the next page. The book starts out as the secret group that nobody knows about, even though everyone knows about them, spotting the main character as he is trying out for the football team. This secret group, that everyone pretends doesn’t exist, is the main cause in the drama of the book, where Jerry Renault refuses to participate in the school selling of chocolates. It makes him sad because after the school praised him for saying no, they all turned around and made it seem fun to sell chocolates. “He was swept with sadness, a sadness deep and penetrating, leaving him desolate like someone washed up on the beach, a lone survivor in a world full of strangers” (Cormier 131).
    What I liked about this book was that it kept me guessing the whole time. I never knew what was going to happen next because it kept taking 180 degree turns. However, what I disliked about this book was that it was also a little slow and while I liked that it was keeping me guessing, I also disliked that about it because the same thing never happened twice. It was sometimes confusing on who the book was talking about because it kept introducing characters throughout the story. I do recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for solid read that will keep them guessing. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars because it’s an interesting book that I enjoyed. Another book by Robert Cormier that interests me was In the Middle of the Night, it seems like a spooky book that sounds good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    The story begins with with Jerry the main character trying out f

    The story begins with with Jerry the main character trying out for football. Well, he gets trampled by everyone and after practice he throws up in the school bath room. The school Jerry goes to is an all boys catholic school. The story now goes to Brother Leon, the sadistic teacher. This year he has ordered twice as many chocolates than last year, and has tolled Archie, a big member of the Vigils, to help him sell the chocolates. On the first day of the chocolate sales, Jerry refuses to sell any chocolates. After a few days of Jerry refusing to sell chocolate. The other students start two look up to Jerry and start to refuse to sell chocolates. Then when the chocolate sale narrows down. Brother Leon tells Archie to take control and make everyone sell chocolates again. Archie and the Vigils scare everyone into selling chocolates again buy threatening them. The only person that doesn't give in is Jerry. For doing that, he gets bullied constantly. When the chocolate sale finishes, all of the chocolate have bin sold except for the 50 boxes that Jerry was suppose to sell. Archie gets Jerry to fight Janza the big bully for revenge. The way the fight works is that students will write on a slip of paper of how and who gets hit, and then put the slip in a bin and then the slips get randomly drawn. Both Jerry and Janza get to throw some punches, but when Janza is ordered to punch Jerry in the crotch, Jerry blocks the blow. Then Janza starts to go wild on Jerry, Jerry only manages to get one more punch on Janza before he blacks out. The fight ends with Jerry in and ambulance going to a hospital.

    I'm going to start off by talking about the things that I don't like about The Chocolate War. First the teachers in the school aren't the best to teach. Some of them have low self-esteam and the other half seem to have so much that they think that they can do whatever they like. Actually that is the only problem that I have with the book. I do like that there are real events that happen in the book that would happen in our school. For instance, when Jerry doesn't do what everyone is wanting him to do, he gets made fun of. Although in our school, the students would joke about it but in the novel every student takes it seriously. There aren't many things in the book to like or dislike, the book is more on the neutral side.

    I recommend "The Chocolate War' to anyone looking for a good real life story. Mostly to teenagers going through a though time in high school. Just as something that they can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    I highly recomend this book

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Chocolate War/Robert Cormier
    Title of review: Shane's review of Chocolate War
    Number of stars (1 to 5): I would give it five stars

    Introduction
    The book begins as Jerry Renault is being beaten at a football tryout. The coach is very impressed with jerry, so he asked him to come back tomorrow. After football, tryouts were over Jerry felt sick and he went into the bathroom and throw up. Jerry's dream of making the team has come true.
    Description and summary of main points
    This book was about a boy who went to a Catholic school that had a yearly chocolate sale. He was told by a secret group called the Vigils to not sell chocolates. This was an "assignment." When the assignment was over, he still decided not to accept the boxes. This caused massive problems in the school and with the Vigils. It caused him to be shunned and bullied by many students. Even the teachers were a problem.

    Evaluation
    The main character was Jerry. The main antagonists were Archie Costello and Brother Leon. Archie was the "assigner" for the Vigils, and Brother Leon was in charge of the chocolate sale. It was important to him because he needed to sell the chocolates to make back the money he had already spent to buy the chocolates. Because Archie told him to sell that the school needs to sell 20,000 boxes of chocolates get all the money back.
    Conclusion
    At the end of the book Jerry and Janza, fight in the football stadium. it was one of those fights where you would write a name on the card and what blow to the person like one-person rote Jerry blow to the gut.
    Your final review
    This book was the best book that I had ever read. It had violence, humor, and it caught my attention on most of the book like the fight at the end of the book, or the suspense with the black box where there is four white marbles and one black marble and if Archie picked the assignment himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Testosterone runs amuck

    This book is fine. It is a lot of boys having deal with morals in high school only the way boys can deal; Testosterone, Testosterone, Testosterone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    A Great Book!

