Customer Reviews for

The Chocolate War

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The chocolate War

This book is a very signifacint book. It has many twist and turns to it,and it like it a lot. It has an amazing plot to it too that is very original. The title of the book is just amazing to. The chocolate war is a title that you could go many ways with. And when you ac...
This book is a very signifacint book. It has many twist and turns to it,and it like it a lot. It has an amazing plot to it too that is very original. The title of the book is just amazing to. The chocolate war is a title that you could go many ways with. And when you actually read it, it surprises you. I love this book and i think everyone should read it. Its an amazing book, that has a great plot. There are many twist and turns and at sometimes i was confused, but there was always a resonable explanation to it. And it was also easy to understand. So even when i didnt get it they would explain it later, and i thought that that was really nice.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Decent book, I didn't really like it.

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is an ok book. It is easy to follow, but the plot is not that good. I thought it was a boring book. Basically, the book is about a boy named Jerry Renault who plays football for Trinity High School. There is a group of boys called Th...
The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is an ok book. It is easy to follow, but the plot is not that good. I thought it was a boring book. Basically, the book is about a boy named Jerry Renault who plays football for Trinity High School. There is a group of boys called The Vigils, led by Archie Castillo, and they give assignments to people to cause destruction to Trinity. Things were going good in Jerry's life until he met the Vigils. Jerry's assignment was not to sell the chocolates for a few days at the annual Trinity chocolate sale. After his deadline is up he still refuses to sell the chocolates. He turns the whole school against him by doing this. This book has a little bit of violence in it. There are some gross parts and a lot of curse words. A couple reasons why I did not like the book was the author did not tell enough about the characters, so I could not really get into it. The settings at times were confusing, like they were in the wrong place for certain parts. I also did not really understand why he said some of the things he said. It is a decent book, pretty boring in my opinion. It needed to explain more things. Robert Cormier could have taken a few things out and the book would not have changed that much. A few things were just pointless to write. I would not recommend this book. It is an easy read but it is also a very boring read. It is hard to get into the book and want to read it. It did not matter how many times I forced myself to pick it up I just could not pick it up to read for fun.

posted by alewis25 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Ce290

    Jerry is a boy who goes t trinity high school and plays on the schools football team. Goober is a fried of Jerry who is also on the football team. Archie is the leader of a group of kids called the vigils. Brother Leon is the principle of Trinity High school.Brother Leon ¿I need your help Archie¿. Archie ¿my help?¿ ¿Leon didn¿t need Archie¿s help he needed help from the vigils¿. Archie ¿but how can I help¿. Leon ¿by getting behind the sale. As you said Archie twenty thousand boxes that¿s a lot of chocolates¿. Leon ¿the price is doubled to. Two dollars a box instead of one. This passage is important because it helps to understand the book. The vigils are the ones who are leading the chocolate sale and not Brother Leon. The vigils are a powerful group of kids. The vigils have a lot of influence on what goes on around the school. They gave an assignment to jerry to not sell the chocolates for ten days but on the eleventh day jerry still would not accept to sell the chocolate for the fundraiser. There are some points that I would disagree with in the book. Like when Brother Leon hit one of his students I would think he would get fired if he did that at a real school. There are some unusual ideas in this book as well. When Archie told goober to go and unscrew everything in the classroom would not usually happen. This book does not relate to me or anyone else that I know.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Kevin's review on The Chocolate War

    The book The chocolate war was a very interesting book. I had no clue they way the ending it was going to be. I personally got confused a little bit in the beginning to a whom was talking. The only place i got bored at was the beginning. There was not enough action for me. The book is not really a hard book to read not many big words. There is some weird spellings for names though like brother Jacques sounds like (when pronounced it sounds like Jock. This book is about a freshman guy named Jerry and his troubles through his freshman year for deciding not to participate in the annual chocolate sale.This starts out as a joke (made up by the vigils) not to take the chocolates from Mr Leon,but then he goes to far and causes everyone a great deal of pain. In the end some people would say he got what he deserved.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    THE CHOCOLATE WAR, REVIEW BY A SYRACUSIAN BOY :)

