Customer Reviews for

The Choice (Lancaster County Secrets Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 393 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Culturally interesting read

I got this an a free NookBook, and I'd recommend it, as it seems well-researched into Amish ways. In fact, as things were introduced into the story, I found myself going online to learn more about a certain custom.
The storylne was wholesome with enough drama and con...
I got this an a free NookBook, and I'd recommend it, as it seems well-researched into Amish ways. In fact, as things were introduced into the story, I found myself going online to learn more about a certain custom.
The storylne was wholesome with enough drama and conflict to keep it interesting, so this is a read that can be recommended to people whose reading tastes tend toward something fairly non-controversial.
I would not recommend getting your theology from this novel, as the Amish have some very odd views of Scripture, but keeping in mind it's a work of fiction, read to your heart's content.

posted by karinaCA on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Love Amish books, but sadly not this one...

This is the first book that I've read by Suzanne Woods Fisher, and I'm not thrilled with this one at all. At first it was going great, Carrie got married to Daniel, and then Suzanne goes and kills him off. I would have much rather seen Daniel & Carrie grow in their marr...
This is the first book that I've read by Suzanne Woods Fisher, and I'm not thrilled with this one at all. At first it was going great, Carrie got married to Daniel, and then Suzanne goes and kills him off. I would have much rather seen Daniel & Carrie grow in their marriage and grow to love one another. Just not a fan. :(

posted by VLJohnson on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    AMAZING

    This is a wonderful story that keeps you wanting more! I did not want to close this book but to keep on reading. Very heart-warming!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I LOVED this book, read it in a few hours

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Dont spoil the story

    People read reviews before they get the book and read it for themselves so please dont ruin the story for the rest of us by retelling it in your review. Its so annoying!!!!!! Thanks bye

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Didn't want to put it down!

    Can't wait to read the whole series!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great story

    There was such death in the beginning that i wondered how it was going to end happy...but i was satisfied with the ending. A truly happy one!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Really liked this Amish story!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I loved this book. If you love the Amish fiction writers you will love this book. It has the right balance of love and religion. Can't wait to read the others in this Lancaster County series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it!

    I enjoy reading Amish fiction and I certainly enjoyed this book. I will miss reading about Carrie and Abel!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Wonderful!

    A great book and very well written. The characters are interesting and seem to come to life on the pages. I would highly reccomend this book to all who love to read, especially one that is missing all the explicit sex and foul language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    LOVE IT

    GREAT BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Only on pg 48 and in LOVE!!!

    I love it and I am picky :) I would give it 10 stars if I could. I don't want to put it down. Normally I only get this way with a BeverlyLewis book. This book is awesome and I can't wait to read more of her books!!!!! Back to reading, it is 1AM and I have to see if Carrie and Daniel fall in love and what will the beloved Yonnie say next!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Heather

    It was very awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Wonderful

    Absolutely wonderful. Amazing characters and a great plot. This is one of my favorite books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Very good book.

    Even though I'm not Amish, I found this book to be quite enlightening. It really makes one think about their own life and belief in God. Questioning one's self,at times, is good,especially in this ever-changing world. The book is wonderfully well-written with loveable characters. Please don't miss this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great reading on a long winter day.

    Enjoyed my first of a series.
    I will read the others. Very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    A must read!

    I love the amish lifestyle and wish that I was born into it, it is where how I was meant to live! This book is very soothing, given to the easy, honest way that the amish live.
    I want to continue reading this series, hopefully thru the library!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2015

    Highly Recommend

    Great book. Author did a great job. I could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    So hard to put down

    I have read quite a few Amish books. This one kept me on the edge of my 'seat'. I loved the weavings of faith and & the mystery of the story as it unfolded. I can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this one. Choices that make life easier or more troubled and yet you know that God is directing you through them as well as to where your future should be. This is an excellent book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    Good read

    !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11