    The Chocolate War ia a great real life expierence book in my opinion cause it takes you inside things that could happen at any school. The book seems to have many different twists into the novel. For example, it throws in bullying along with the real life feeling. It also gives you sensory details from football practice by describeing whatJerry felt when he was hit and the thoughts going through his mind. The Vigils are a gang inside the school system working with the school to help raise money. Althoughthey add violence into their work just for their own enjoyment. The head minister of the school is actually working with the group. The teachers throughout the school bully and tease their own students to see how the class reacts. The Vigils hurt and tease other students through the football team by haveing them continuosly hit them harder and harder. The title comes from the fundraiser where the students are selling choclates. The Goober one of Jerry's friends actually quits doing sports and athletics because of the Vigils. The goal in the novel for the Vigils is to crush Jerry and ruin other student's lives and dreams. The best event throughout the story would be the ending where Jerry comes back to beat the Vigils in a secret boxing match on the football field. However, other than that event the other suspenseful one is the days Jerry refuses to sell the choclates. The Goober's big event was when he wasn't selling the chocolates but on the board, he is marked down for selling all fifty boxes of chocolates they were required to sell. The longest suspenseful event was when the boys surpriseingly start to sell the boxes of chocolates whenever they are not actually selling them. I would think the best age group for this book would be ages 13 and above because of the language and the violence. The book is excellent for real life expierences. This book would defiantely prepare your children for high school or middle school with the twists of bullying and real life situations. The book is a great way to prepare for future things in life. also is just a great way to see how fundraisers could go bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    the chocolate war

    Introduction
    Description The Chocolate War is a great book. It has a lot of twist and turns. It is amazing to see what ends u to be. As I said, it is a great book to read and I would read it again.
    and summary of main points
    The book The Chocolate War takes place in a Trinity High School. A boy named Jerry he a great life, before he meets the vigils. The vigils are a group of boys who give an assignment to the kids who do bad things. An if you do not do the assignment the something bad always happens.
    Evaluation
    At the trinity high school the always had a chocolate sale around the begging of the year and Jerry did not want to sell any. At the same time, the vigils told him he had to say no. When Jerry said no the teacher got mad even though he said they did not have to.
    Conclusion
    After the chocolate sell was over the had a fight out on the football field. It did not end up being one of the worst fights ever. Even the teachers could not help them. It was just out of hand.
    Your final review
    I think this book is a good book over all. It has a great ending, details and settings. I would read this book any day. It is a book I would chose to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    The Chocolate War- Best Book Ever!

    Jerry is a boy that is going to Trinity High School. It is his first time going to a school like this it is a private school and kind of like a bible school but everything is not as it seems. Trinity High School is involved with a group called the Vigils. Everybody knows about them but they are not to be mentioned. Archie is the secretary of the Vigils but is in complete control and their goal is to give out assignments to the students of Trinity. The assignments can vary from anything its Archie's decision what the assignment is. He has to pick a marble out of a bag of 5 marbles 4 are white and 1 of them is black. If he gets the white marble the person,he assigned the assignment to, will still have to carry out the assignment. If he gets the black marble, Archie will have to carry out the assignment. Overall, in my opinion the book is the best one I've ever read. I read it in 7th grade and it has beeen my favorite book since. The plot is set up very well, there are many climaxes but it has kept me hooked ever since I first started reading it. The ending is unexpected and you will be surprised I know I was when I first read it. The story has a twisted ending its defiantly unexpected. In the end, though it was a good ending. Somewhat left me dissapointed with the ending but I guess all stories can't end the way you want them to. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars because I'm not really a book person. I did have to read it for an assignment and our class read it together but it truly is an amazing book. I recommend it to anyone looking for a suspenseful story full of surprises. In my opinion, it is the best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    You might have to read it a couple of times.

    The first time I read this book, sometime between grades seven and eight, I was very angry at how Cormier chose to end the book. The second time around, I understood it more. The third time, I actually liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Best Book Ever!!:)

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I am a 7th girl and thought it was amzing. I was amazed at how he took something so simple as a chocolate sale and turned it into a masterpiece. The ending I actually like because it was unpredicted and that's what made it good. I recomned this book, not to everyone, but i definitly enjoyed reading it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10