    I recommend this book ¿The Chocolate War¿ by Robert Cormier because it is a great novel about life as a high school teenager. The novel takes place in an old Catholic/Army school where characters Archie, Obie, Emile, goober, and Renault are involved in the conflict. The main conflict of the story is the boxes of chocolates Leon wants them to sell for Trinity (the school). Renault refuses to sell the chocolate which causes the school to take action; the Vigils and Archie to take action against Renault by forcing him to sell the chocolates using physical, mental, and verbal attacks.<BR/>Renault is the best character in the book because he has many different perspectives on life. His father became depressed causing him to have no one is his life to depend on. His mother died and he had no friends to support him. He doesn¿t want to be involved with anything at school; and, as a result, he doesn¿t have any friends.<BR/>Archie is the opposite of Renault because he is hungry for power, as Virgil president he is in charge of everything, including assigning jobs, selling chocolates, and torturing brothers. And every one is afraid of Archie because he is superior to all of the student body as the Virgil president.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    For the win (FTW)

    In this story there is a high school under the power of a gang called the Vigils. This gang does plot that attack mentally. One of the plots that do is undo the entire desk and classroom materials in a classroom so when you just touch it, it will all fall part. After that happen the teacher left the school. The way the vigils work is there are people in control that make the plans for some one to do. Before they carry out the plan they have to reach in a black box that has marbles in it if you pull a white you don¿t do and they guy that was picked has too. But if you pick up a black one the guy that made the plan has to do it himself. The leader of the Vigils is Carter the guy that makes the plans is Archie. That is the main people in this gang. During this book there is a big school chocolate sale going on and every one is in it The head master is out sick and a guy named Brother Leon is taking his place. Leon is a messed up guy that black mails people to do his doing for him, one point of the book he blackmails a 'A ' student to be the Treasurer for the Chocolate sale. The Vigils get in on this and help sale the chocolates when one of the guys in the vigils are not selling the chocolate because he just does not want to so a little war goes on. Archie make a big plan on how to sell and make Jerry the guy that is not selling look dumb and left out. Leon bumped up the prices because he took some money from the school and getting it back from the sales. Jerry gets attacked and his locket attacked because he is not selling. People call his home and just laugh and hang up over and over. The Whole book there is mind games going on between people. One of the Mind games is Obis showing up before the fight in the book and making Archie draw from the black box to get pay back but sadly dos not work because he pulls a white two times. Jerry dos not sell the stuff and gets a mind game going on with Leon and after a while it ends from him stop caring and being happy about the people that are selling. Carter takes a picture of Janze with a camera in the bathroom and Janze to get the picture but there is not picture because the camera had not film. Obie plays a mind game with Carter by having the meeting in the gym because he really hates the gym, because of the smell. Janze has one with Jerry by calling him gay and fairy but he was told what to say by Archie. This book is a good book it shows the stuff people go though at school some people know and shows how some people can be so corrupted. I really like this book and I think other people should check this out because you may learn something form this book. I liked how this book went but not the ending though but you can¿t get what you all ways want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    this is a good book

    Jerry Renault is a student at a prep school called Trinity High school. The first chapter he is dreaming of becoming a quarter back for is high school football team. There is a local school gang called the Vigils, a gang that doesn¿t really engage in violence but mentally harms kids that are not as strong and mentally able to stand up for themselves. The Vigils get a kick out of making fun of people that is the main propose of there gang which is lead by Archie Costello a senior at Trinity High. The vigils sale chocolate at the high school. Jerry new they do this chocolate saleing and his assignment was not to sale the chocolates. One day the vigils come to jerry for an assignment to sale chocolates, jerry says no during the chocolate sale roll call. He did this because there is a poster in his locker that states a comment (Do I dare disturb the universe). Brother Leon stood up to jerry and was outrage that he would say something like this after the 10-day period. A day goes by and jerry is asked to sell again and he still refuses. A couple of days go by and the sales go bad/the teacher brother Leon spent all the money on chocolates/and the vigils and brother Leon start to get more upset and worry that there chocolate saleing organization is done for good. The next day Archie and Leon sit down for a meeting. Archie accuses Leon of sabotaging the assignment. They come to a conclusion that to make jerry an outcast and to make the sales popular. All of a sudden the chocolates are saleing like crazy. While all this is happening the vigils are making jerry¿s life a living hell¿by doing pranks such as prank calls and taken his homework and messing up his locker and finally the vigils made his life such a living hell by getting a gang to beat jerry up after football practice. Finally at the end of the story the school has raffle tickets for a fight between Emile Janza the leader of the vigils and jerry and that turns in to a big disaster. I recommend this book to all students that have gone through stuff in there life. This review has been written by Pierre thank you for reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    The chocolate war

