Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(805)

4 Star

(297)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Okay

    I love nicholas sparks but this book was not like the ithers by him that ive read. It took a LONG time to get to the point and there wasnt any action the whole book drags on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    zzzzz

    ok..i have only read one other book by sparks..i didnt like eathier..as for this book..it was boring..very boring..i finished..but i was never really into it..i just could not feel what they were feeling. i like to put myself there..
    it was not a good read :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Ok!

    My favorite book ta he has wrote is the last song and ive watched the movie a million times!!!!!!!:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing+amazing...

    This+was+a+pretty+bland+and+unimpressive+novel.+Underdeveloped+characters+and+a+boring+plot+are+all+you%27ll+find+here.+Good+read+for+people+who+don%27t+like+to+think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    No Spark (pun intended)

    So far, my least favorite from Nicholas Sparks. I don't really even know what went wrong but just that I never really got that into it. Part of it may have been that I didn't care much for the characters, particularly the female lead Gabby. I kept wanting to like her but felt I wasn't given enough time to really invest in her. I liked Travis (the male lead) but sadly I liked his sister more. The whole book felt sort of choppy, like Sparks' could have taken the story several different ways but decided on one direction not giving the audience enough time to develop enough interest to care etiher way.

    If you're looking to read Nicholas Sparks there are many other great books to chose from, "The Choice" would not be on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick Read

    I'm not sure the end was fitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glad it was short

    This was not a great book; lacked character development and was just not well written. Did not capture my attention, although I'm glad it was short enough so I didn't feel I invested too much time in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Don't buy the abridged version.

    I keep feeling that I must have missed a better book by ordering the abridged version just because it was on sale. But nothing in what I heard makes me want to go get the full version either. The characters are one dimensional, but the author tries to generate compassion for them by making their circumstances overly dramatic. The theme of the entire book boils down to one question which the main character asks himself and everyone around him over and over. I won't spoil things by stating the question. It could legitimately be the theme for a good book, but because there is no complexity to the characters they seem cartoon-like, and frankly I didn't care about the answer to his question. If there really is a better book in the unabridged version, then the author never should have approved the abridgement. I wasted several hours that could have been spent on a much better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    not one of sparks best

    i normally love all of nicolas sparks books, but i had a hard time enjoying this one. i did read it in about 2 days,but im pretty sure it was only just to get over with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Typical and Boring

    I felt like I had to keep looking at the author's name to make sure I did not have a D. Steele/Nora Roberts type book. BORING and predictable. My high school daughter could have written this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    not his best

    Has anyone else become increasingly disappointed with Nicholas Sparks' novels? I used to search bookstores for new titles, but after reading this one I had to ask myself why. I re-read 'A Walk to Remember' and I couldn't believe these two books were written by the same person...I was thrilled to find that his earlier novels were just as charming and captivating as I remember. I miss feeling that way about his books. For a new reader, check out his earlier books - they are much better than his recent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Not impressive

    This story was too typical. It was a good read, but I'm not recommending it at the top of a reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    an overall disappointment

    I was rather disappointed in nicholas sparks latest novel The Choice. I was a huge fan of his prior books but lately I have not been impressed. This book seemed to me to be a twisted less impressive version of The Notebook where two guys are in love with a girl and she has to choose between the boyfriend or her true love, then she gets injured 'in this case a coma but seems similar to allies loss of memory in The Notebook' I have not been impressed by any of his recent books but hopefully his next one will be a success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book very quickly, but was not fully engaged. The plot is contrived and the characters are not that interesting. At times I knew the author was trying to move readers but the emotional connection was jsut missing. Skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am obviously in the minority here, and hate to sound snobbish, but I can't get enthused about Nicholas Sparks' novels. His writing seems elementary to me, and too simplistic. And the story lines are always predictable, which drives me nuts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Disappointing

    I LOVE all his books. I have all of them, but this one was terrible. Did not care for it. Was a nice story, but could of been written all in one chapter. Couldn't get interested in it. Took me 2 weeks to finish it. Others took a day or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Sucks

    Ive read a good number of his books but this one in no way compares to the previous. Passion is missing and the love story is pretty blah maybe its just because I work in a medical setting I dunno know but this in no way compares to the notebook or the wedding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4