Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Excellent and insightful

    Great look at addiction and self loathing. Brilliant character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Disgusting

    After a few chapters I gave up - just couldn't get past all the sordid sex scenes. Glad I borrowed this book and didn't spend good money on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    A good author gags.

    This was my first Chuck Palahniuk book. I have seen Fight Club, so I decided to read this instead of his more famous novel, because I wanted a fresh story. (I am sure the Fight Club novel is better than the movie, but the surprise would be nonexistent for me having seen the film.)

    Chuck writes well. It is a little contrived at times. He is no Neal Stephenson when it comes to vocabulary or complexity, but he is a fast-paced and witty writer. I liked the book.

    That being said, it wasn't a great book. It wasn't even much beyond average. A story about sex addicts, though intriguing at times, just isn't enough to carry a story. Particularly when they are loser sex addicts, not the David Duchovny types. :) A good read that isn't that deep nor exciting and has remarkably little to do with choking. (I thought choking would carry the story but it was really a side thing.)

    I will read another book by this author, but not for a while. This one just didn't get me too excited about his other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Good book but not for everyone

    Heed the warning at the beginning of the book but if you go ahead and read it, be ready for some very raw images. Overall I enjoyed the book but some people may find its language a bit much to take. The story was enjoyable and easy to follow. The twist at the end I did not see coming. It was a good plot just a little shocking with the language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    This was my first Chuck book and I've began my quest to read more Chuck books. His writing is raw and could be seen as somewhat offensive. Keeps you hooked and guessing the whole time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A gripping read (no pun intended)

    I couldn't put it down, despite being on vacation at one of the most beautiful places in the world. It has all of the twists and turns I've come to expect from Chuck's books. For me, it was a quick and thoroughly enjoyable read. A warning, however, that, as with most of Chuck's work, this is not for the faint of heart or the weak of stomach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    First Chuck Palahniuk book I read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this read. Although I have not yet read the book it reminded me a lot of Ed Norton's monologues in Fight Club. The pattern of the story also reminded me of Fight Club. If you're looking for a book to make you feel happy I would suggest something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Another Offbeat Selection From Palahniuk

    I really enjoyed Choke. Out of the Palahniuk books I've read (others being Lullaby and Diary) it was definitely my favorite. There were many different parts of the storyline: St. Anthony's, Colonial Dunsboro, flashbacks, and the restaurants, where the title comes from. I found all of these different sections and Victor's views and experiences on each of them equally interesting to read about. In interviews Palahniuk comes across as very proud of his research into his books, and it is clear why. His medical knowledge and references are appropriate and interesting. They also add to the book, and aren't simply there for the sake of showing off.
    I really liked the characters. Even the characters like those at Colonial Dunsboro, and the hilarious Cherry Daquiri, who are fairly two-dimensional, were fun to read about and added a lot of texture to the setting. Eva, and the other elderly characters at St. Anthony's who project their past traumas onto Victor gave the story poignance to contrst the sarcasm preeminent in Victort's attitude. Victor's mother was an interesting character too, especially in the flashback sequences. Last but not least, I loved Victor and Denny. The only character that really fell flat for me was Paige Marshall. She struck me as off, and not in the way that the character is supposed to be. Her appearances seemed removed from the rest of the book. They didn't quite fit, and I felt like Palahniuk put her in for one of his famous twists, and not to serve any real purpose. But all in all, I really liked the book, and would recommend it to anyone, as long as they can laugh at its subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'For sure'

    This was a fun book and a very easy read. It had a few cool plot twists and the ending was delightful. I found some aspects of it to be very annoying. An example of that would be how the main character says 'for sure,...' in almost every sentence. That didn't take away from the book though.
    The characters were a lot of fun. The twists were all understated in a nice way. It was a quick read and it was so refreshing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    Touching isn¿t the right word, but it¿s the first that comes to mind