    Jerry Renault goes to Trinity High School. Trinity High is a private school for boys. He is trying out for freshman football. But other things are on his mind when he is playing. Not to long ago Jerry¿s mother died. Him and his dad are not really close like they were. There is a group of guys that are called ¿ The Vigils¿. They are secret group that runs the school and puts pranks on everyone. Archie is second in command of the Vigils, Carter is the leader but doesn¿t do much, and Obie is the secretary. The Vigils love freshman, so they can recruit them and make them do the pranks and they become one of the vigils. When Jerry was practicing on the field Archie and Obie was making a list of assignments for the new Vigils. They really like Jerry and his friend Goober, so they got the assignments. But Goober gets his first. Goober has to unscrew everything in a classroom. Then Jerry gets his, which is to not sell the chocolates. Which brings us to brother Leon. Brother Leon is a teacher, and in control of the school. Brother Leon wants to sell even more chocolates this year. Jerry¿s assignment was only to last for up to 10 days, but he decided not to sell the chocolates on the 11th day. The Vigils found out that Jerry wasn¿t doing what they wanted him to do. So they took drastic measures to fixing him. Then Archie began taunting a guy named Emile Janze. Emile is the meanest guy in the school he loves to beat up kids. Archie wanted Emile to beat up Jerry to make him sell the chocolates. Brother Leon new what was going down, but he wanted his chocolates sold at any cost. But nobody new that Brother Leon took money from the school and didn¿t tell. He new that the chocolate sell wasn¿t doing well, so he told the Vigils to do what they want. Things lead to one another and something bad happened. I really like this book it keeps you on your feet. It¿s hard to get into at first but once you¿re in your stuck till the end. I think that you will like this book as much as I do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    The Chocolate War

    Jerry Renault is a freshman that is trying out for the football team. Jerry Renault has one friend, and his name is Obie. Jerry Renault and his dad don¿t get along that much any more, because his mom just died. Archie Costello is a mean heartless senior who runs a gang, The Vigils. Archie Costello passes out assignments to chosen people. Archie¿s buddy Carter helps Decide who should get the assignments. Brother Leon is a staff member at the all boys¿ school that Jerry Renault and Archie Costello go to. Brother Leon is a cruel, and mean teacher at Trinity. For instance there is this kid who has never gotten an F on anything in his live. Brother Leon gave this kid his first F and only gave it to him because he wanted information out of the kid. Brother Leon also lies and steals. Brother Leon stole money from the school to buy the chocolate for the chocolate sale. Jerry Renault gets assigned an assignment from Archie Costello. Jerry¿s assignment was to not sell the chocolates at first. After the assignment was over Jerry Renault still refused to take the chocolates. After Jerry Renault refused the chocolates some things started to happen to him. When Jerry Renault did not take the box of chocolates everybody at his school thought it was unfair. So The Vigils decided to help out with the chocolate sale. The Vigils went in big groups to sell boxes and boxes of chocolates. This book has a few assignments that were given out. The book also has many twists and turns. I thought the book was kind of slow at the beginning but then it was pretty good in the middle. I was very surprised at the way the book ended. I wish this book had ended differently. Over all I enjoyed reading ¿The Chocolate War,¿ and I would definitely recommend this book to other people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Hello

    The story takes place at a private school named Trinity High School. It is an all boys¿ school. The main character of the story is Jerry. Jerry is a freshman football player. He is trying to go out for quarterback but the coach does not thinks he is the guy for it. Goober is his only friend and he plays football with him. Brother Leon is a teacher that is a corrupt person that does not like the kids. The Vigils are a gang at Trinity High Schools that is lead by Archie. The president of the vigils was Charter he sets up everything for them. The black box is a box that has all white marbles and one black one. If you pull the black one you have to do something. The vigils also give out assignments to all the freshmen and they have to do it or else. Brother Leon set up the chocolate sales he borrowed money that he was not suppose to. Ever kid has to sell 50 boxes each. The Vigils give Jerry an assignment to not sell the chocolate for ten days. After the ten days was up he still did not sell. So the other kids decided they were not selling the chocolate either. Goober starts to sell then he stops to support his friend, Jerry. The Vigils start harassing Jerry for not selling the chocolate. They do that by destroying a poster in his locker, cutting his shoes into pieces. Then at football practice he got hit from behind and got hit in the kidneys. In the classroom this artwork got destroyed. One day after footballs practice Jerry was walking. A kid named Emile Janza stopped him and started talking to him. Suddenly four boys jumped out of the bushes and started beating him up. Then they took off. The Vigils did not want Jerry to make them look like fools so they took the chocolate sales into there own hands. They had people start selling the chocolates so all the chocolates got sold and they did. Archie set up a fight for Jerry and Emile Janza to get even. The fight did not turn out how it was suppose to. Read the book to find out what happens at the end. I thought the book was ok, at times it was slow but it picks up at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    The Chocolate War

