Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(809)

4 Star

(297)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Nicholas Sparks does it again

I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes ...
I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

posted by 3318601 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

SO SAD!

I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disapp...
I loved the first half of the book. The second half was not so interesting. I read all those other reviews and felt what did I miss. It wasn't the sad part that I disliked but it just dragged on until he had a good ending. I usually love his books so I was really disappointed.

posted by Douglass-Debbie on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 809 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Nicholas Sparks does it again

    I picked up this book as something to read in my spare time, but it ended up gripping me for the two days it took to finish. It is the story of Gabby Holland and Travis Parker, two people destined to be together but are separated by heart-breaking choices. Sparks takes the reader through their meeting and falling in love, but Gabby has to choose between the boyfriend she's had for years and Travis, the man she's only known for three days. The story then leads to an even more unexpected choice that will bring you to tears. I recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and satisfying read.

    31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ!

    I fell in love with this book. Nicholas Sparks is such an amazing author that I feel the need too read every single one of his books. He captures the center on the book and makes it seem a hundred times better than what it really it. I cried towards the end of the book, I'd read it again if I wanted too. This books taught me many lessons, and the lesson is: Never give up, life is full of amazing wonders but the most important wonder is LOVE.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Great Tear Jerking Book!

    The book The Choice by Nicholas Sparks is a great love story about a set of new neighbors. They start out hating each other all because the pregnancy of a dog. They slowly fall in love with each other and become the best of friends. Later in the book they have a terrible car crash and are left with a life-changing decision.

    I loved this book because it gave me a different perspective on life. This book would be great to read if you enjoy love stories. Nicholas Sparks is an incredible writer and he manages to make his books extremely easy to understand and enjoy. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time reading this book and even had a few tears fall.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The summary on the inside cover tells you almost everything you

    The summary on the inside cover tells you almost everything you need to know about the plot. Travis Parker is a 32-year old bachelor that loves having his married friends over for cookouts. Gabby is the new neighbor who is new to town, has few friends, and wonders when her boyfriend Kevin is going to ask her to marry him. Gabby at first doesn' t like Travis. He seems like an insensitive neighbor. From the plot summary, you know they are going to marry, so the first two thirds of the book covers a couple of days that Gabby and Travis spend together while Kevin is out of town. They go parasailing with Travis's friends. They ride motorcycles. And they fall in love. Sparks writes in a way that keeps you turning the pages, but the first part of the book seemed overly long because you know they are going to get together. There really isn't any conflict except Gabby's doubts about her relationship with Kevin. Even that isn't as strong as it could have been. The boyfriend doesn't really stand a chance when it comes to the true love Gabby and Travis discover. As usual, Sparks creates a girl in Gabby that is, while not perfect, a girl you could imagine falling in love with. Travis has similar qualities. He is adventurous, a gentleman, and although a bachelor, is great with kids and hopes to have them someday.With the style of Nicholas Sparks you will grow to love the characters. It made me laugh,giggle,and cry. It reminded me of that 'falling in love feeling once again. Highly recommend it.  

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Excellent

    Loved the book. Story was interesting from start to finish and the ending brought tears to my eyes. Recommend it to anyone that likes Nicholas Sparks.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book.

    I borrowed this book from a friend, and I have no intention of giving it back. :) It was uplifting and inspirational. Personally, I predicted the ending but that didn't take away the impact of it at all. This book is amazing and I'd suggest it to everyone.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    This is truly amazing. A story I couldn't imagine I can live..but I will if it has to happen to me. The unconditional love Mr Sparks laid on the characters were unbelievable. It swept my heart away. The choice Travis has to make were tough. But in the name of love, he just made the best decision ever. This taught me how to listen to my heart and never lose hope and faith in GOD. He brings you all impossible things you least expect. It was a struggle to continue on his life, but he did it anyways. Raised their daughters as much as he could, with the help of family and friends, leaving them great hope for their mother to come back. I thought I lost Gabby's character in this novel, but Mr Sparks is wonderful. He loves keeping his reader in total awe as the story ends. Two thumbs up and would highly recommend!! My favorite so far, next is At First Sight.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Lasting Love

    Wonderful love story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    The Choice

    As always Nicholas Sparks outdid himself. I did get lost from the charge from past to present that happened a couple of times, but it was minor and I was able to catch on quickly. There are many choices made in this book, but the main choice is something no one would want to have or even think about. Even though a lot of choices are minor many can change your whole life and others rely on hope that something better will result. While possibly unrealistic in the outcome of the ending I am glad this hope fueled choice ended the way it did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Loved It!!!!

    This book is amazing! I must say that it is an emotional rollercoaster!! Dont stop reading you must read the epilogue!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Couldn't put it down :)

    Like always Nicholas's Sparks books never fail me. I fall in love with the characters and I always want more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    a very good read

    Nicholas sparks knows how to keep you coming back for more. Definately hard to put this book down. Would recommend everyone to read this. This is a 5 star book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Escape!

    Nicholas Sparks has done it again with this book. I enjoyed every bit of reading this. This novel seemed to be very realistic and there was tons of romantic moments. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Great love story!

    This is a story of two soulmates that fell in love. One of the best love stories you'll ever read. You can't imagine what love puts you through and this book helps you decide just how much you would do for love. I found it odd on the eve of my husband going into the hospital for a heart procedure. We have our living wills, but I would do the exact same thing as Travis. I've found my soulmate; and I can't ever imaging not having him in my life!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Kuddos to Nicholas Sparks for creating real-life romances. As in life, his romances never run smoothly but you know what TRUE LOVE is.

    "The Choice" was the first book by Nicholas Sparks I ever "read" and I am so glad I did it in audio. Holter Graham is a marvelous narrator and the characters come to life with individual personalities and you feel as though you are living the story. The adventure begins with Travis and Gabby's rocky and hilarious courtship. Afterwhich they are confronted with the hardest decision a marriage will ever face. The author also illustrates how living through this situation affects the people around them. To paraphrase Mr. Sparks "what would YOU do in name of love?" This is a humorous, touching and thought provoking love story. The subject matter of their life altering decision is something all couples should address. I hope with the same results of Travis and Gabby. I highly recommend the audio version but the printed book was also a good read. I am a devoted Nicholas Sparks fan. I may not always like the endings, but he is a true romantic. Bravo, and keep up the wonderful work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best

    This was by far one of my 2 favorite books from Nicholas Sparks!! The story of Gabby and Travis is so touching because the whole time you feel their true love for each other. And when their tragedy is revealed, it was so easy to put myself in the shoes of Travis and the decision he had to endure. A definate permanant book in my library to read over and over and over when I need something to kill time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Quick Read

    Although a quick read, all characters' personalities were spelled out. Sometimes I lost track of the time frame but it quickly became clear where we were in the story. I didn't understand "the choice" until the very end. It is a thought provoking ending and, I think, creates a good topic of discussion. I enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    THE BEST!!!

    In my opinion, The Choice has been the best Nicholas Sparks book I have read. The plot was great, and so were the characters. I would definitely recommend The Choice to any romance book lover!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i loved travis and gabby

    i cried for a whole hour!!!! straight..... my fav nick sparks book of all time!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2015

    Warrior fan fic

    Do it do it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 809 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 41