Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(805)

4 Star

(297)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Not my favoite

    This is my least favorite book by nicholas sparks. Part one is amazing with all the details. Part two just felt rushed. Still a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Typical Nicholas Sparks book

    Not much surprise here. Got pretty boring towards the middle of the book. Left me disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Very well written like all his books but the second half was so

    Very well written like all his books but the second half was so hard for me to read. It just felt like it drew on and was almost boring. But still a very very good story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Usual Nicholas Sparks writing

    Predictable writing for Sparks Just OK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    First Sparks book that I've read

    Simple yet the story flourished in the end. I'm not a cry baby but the emotions really flowed out of the pages. Sparks know how to tickle heartstrings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    This is the third Nicholas Sparks' book I've read, and it's quit

    This is the third Nicholas Sparks' book I've read, and it's quite disappointing. I guess his formula is to throw you off from the beginning so that the ending presents itself as a twist in the book. I think this plot is predictable so it doesn't have a strong "wow" factor by the time you finish. I'm not as crazy about the couple, maybe he doesn't develop their love for each other as well in comparison to his other books, but I feel like something's lacking from this one. It could also be how fast they fall for each other; it makes this story no different from other popular chicklit novels out there. I doubt I would remember this months from now, and I wouldn't consider this one of his best. On the plus side, it was an easy read and I didn't need a box of tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    ok

    I enjoy reading Nicholas Sparks books but, this one wasn't that great. Half way through the book it turns into a completely different story almost like 2 books in one. It was kind of boring and very short. I appreciated the way it ended and like the whole concept of the story through.... Almost a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Love Nicholas Sparks

    Great book, could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    okay book

    I just thought this book was not that good. It was an average love story. There was nothing that made this a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Exhilerating, then went off course.

    I loved the first half of the book, but I kind of wish the second part didn't drag for so long. I also believe the title should have been different, being that it wasn't really the premise of the entire book. Agqain, great first half, dragging second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A predicable, very pleasant story

    For me this is a predictable, although enjoyable story. I really enjoyed the writer's style of telling the story and his ability to keep me thinking as to what would happen next. There was a bit of a twist at the end which is more up-beat than his usual endings. Then the Epilogue came and turned it all around again.

    It is an easy read, but still a book you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A predicable, very pleasant story

    For me this is a predictable, although enjoyable story. I really enjoyed the writer's style of telling the story and his ability to keep me thinking as to what would happen next. There was a bit of a twist at the end which is more up-beat than his usual endings. Then the Epilogue came and turned it all around again.

    It is an easy read but its still a book you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Die Hard Nicholas Sparks reader

    I've read almost everything written by Nicholas Sparks and most of the books I finish in a day. However, this one was boring and I found myself skipping parts of the book because it was nonsense material. This is the frist book of Spark's that I have felt this way. I love all the other books!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Seems something is missing

    The characters are underdeveloped. The writing seems rushed. Although it's an interesting topic and a good idea to write about, the way it is written does not make the story worthy of being read. It starts and ends on a completely different spectrum. Reading it felt like a waste of time, I was mindless the whole time I was reading it. It's a love story that doesn't show the actual feeling of love so it's pointless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Book not my favorite of Nicholas Sparks

    It started out really good then jumped to far into the future. Thought it was really hard to stay connected to the characters in the future. Good book I will pass it on to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Just OK

    This book of Nicholas Sparks is probably his worst. By worst I mean, far from his best. Almost all his other books have been made into movies, this has not and for good reason. It was so boring. The plot was old and dull, stuck up girl committed to a relationship falls for nice guy neighbor, dumps her boyfriend, and her and the neighbor live happily ever after. If you are looking for fluff, this is the book to read. If you are looking for more, try one of his other books, or another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Typical romance novel taken up a notch with a little mystery.

    Although this is a normal romance with boy meets girl, it is splashed with intrigue. Although the keep you guessing parts are not huge drama, they still keep the reader on edge thinking things are going one way, when in fact they go another. Each main character has a huge choice to make in this book and you really don't know until the end of each section which they will choose. Very vivid descriptions of characters and place, you feel like you are there with them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable, predictable, predictable...!

    I don't know about you, but it seems like Nicholas Sparks likes to always create the same characters just in different towns with different names. This book had some good points, but overall I regretted spending money on it. The plot was predictable and superficial which is more than what I can say about the writing style. I could care less about what happened to the characters because they seemed soo unrealistic. The only character I liked in the book was the sister. Maybe he wrote this book hoping for another movie deal? This will be the last time I will read a Nicholas Sparks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    This one is very typical Nick Sparks but I enjoyed it

    Good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    different

    This is one of the very first book I read from Nicholas Spark. I've heard that a lot of his books are tragedy books with very sad endings, so, I never really cared to pick one up and read it. But, for some reason, I don't know what it is about this book that caught my attention. I'm glad that I read this book, though. It is definitely different from most of the books that I'm used to but overall, this book is ok. The ending was different. Totally took me by surprised. Although, I'm not too big of his writing style. Too much details. Overwhelming details that I just feel isn't really important and most of the time, I just wish he comes back already to the NOW and get moving on with the story. He leaves you hanging in your seat, though. He does that a lot, actually. Just when you think he's gonna tell you what's gonna happen, he doesn't! Then he goes on to talking about more un-important details before he comes back to the NOW and finish what he left behind. Hope that makes sense? Anyway, I wouldn't say I won't buy anymore of his books but I'm not also saying I will. I guess it just depends on my mood. Good luck with the book, though. Still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7