    I am a junior at Clinton-Massie High School. For my English II Class i was to choice an independent novel that had to do with bullying and i chose the Chocolate war. This book was an alright book. It goes good with the theme of bullying. Its kind of confusing at the begaining of the book cause it seems to go back-n-forth like it's a flash back, but you aventualy catch on to what is goimg on. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to be on their toes while reading. Cause it WiLL keep you on your toes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    I have not finished it

    At school we are reading this book and so far it is prety good altough i can not say it is the best book ever but it is a prety good book and in our reading group we answer questions about th book and have a discusion about it.

    I am only ten years old so I have not read alot of books but this is definetly not the worst or best book i have ever read but I have not even finished the book so i really can not be a good judge if you ask me but I assure you this is not the worst book ever. It is actually really cool you just might want to know what some words in the book mean otherwise you will be bewildered.

    So i recomend reading it and maybe think about the first sentence of the first chapter THEY MURDED HIM so really atleast read through the third chapter in conclusion this book is pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    The story begins with with Jerry the main character trying out f

    The story begins with with Jerry the main character trying out for football. Well, he gets trampled by everyone and after practice he throws up in the school bath room. The school Jerry goes to is an all boys catholic school. The story now goes to Brother Leon, the sadistic teacher. This year he has ordered twice as many chocolates than last year, and has tolled Archie, a big member of the Vigils, to help him sell the chocolates. On the first day of the chocolate sales, Jerry refuses to sell any chocolates. After a few days of Jerry refusing to sell chocolate. The other students start two look up to Jerry and start to refuse to sell chocolates. Then when the chocolate sale narrows down. Brother Leon tells Archie to take control and make everyone sell chocolates again. Archie and the Vigils scare everyone into selling chocolates again buy threatening them. The only person that doesn't give in is Jerry. For doing that, he gets bullied constantly. When the chocolate sale finishes, all of the chocolate have bin sold except for the 50 boxes that Jerry was suppose to sell. Archie gets Jerry to fight Janza the big bully for revenge. The way the fight works is that students will write on a slip of paper of how and who gets hit, and then put the slip in a bin and then the slips get randomly drawn. Both Jerry and Janza get to throw some punches, but when Janza is ordered to punch Jerry in the crotch, Jerry blocks the blow. Then Janza starts to go wild on Jerry, Jerry only manages to get one more punch on Janza before he blacks out. The fight ends with Jerry in and ambulance going to a hospital.

    I'm going to start off by talking about the things that I don't like about The Chocolate War. First the teachers in the school aren't the best to teach. Some of them have low self-esteam and the other half seem to have so much that they think that they can do whatever they like. Actually that is the only problem that I have with the book. I do like that there are real events that happen in the book that would happen in our school. For instance, when Jerry doesn't do what everyone is wanting him to do, he gets made fun of. Although in our school, the students would joke about it but in the novel every student takes it seriously. There aren't many things in the book to like or dislike, the book is more on the neutral side.

    I recommend &quot;The Chocolate War' to anyone looking for a good real life story. Mostly to teenagers going through a though time in high school. Just as something that they can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    the chocolate war

    Introduction
    Description The Chocolate War is a great book. It has a lot of twist and turns. It is amazing to see what ends u to be. As I said, it is a great book to read and I would read it again.
    and summary of main points
    The book The Chocolate War takes place in a Trinity High School. A boy named Jerry he a great life, before he meets the vigils. The vigils are a group of boys who give an assignment to the kids who do bad things. An if you do not do the assignment the something bad always happens.
    Evaluation
    At the trinity high school the always had a chocolate sale around the begging of the year and Jerry did not want to sell any. At the same time, the vigils told him he had to say no. When Jerry said no the teacher got mad even though he said they did not have to.
    Conclusion
    After the chocolate sell was over the had a fight out on the football field. It did not end up being one of the worst fights ever. Even the teachers could not help them. It was just out of hand.
    Your final review
    I think this book is a good book over all. It has a great ending, details and settings. I would read this book any day. It is a book I would chose to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    This is a must read book!

    Introduction; the Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is an excellent novel. It has many twist and turns.


    Description and summary of main points; It's about a freshman named Jerome E. Renalt, who attends an all boys school, named Trinity High.



