Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(798)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    SO SAD!

    I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    boring

    Characters are shallow and predictable, as is the story line. Why do people read this guy? Tedious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    SOMETHING IS MISSING

    BOY MEETS GIRL, uh, end of story. I question the people that rate such a boring, dull, mindless book with 4+ stars unless of course they are a teenager. There are so many great love stories that are written well, but they would require some form of focus, and intellect to read them.
    Sorry..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book has a lot of pages with very little story. The characters are not very believable which makes the story seem silly and fluffy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    kupcake

    Thanks for telling me the story people.....never mind ill get it any way

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Quick Question

    Does this book have any dirty parts?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    I hate Nicholas Sparks

    Can this man write a novel that doesn't end in complete and utter tragedy??

    I will NEVER read another book by him!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    He is good but not for this book

    I usually love Sparks books but when i got into this one it just kinda seemed boring to me, by the time i was in the middle of the book, nothing really happened and by part 2 i just wanted to put the book down and be donw with it. so i was not very happy with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    What a Ridiculous Way to Use a Poor Tree!

    Of this book, characters and plot, this reader says: "Lawd, Send Help!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    Disappointing

    The first half of this book held my interest. The second half was boring as the climax happens in the middle of the book. There is an attempt to create another climactic ending, but I feel it wasn't enough. The love story itself is okay. The ending is very unbelievable. It has a hollywoodish ending, which is very unfortunate. I was looking forward to completing this book so I can move onto something else. Overall, it's an easy read, with s sketchy plot and hollywoodish ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Disappointing book

    I must agree with the last 2 people who have posted reviews about this book. It was a waste of time reading it. Nicholas Sparks made such lengthy description of every small thing but despite putting so much emphasis on how the love between the 2 characters developed, I didn't find or feel the chemistry. The dramatization was just too forced and there wasn't any fluidity in the story. When I finished reading this book, I just tossed it on my side table and feeling that I have wasted my time reading a nonsense book when I could have spent my time reading a more worthwhile one. If I had the choice... I wouldn't have purchased this book. Too bad I lost the receipt or I could have returned it in an impulse. Nicholas Sparks can do better than this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Soppy Soap Opera

    This book read like a soppy soap opera with cliched descriptions that made me cringe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3