BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(799)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1353 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 68
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Kuddos to Nicholas Sparks for creating real-life romances. As in life, his romances never run smoothly but you know what TRUE LOVE is.

    "The Choice" was the first book by Nicholas Sparks I ever "read" and I am so glad I did it in audio. Holter Graham is a marvelous narrator and the characters come to life with individual personalities and you feel as though you are living the story. The adventure begins with Travis and Gabby's rocky and hilarious courtship. Afterwhich they are confronted with the hardest decision a marriage will ever face. The author also illustrates how living through this situation affects the people around them. To paraphrase Mr. Sparks "what would YOU do in name of love?" This is a humorous, touching and thought provoking love story. The subject matter of their life altering decision is something all couples should address. I hope with the same results of Travis and Gabby. I highly recommend the audio version but the printed book was also a good read. I am a devoted Nicholas Sparks fan. I may not always like the endings, but he is a true romantic. Bravo, and keep up the wonderful work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My favorite!

    Light hearted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best

    This was by far one of my 2 favorite books from Nicholas Sparks!! The story of Gabby and Travis is so touching because the whole time you feel their true love for each other. And when their tragedy is revealed, it was so easy to put myself in the shoes of Travis and the decision he had to endure. A definate permanant book in my library to read over and over and over when I need something to kill time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book

    Nicholas Sparks "The Choice" is an awesome book, with an unexpected twist that makes you think, "What would I do if this were me?" I definitely shed some tears thinking about what I would do. Sparks writes the best romance novels, and this one fits right in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Quick Read

    Although a quick read, all characters' personalities were spelled out. Sometimes I lost track of the time frame but it quickly became clear where we were in the story. I didn't understand "the choice" until the very end. It is a thought provoking ending and, I think, creates a good topic of discussion. I enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    boring

    Characters are shallow and predictable, as is the story line. Why do people read this guy? Tedious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    THE BEST!!!

    In my opinion, The Choice has been the best Nicholas Sparks book I have read. The plot was great, and so were the characters. I would definitely recommend The Choice to any romance book lover!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i loved travis and gabby

    i cried for a whole hour!!!! straight..... my fav nick sparks book of all time!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    SOMETHING IS MISSING

    BOY MEETS GIRL, uh, end of story. I question the people that rate such a boring, dull, mindless book with 4+ stars unless of course they are a teenager. There are so many great love stories that are written well, but they would require some form of focus, and intellect to read them.
    Sorry..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book has a lot of pages with very little story. The characters are not very believable which makes the story seem silly and fluffy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Awsome

    Wonderful story of true love at its finest mr. Sparks hands down is one of my top ten authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Awesome!!

    Romance at its best with a huge twist!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Amazing

    This is my favorite book by Nicholas Sparks, I was ecstatic when I heard it was going to be put in production for a movie. I would definately recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Typical Nicholas Sparks book

    Not much surprise here. Got pretty boring towards the middle of the book. Left me disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Okay

    I love nicholas sparks but this book was not like the ithers by him that ive read. It took a LONG time to get to the point and there wasnt any action the whole book drags on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Amazing

    Couldn't stop reading it. It definitely is a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Wow

    I was crying!!!!!!!!!!!! Me and my sister!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    The choice!!

    Their is this group of kids and they are building a spa aand they

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Amazing

    I just love nicholas sparks he is such amazing writer just funished the book it was amazing i just love a great love story so worth to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1353 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 68