    Evaluation; Jerry Renalt is a freshman trying out for the football team. Jerry Renalt has one friend and his name is Obie. Jerry Renalt and his dad don't know how to get alone much any more, after his mother died. The Vigils pretty much run the school. Vigils give assignments. They give Jerry an assignment, he does the task but after the days are up he still doesn't sell the chocolates. The school is selling chocolates; each kid has to sell 50 boxes! When he still continues to not sell them then . . .


    Conclusion; A kid, Jerry Renalt is going to all boys high school. Jerry is a freshman during the mean time, his mother died. His family was really strong relationship. After his mom cancer, Jerry and his dad weren't in a deep relation, son and farther kind of thing.


    Your final review; The Chocolate War is a good book. Kids, adults, and anyone could read it. Simple but exciting story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Good book!

    war by: Robert Cormier Title of review: The chocolate war Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 Introduction A boy named Jerry faces problems at his school when the chocolate sell comes along with a group called the vigils. Description and summary of main points Jerry the main character is at his new school and while he has problems with school he deals with other problems including the chocolate sell but that wasn't his main problem because there was a group of mean kids that had jobs for every student there because Archie Castillo had the power to do so he did. Evaluation At the beginning things are going well for him until he meet the vigils. Then he has to do a job for them and if would to get got he would be in some serious trouble. Finally at the end Jerry faces Archie in a fight. Conclusion Jerry has a troubled life at trinity and things don't look up until the end of the book were Jerrhad enough. Your final review Jerry a student at trinity high school, has problems at his new school they are going to sell chocolates more than the ever selled before but jerry does not want to sell the chocolates. But later on he meets the vigils an evil gang that tells kids what to do and jerry is one of them. The leader is Archie Castillo a senior who is the smartest of all. Next jerry can't put up with him any more and jerry does something he will not likedoes not want to sell the chcolateand Jerry is one of theman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    The Chocolate War by Cormier, Robert My Review on the Chocolate War

    Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier was a very interesting novel on a boy named Jerry. He is a freshman football player that is struggling at the position of quarterback. Every play he is tossed like a rag. On top of being a freshman quarterback he also has problems he's dealing with. The Vigils.

    When a secret organization called the vigils challenges A freshman Jerry Renault and he refuses..Jerry Renault probably just made the biggest mistake of his high school career.
    Evaluation
    This book is a very interesting book more focused for all age groups due to the humor and situations that Jerry gets put in.

    The Chocolate War is truly a great book and it can be read enjoyed in all age groups. It's a very good book and I really enjoyed it. Again I would highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys humorous books and exciting instances. In my opinion this could be one of the best books I ever picked up.

    All audiences Old and Young should dive in on Trinity's exciting chocolate sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    How Chocolate Goes A Long Way

    Robert Cormier is a teen drama icon. It mostly involves around one thing. "Do I dare disturb the universe?" This is mentioned many times in the book, as well as a key sentence for this novel. All of this suspense, drama, and hilarious moments are just involved around a chocolate sale. This book really was one of the first where I really thought about the subject. Chocolate War was made by Robert Cormier (I Am The Cheese, Fade). It is a young adult novel, with a genre of adventure/drama realistic fiction. It is very believable in so many ways, from the way Trinity is organized to the way the chocolate sale ended up. It is published by Knopf Books. With his mother dead, and worrying about having his dad's life (not doing much: work, dinner, bed) and the fact he might not get a girl, Jerry tries out for the football team. At that time, Archie is planning assignments. These are just a way for the Vigils (a group who basically runs the whole school, which he is the leader) to embarrass all the kids with tragic assignments. Asking Jerry to not sell chocolates for the chocolate sale for 10 days, he still doesn't sell them. Disobeying the rules Archie tries in the story to get back at him, even if it risks killing him. I think the plot is introduced really well in the story, and it gets even more suspending every chapter. The characters really strengthen the story and help the plot really well. The theme really is mentioned many times, and it can really get you thinking. The drama is very suspenseful and the adventure is really mind-bending. It doesn't really give us a setting, other than it being involved around Trinity High. It achieves its goals other than the cuss words and can get the slightest person confused too easily. I really enjoyed this book. After reading this book I am definitely reading others by him. The ending really leaves you with a blank spot in your head, and it really is supposed to do that. I recommend this for the 13 - 17 year olds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    must read

    Introduction
    Jerry was a fourteen year old freshman at a private school, who had a battle against the whole school. The school had an annual chocolate sale to raise money. This year each student had to sell double. This was very important to the people in charge of the school.

    Description and summary of main points
    Jerry had to sell chocolate and he says no every time they asked. The Vigils, a secret society within the school gave him an assignment to refuse to sell the chocolates.