    When I had heard of the book Choke, I was not quite sure what I was getting myself into. All of my friends said it was an awesome book, but sometimes, it¿s not always a mutual feeling. To my dismay, Chuck Palahniuk grabbed my attention from beginning to end. It was a thrilling book with crude humor and a dark vision. Those fellow readers who were unsatisfied with the book truly did not read between the lines<BR/> The book starts off saying, ¿ If you`re going to read this, don¿t bother. After a couple of pages you won¿t want to be here.¿ Why would I not want to be reading this book, was the question I asked myself. Palahniuk had me craving more, I wanted to know for myself why there would be any discern as to reading the book. As I continued reading, one character, in particular, caught my attention. <BR/> The main character and perhaps the protagonist and antagonist is Victor Mancini. He dropped out of medical school to help pay for his mother¿s medical expenses. Currently working at Colonial theme park he finds it is not meeting ends way. So he formulates a plan to make up for the rest of the money, which plays a huge part in the book, hence the title, Choke. Since Victor grew up in a very unstable environment, it is inevitable that his life has many problems. He is a sex addict who is stuck on the fourth step, works in a degrading theme park, has a whacked out mother and has never been in a meaningful relationship with a woman. ¿The truth is, every son raised by a single mom is pretty much born married. I don¿t know but until your mom dies, it seems like all the other women in your life can never be more than just your mistress.¿ This seems to be how Victor lives his life. He is constantly trying to care for his mother, but nothing is every good enough. She is on the verge of death. Victor has a choice for her to either live with a three thousand dollar food tube or to die of starvation. For once he is in control of her and he likes the power, but is confused about what to do with it. So even though he does not truly want his mother to be her old self again, he still seems to proceed with his near death choking situations at restaurants. <BR/> If someone is willing to almost die every night, something is wrong. Victor discovers from his mother, that he may not be the person that he thought he was his whole life. Confused about his own life, Victor knows that he cannot keep living life like this, tricking people into loving him and abusing himself. Will Victor ever change? To find out more about Victors outrageous life and ridiculous outings then I suggest reading this book. Not only does Choke shock and entertain, it will change your life. It is a book about people who want so desperately to be normal that every chance they have, they push it away. Choke is a phenomenal book that articulates how happiness can only be experienced if you are happy with yourself. Even though some parts in the book may not have been appropriate, I thought that Palahniuk did an amazing job in expressing the dirty truth about society and oneself. Its an astonishingly written book, with a plot that is definitely not hard to swallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book

    this is the first chuck palahniuk book i ever read, even before i had seen fight club, and this book is amazing, i continue to read it through the years and i would never ever part with this book, its honestly funny and messed up and everything i love in a book, thats why i continue to follow chuck and purchase and love all of his books. he never lets me down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Not good at all

    Okay, this book came highly recommended by many people. They said 'Chuck Palahinuick is an amazing author!'. He isn't. Choke was entirely about sex and different sexual acts that main cahracter takes part in. I thought it would be about his escapades in choking in restaraunts to get money. No. It was about sex. It was a truly disgsting book. It was a filthy book for those people who are easily entertained by raunchiness. If you are something of an intellectual, do not read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Wonderful and disturbing

    Those not familiar with Chuck Palahniuk's style and novel substance may be in for a shock. I know I was the first time I encountered one of his books. But, his novels are like potato chips--you can't have just one. They're addicting and wonderfully disturbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Novel

    Chuck Palahniuk is gifted. This novel is entertaining, had me laughing at times. The messages throughout the book are powerful. Chuck gives you a new way at looking at life. Entertaining work of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Why all the good reviews?

    I guess I don't get it because I'm not a huge Palahniuk fan. I kept expecting something actually interesting to happen, but it just never did. I really wish I hadn't wasted my time and money on this book. If you're looking for some great 'hopeless despair' type writing, try Fitzgerald's 'This Side of Paradise,' or Hunter S. Thompson's 'The Rum Diary.' 'Choke' was a whole lotta' boring, broken up by the occasional weird sexual encounter or a graphic reference to excrement and deformed animals. Please. This guy's way overrated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Kristy-15

    an awesome book, i borrowed it from a friend, and shared it with my sister (who also loves it). A total must read for the fans of the darkly comical, satric genre

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Chuck never chokes!

    An amazing read, but not for the timid or comformist. Prepare for a the literary ride of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    loved it

    I loved this book. It was so funny to see the main character go through this epiphany and then be brought back to reality. I thought the plot twist was amazing and found it to be darkly humorous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Great book

    I just finished this book on the weekend and I found it very entertaining. This is my first Palahniuk read and I feel it is a great outset on my journey of further Palahniuk readings. When you think about it, Choke really doesn't have a plot, it's just a series of events in Victor's life at that moment that seem to be noteworthy. But despite that fact, I really enjoyed reading it while having many good laughs and mindful philosophies in my head. Palahniuk is a very gifted author and I wish to read another one of his books because Choke, in a way, left me a bit unfulfilled. I wanted to hear more from Mancini, his random sexual escapades, his sexaholics meetings, being stopped on the street by past life-savers from various restaurants, visiting the Nursing home, everything from the novel had such an entertaining and engrossing feature and I didn't want to leave it. I want to read another book from Palahniuk that will grab me, have its way with me, and after, lay beside me with a good cigarette. I've heard Survivor is good, I would never read Fight Club because I already know what happens from the film. Either way, Choke makes a great light snack to nibble on when you're bored that you hopefully won't regurgitate. I suggest it to those who like to read and those who want a distinct taste for Palahniuk's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    hilarious,

    Choke was the first book I read by Palaniuk. Now I'm hooked. This book is incredibly funny and dark. I finsihed it in about five hours because I couldn't put it down. I had to see what Victor was going to do next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27