Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(792)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 15
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Lite Read

    This is a small book that you can read in a short time and enjoy. I liked it for what it was, just a bit of an escape for a while. I would recommend for a womens book club, plenty to talk about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A Good Read

    Another great story by Nicholas Sparks. Relationships, love, sorrow, loss. A great reflective read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    My first Nicholas Sparks book didn't disappoint...

    The storyline was very believable. Sparks' descriptive writing style made me feel as if the characters were people I knew personally and the location was somewhere I had visited. Throughout the book, I found myself acting as a casting director on a movie set...picking who would be appropriate for which roles, if this were to make it to the big screen. I am very excited to start my next Nicholas Sparks book. "The Choice" doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    Good choice!

    This is a typical Nicholas Sparks' novel. I was moved to tears while reading this book and found myself praying that all would be well in the end. Sparks has a gift for reaching the emotions while still providing an interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Great book!

    Nicholas Sparks has a realistic romance to his writing in every book and this book is no exception. Chance,fate,destiny whatever you want to call it brings the two main characters together. Both are happy with their current relationship status, so they think. But after several occasions they are left questioning their own feelings and wants in life. This book is a great rainy day read, with the details of the beautiful North Carolina coast you will feel like you are there on the beaches rather then inside on a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    VERY GOOD

    I THOUGHT THIS BOOK WAS VERY CUTE AND ROMANTIC. I LOVE THE CHARACTERS AND PLOT OF THE STORY IT IS A VERY TOUCHING STORY I RECOMMEND IT TO PEOPLE THAT LIKE A GOOD LOVE STORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read!

    I finished this in one weekend. You will fall in love with the characters and won't be able to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice rainy day book

    I enjoyed it and found myself going to the store to pick up the sequel afterwards. I wanted to know what happened with the characters next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Good book!

    I was prepared for... sadness....... Nicholas Sparks usual.......but this book is different. This is a story of love, identity, contemplation, and never giving up. I found the story compelling. It's a fast read and certainly not boring. Story telling that keeps me interested is what I look for in a book. I don't usually buy Nicholas Sparks books.....but this one I will recommend, it has a great twist and could add a little happiness to any readers life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Choice

    This is a very good book It only lost me a couple of times in Part 2 of the book But over all it was WONDERFUL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I thought The Choice was an excellent novel. You could really understand the characters because of the slow development of Gabby and Travis' relationship. This made it feel like they were real people you could be friends with. It was really easy to follow due to the great amount of detail. This is an easy, fast read that is good for girls who would like an escape into a realistic story about true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Another great book by Sparks!

    A little slow but still a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SPARKS DOES IT AGAIN

    ONCE AGAIN, I WAS NOT LET DOWN BY SPARKS' COMPELLING LOVE STORY OF A YOUNG COUPLE WHO FALL IN LOVE OVER NIGHT. I LOVE THE WAY THE STORY IS PUT TOGETHER....TOWARDS THE END YOU ARE TOTALLY SURPRISED AT WHERE THEY ARE AT 10 YEARS LATER. IF YOU LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    One of the best books i've ever read!

    A really great book although the ending was kind of slow. It's cute how juvenille their crush on each other is, but so romantic at the same time. I got a clear picture of all the characters and events and enjoyed the suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    The Choice

    How far should a person go for love?<BR/> The way that love is portrayed in this novel is truly endearing and engaging. Being the romance buff that I am, I was mesmerized by the intense emotion that Nicholas Sparks delivered in his novel The Choice. The depiction of emotion in this book is incredible. From love to desperation, this book is filled with mixed emotions that beyond doubts one feels deep down in their hearts. Every page added to the overall themes, ¿How far should a person go in the name of love?¿and ¿Love can conquer all¿. <BR/>The protagonist Travis Parker is described as a captivating veterinarian who is too good to be true. He¿s sexy, accomplished, adventurous, but careless when it comes down to settling down and forming a family. His three best buddies from high school all seem to have what he does not, and that is a life-long partner, the woman that completes their lives in every way, shape or form. Travis never dwelled on this fact until Gabby Holland moved in the house next door. Gabby is a very successful, but a reluctant and attractive red-head with a set attitude of where hear life is headed. Even then it is not a big deal, until the day she comes over furiously claiming that his dog impregnated hers. From this point forward, they start spending time together while Gabby¿s boyfriend is at a convention. Young and true love blooms despite the obvious obstacles, and later on in the novel one of them will be faced with a heart-wrenching decision. <BR/>The setting is very germane to the development of the novel. Set in Beaufort, North Carolina where the weather is pleasant, there are many lakes and beaches where they spend time together and develop this bond that no longer can be broken by their own wills. Travis, being the adventurous character that he is, invites Gabby to experience life in a whole new different light. They go parasailing with Travis friends. Gabby is rather reluctant to the ideas presented by Travis, but she feels this attraction that is beyond her control. Her conscious tells her it¿s wrong, but her heart tells her to go for it. <BR/>On the other hand, Sparks way of controlling emotions and making the reader feel what the main characters are feeling, is the true reason why his novel a success. He has this magnificent ability to describe and assign a meaning to the word ¿love¿ that allows the reader to empathize with the protagonist, and keep on turning the page. His writing style is simple, but yet captivating in all the right areas. In all his novels that I have read so far he takes situations that happen often under the category of forbidden love and creates a breach that grows larger and larger where true love can find its way. He also uses an element of suspense. For example, when Gabby is force to chose between her boyfriend of four years or Travis that she has only known for a couple of days, part one of the book is over and the reader does not know her decision until the second chapter of part two.<BR/>Coupled with the novel is the inspiring theme ¿Love can conquer all¿. Just when Travis was losing all hope, he asked himself the question ¿How far should a person go for love?¿ Despite Gabby¿s previous wishes, he decides to hold on to the overall theme in the book. He feels that being able to see and speak to Gabby, even if she can¿t speak back, is better than losing her forever. The love he has for her is stronger than anything else in this novel and even stronger than him. <BR/>Over all, I applaud Nicho

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Hard Decisions...

    As a person who works in long term healthcare, this book struck a chord. A question I have asked myself numerous times was asked in this book. The story was relatable and real. Accidents happen, loved ones believe they are prepared when in the end...emotionally they may not be. Very good story, especially the internal conflict within Travis. I respect Nicholas Sparks for always touching some part of healthcare in his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Slow start but great finish

    I started reading this book about 3 months ago, and it took me forever to get through the first four chapters. Two days ago, I picked up the book, and finished it in less than 48 hours. The start is very very slow, but one you get into it, you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Good Read

    The Choice, as usual, was a good read. Nicholas Sparks has a way of letting you escape from reality. I love the way he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    It's a book!

    Hardcover books are better for coffee mugs and are great as a paperweight when there is a gentle breeze threatening to turn your office into a mess. Mr Sparks, or 'Sparky' even placed words in the book in case you want to cry. I will never understand why someone might purposely make their eyes water beyond cutting onions, but if using a book as a step stool just isn't enough for you, I suppose reading some of the words might be a change of pace. Heavily recommended as a door stop! Best doorstop ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    Good, but had a crappy ending. Enjoyed it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 15