BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Book I Have Read

    This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Palahniuks book not hard to swallow

    From the very beginning of the novel Choke, by Chuck Palahniuk, we are instantly warned, "If you're going to read this, don't bother." This warning should be discarded immediately for this book was great. The main character, Victor Mancini, a med school drop-out, is a character that you really shouldn't like, but you do. You really can't help it! His perception on life is one to really think on, and by the end of the book you don't really want to leave his twisted world.
    Palahniuk's diction is simple and easy to understand, yet, the way he strings them together, create a picture unlike any other. Palahniuk certainly has a way of reaching into our minds, disturbing us and all the while making his readers beg for more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    It just doesn't connect.

    The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.<BR/><BR/>The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.<BR/><BR/>The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.<BR/><BR/>By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Lame

    While I did learn some new sex moves, this book is awful. Basically porn, and bad porn at that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This Novel is set mostly at a colonial re-enactment town and mak

    This Novel is set mostly at a colonial re-enactment town and makes great use of the unique setting. The two main characters make for a funny pair. This is a lighter version of the friendship we read about in Fight Club. If you have seen the movie adaption don't think it compares to this book. The thoughts of the characters are the best part of Palahniuk's writing and Choke is no exception.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    um....

    Well, Choke was the first book by Palahniuk that I've read, and I now want to read all of them. Choke was very different from anything that I've read before. The ending is very VERY surprising. It made me laugh, it made me cringe, it made me want to keep reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Choke

    If you can not pronounce the author¿s last name, do not despair, neither can 95% of the rest of the population. What matters here is that what you are getting in this book is some of the nitty gritty you saw in Survivor and not the watered down stuff you saw in Haunted. This book, has gone on to become my favorite Palahniuk book, though I still think Fight Club may be able to dethrone it, once I frigging read it, for now this one wears the crown.<BR/><BR/>It is the messed up story of a lonely guy who works as a Colonialist¿he basically dresses up old school (literally) and plays the part of a Colonial Era citizen in a Museum-type town. I visited a place like that up in Georgetown. Kind of creepy, those places, like the renaissance festival without the turkey legs. Anyway, this guy is really messed up and lonely, taking care of his mom at an old people¿s home and getting his sexual kicks as well as his economic woes by choking.<BR/><BR/>If that does not send you rushing out to the bookstore, I do not know what will. But I do warn, beware of the sex and the language and the plain messed up ideas this man will put into your head which are entirely un-washable. Still, I gobbled this up in a weekend, because it is one of the most original and actually touching stories I have read in a while¿and its actually sort of a love story. Seriously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Trigger Warning for explicit, non-romantic sexual content

    For some, this book will be a fascinating peek into a very real subculture of our society, namely the lives of those afflicted by an addiction to sex.

    For others, the explicit sexual content will be a guaranteed trigger and recipe for sleepless nights and/or nightmares.

    You know yourself; take your own history into account when deciding whether or not to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Entertaining, humorous, easy read. My first introduction into Pa

    Entertaining, humorous, easy read. My first introduction into Palahniuk. It's a dark book, but full of damaged yet everyday characters you'd meet the bus.

    I'm surprised it was 300 pages because I believe I read through it in a matter of days. A real page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    .

    .

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Look at this review

    So people are all mad and grossed out by this book. Im thirteen years old and it has taken me days to wrap my head around this book. I was satisfied with it 100% his writing is one of a kind. And if you read this and you think sex is gross just skim those parts. Id rather you didnt though because the depth of his mind set and track of thought is key to understanding the moral of this book. This book isnt ALL abouts sex. I highly suggest thid book for entertainment. And disregard the comments that say "its all about sex"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Lovely

    Amazing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Absolutely must read!

    I love Chuck Palahniuk, and this book definitely does not disappoint! It's very interesting and somewhat twisted, and the ending is very unexpected! Love love love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Chi Oke Choke

    Easily one of the wierdest books i've read in a long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Classic Chuck

    If you have read any of his other works, you will enjoy his sick look on life in this book as well. Do not assume the movie did this book any justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Oddly entertaining.

    If you liked his other writing, such as Fight Club, you might enjoy this book. It is a dark, sometimes humorous, and sexually charged story. I read through this book in one week and I do not have much free time available for things I like to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Interesting story, gets better near the end

    It's a fairly good read, kinda sags in the middle and isn't really as believable as Fight Club. Writing style is extremely similar to the point where it feels like the same narrator in places, but the actual story and characters are fully unique and interesting and all the weird stuff comes together well in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    READ IT

    I have read this book three times already, every time I get something new out of it. Just absolutely amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    good story

    Good book. Good story. Definitely would recommend. Easy read and keeps you wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Just Okay - not his best

    This book was just okay. In fact, I almost gave it 2 stars instead of 3, but I truly believe that the author is brilliant; I just didn't see it in this book. If you really want to see his talents shine, read Survivor instead. This was a disappointment, not exactly the word I mean, but it's the one that comes to mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27