    Evaluation

    The chocolate war is a great book for anyone. It's a thriller it keeps you on your toes and makes you never put it down. There is a movie to the chocolate war but I recommend the book instead of the movie.
    In this book the charters used real life language. There is constant conflict between the vigils and jerry.

    Conclusion
    Anyone would love this movie I do highly recommend this book! I read this book last year and I still love it.

    Your final review
    I have read this book over a year ago and I still remember just about everything.
    This story will draw your attention and you will really like, enjoy, remember and love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    it is an ok book

    the chocolate war is an ok book and it exposes how the world really is. jerry renualt goes to an all boy school set in the sixties called trinity but it is runned by a vicious and cruel gang called the vigils. when jerry gets an assignment from the vigils to not accept to sell chocolates which is labeled a trinity tradition for ten days but he continues to decline them which archie the evil assigner of the vigils takes it as a threat and every acts with the vigils because they are all scared of the vigils and theyall turn against him because he "dared to disturb the universe". this book has an appeal that you just need to know how it ends. the bad thing is that it makes you think this is how the world is for real which is sad because it tells you that its not always ok to be yourself. i recommend that you check it out it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    ok

    The story takes place in a private boys school called Trinity. Jerry is a freshman that just arrived at Trinity. He goes out for the football team as the position of quarterback however he is pretty small so he will be taking a beating at practices. There is a man at Trinity named, Archie Costello he is the leader of a secret organization called the Vigils. Ever year at Trinity they sell chocolates for a fundraiser. However this year Brother Leon a teacher at Trinity and also the man in charge of the chocolate sale decided to use money he was not supposed to too buy the chocolates. So since he did that he made all the students at Trinity had to sell twice as many boxes of chocolates for twice the price as they did last year. None of the students at Trinity where very pleased with that. The Vigils are a secret organization at Trinity. The president of the vigils is Carter however he is not the leader. The leader of the vigils is Archie Costello. He hands out the assignments. Assignments are quests given to freshman at Trinity. Goober is Jerry¿s only friend at Trinity he got his assignment from the Vigils and it was to take apart all of the desks in classroom. Goober was having a lot of trouble taking the desks apart so some other Vigil members came in to help him. Then Jerry got his assignment and it was to say no to Brother Leon when he asks him to sell the chocolates. Jerry is supposed to take the chocolates on the eleventh day but for some reason he still said no. Brother Leon was getting very angry with Archie because Jerry was not selling the chocolates. He told Archie that Jerry was defying the Vigils and that made Archie very upset. Archie gave Jerry a new assignment and that was to sell the chocolates. However Jerry still refused to sell the chocolates and this really infuriated Archie so the Vigils started to prank call Jerry and mess with all of his stuff at school, they even blind sided him in football practice. Then this jerk of a kid named Janza jumped Jerry after school. Then Archie set up a fight between Jerry and Janza. This is a different type of fight it goes punch for punch. Over all I thought this book was not bad. There where a few parts that where just really boring and slow. However the rest of the book was very interesting, and it kept me on the edge of my seat for the rest of the time I was reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Brandon Bunch at Lake Havasu Highschool

    Jerry Renault, the main character is a freshmen at Trinity High School, an all boys prep school. In the beginning he is trying out for quarter back for the freshmen football team. He soon finds out the secret world of the Vigils (an unspoken-of school gang) when he is given an ¿assignment¿. He is to not sell chocolates in the annual school chocolate sale for 10 days. The chocolate sale is a Trinity tradition and every boy is supposed to sell 50 boxes of chocolates and its very important to do so. He completes the assignment even with all the pressure to sell them. However when the 10 days are up and he is supposed to sell chocolates, he chooses not to. This brings on the wrath of the Vigils because he is going against the order to sell the chocolates. In a heart beat the whole school is turned against him except for his only friend is Goober, a fellow freshmen and football player, who is trying to convince him to sell the chocolates. Jerry¿s locker and everything in it is ruined and he is even jumped by a bully named Emile Janza and his dirty friends. In the end Archie sets up a raffle/boxing match between Jerry and Emile. Students buy raffle tickets and write down a punch and their name on the ticket and the student¿s blow that ends the fight wins a prize. Well things don¿t exactly turn out as planned but you will have to read the book to find out what happens. The Chocolate War is a very good book that shows the reality of human nature. The way the book is written is at a boy¿s point of view so some girls may not like it. I however liked it very much and I recommend this book to anybody to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3