Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(788)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You are going to cry!

    I absolutely love this author. I was complety captivated in this book,
    BUT, it also frustated the heck out of me. "The Choice" is not the choice we think it is. Part one felt like it was a whole different book from part 2, but it works. Sad, happy, relieved are just a few of the emotions that you will feel.
    It is a beautiful love story. I literally gave my husband a big kiss when he got home because it reminds you that love is so beautiful and so fragile. Such a great read.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Love This Book

    This is truely a good rainy day read. I could not put it down I read the entire thing in a day and a half. The characters just drew me in. I found myself really pulling for the couple in the book. Just when I thought I knew what was going happen, Sparks would surpise me. There were moments I laughed out loud and momoments when I tought I was going to cry. This novel is moving and entertaining. A must read for any Nicholas Sparks fan!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great read

    When I began to read this book I wanted to be trancended into something beautiful. I had read Dear John and was ready for a new tear drooper. I was ready for the comedic side and that sharp point sadness of all of his books. I began to read "The Choice" and it was honestly so lovely. The romance that Travis has and his stubborness to attract his neighbor. Of course there are some sad parts...like in all of Sparks books but one thing that I loved was the ending it was a happy ending. That was rare for me to see that in Sparks writing. I cried, smiled, laughed, hoped, and cried some more. The Choice will take you on an emotional rollercoaster that you will never forget. It will make you realize how grateful you are and that at any moment your happiness can be ripped apart from you at any second. So grab a copy and go read it for yourself. I am crossing my fingers for a mobie adaptation. So what will be your choice to read the novel or ignore this review?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite Nicholas Sparks book.

    "The Choice" by Nicholas Sparks was disappointing compared to some of his other work. It was something that I do not regret reading, however it is not something that I will remember and recommend as a first choice for others.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My favorite!

    Light hearted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book

    Nicholas Sparks "The Choice" is an awesome book, with an unexpected twist that makes you think, "What would I do if this were me?" I definitely shed some tears thinking about what I would do. Sparks writes the best romance novels, and this one fits right in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Your typical Nicholas Sparks

    Just like all Nicholas Sparks books this will have you in tears as well as laughing throughout the entire book. Not one of his best in my opinion... I felt as though the story line lacked something. Not sure what, but something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Good read

    I like being able to relate to the places being in nc. I started to read it years ago & only made it thru a couple chapters because it is slow in the beginning. I started over & after i slowly made it past where i started the first time i finished it in a couple days. I like how the author explains how his characters feel, its like i am going thru it myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Recommended

    Classic Nicholas Sparks love story, tugs at your heartstrings without COMPLETELY ripping them out of your chest:)
    Great choice to read by the pool or at the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Definitely a Must Read!

    Such a wonderful story. Sparks loves to add the "I didn't see THAT coming"-twist and again, he doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    B,

    ?
    Ipyiimoo.
    ?kl
    Lion,.Mfj.M?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    This was a very good book. Easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great book

    The choice is one of those books that will change your perspective

    It is a book based onthe choices we all may have to make in life, and the love and faith one has within. Overall, the choices we have to make in life is not trajectory. The idealistic approach is to follow your heart.

    In conclusion, this bbook is an eye opener. I hope ypu enjoy this book. Moreover,the above indicates how i feel this book will impact other readers. Again , enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Really loved this book :)

    I loved this one, I'm a huge fan of cute romance books and Nicholas Sparks :) the ending of this book will shock you and it gets sad but great ending :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Good Book!

    Couldn't put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    So good

    Loveeeeee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was a great read! Love Sparks! True love is incredible - dreams do come true. Just need to learn to have faith & trust in God. Would recommend reading this but have kleenex close

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    The choice

    This book was wonderful! It was a nicholas sparks expected treat! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Another great book

    Love his writing style and story telling abilities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Another one that is hard to put down.

    Have a box of tissue close by while reading this one. I enjoyed reading it and felt like I was there with the characters, but wouldn't want to read it again because of how sad it was. Once you realize what the choice is I just had to keep reading to see what he decided, and went back and forth myself as to what he should do, but in the end I'm very glad he made the choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15