Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Good

    When I first started reading Choke, I could not put it down. It has a clever writing style and a lot of weird humor. Overall I liked the book except for a few things. It started off with a strong beginning but the middle started to drag. It took a while for the plot to thicken. It just kept going on with the same events and nothing was progressing. And I have to say that I was kinda let down at the end because I feel like nothing was resolved. And in order for me to like a book I actually have to like the main character or relate to them in some way, but I didn't feel that with Victor in this book. He leads a very depressed and empty life and it annoyed me how he refused to change. And be warned that there are a lot of sexual parts in Choke. I wasn't expecting that and they got annoying after a while because I wanted to read about the characters' lives, not all this sexual addiction stuff. Although the sex addiction is an important aspect in the book, I didn't think it needed to be brought up so often. My review may sound a bit negative but I still liked it and plus this was my first Palahniuk book so maybe I need to get used to his writing. I recommend it because it's interesting and different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    mind blowing

    i only started reading books within the last two years and i always told myself i would never buy one, but after reading a few pages of my buddies copy i had to own it. after finishing Choke i ran out and bought chucks entire collection, but choke i still my favorite. i am a big fan of the darkness in the life of victor, and how he doesnt see a light at the end of the tunnel like you see in so many other characters in books that all have a happy ending. he just keeps living his miserable life day to day trying to figure it all out. Chuck's style of writing is unparalled with other books ive read, and i find myself trying to find another author as witty, dark and clever as he is. i have since let all my friends borrow the book and everyone of them feels the way i do. Choke is an amazing, mind blowing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Compelling, but depressing

    I liked this book, but it was depressing though enjoyable. It's fun reading, but gave me a stomachachy feeling like eating too much cake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Good Read

    To me the novel was about social rebellion, and to get by in life without having to explain things. Its a good read, its hard to really tell people whats its about, youd just have to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Palahniuk Needs New Voice

    With a narrator too-similar to those of his other books, Palahniuk delivers another fun read complete that makes you cringe your eyebrows in disgust, laughter, and confusion. The plot elements seem terribly random, almost as if Palahniuk reached into a top hat of twisted ideas, and tried to desperately tie them together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    amazing

    all i have to say is that i wasnt a fan of reading books outside of a manditory school assignment. this book was recommended to me by my best friend, and once i read it, i found myself reading it all the time. chuck's writing has a trance effect on you. you start reading, and you fall into the story. the characters are easy to find connections with and compare to. i have to say that i do plan on reading all of his books, and buying them for my own personal stash of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    one of his best

    this novel rivals fight club as one of the best books i have ever read. it kept me interested from begging to end. the writing style is brilliant and the ending profound. every one of chuck's books, that i have read, has been an interesting twisted thrill ride that i've read over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Quirky, funny, entertaining

    This is the first Palahniuk book that I read, and now I plan to pick up his others. You can't help but love the characters he's created here, no matter how flawed they are. If you want to read something fresh, with some unconventional twists, this book's for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    shocking hummor

    this is the first book that I have read from chuck P. I thought it was very good. The hummor is shocking and could be repulsive and offensive to a lot of people, but That was the best part of the story. the tought of someone living Victors life is a trip. So if you are easily offended don't read it but if you can handle some dry hummor on the edge this is a must read. I defenitly plan to read more of his books soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    sex, mutant chickens, and human squirrels

    C.P. is like Tom Robbins on crystal meth. This book goes to places so twisted and entertaining you almost feel guilty enjoying it. I can't remember a book where I laughed outloud so much. You don't realize how dark the humor is until you try to explain it to someone who hasn't read the book. I loved 'Survivor', but this is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Coming Soon: Autogenerated Palahniuk

    No new ground broken here. Take the same Palahniuk plot elements - borderline psychotic/delusional main charater(s), a counter-cultural movement/statement as a bonding mechanism for those characters, mix well with oddball factoids, and voila, you've got your very own Chuck Palahniuk novel. Its getting to be that you can generate these novels using software. While the book was generally enjoyable, Palahniuk desperately needs to break out of his template. Hopefully in his next book (don't worry Chuck, I'll still preorder it nothwithstanding my disappointment with Choke), Palahniuk can show us something new.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Worth the price

    Will keep you thinking long after your done reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    fav author

    worth it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Good

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Amazing

    Perfect

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I love Chuck Palahniuk's style of writing. It jumps around all over the place, but keeps you hooked like no other. Always fills his books with things that stick with you -- disturbing mental images and desparate, depraved characters. Addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Must read!

    I thoroughly enjoy reading novels from the twisted mind of Chuck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Not his best effort

    Not his best effort

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Love it

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read


    This is another awesome book by one of the worlds most talented writers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 27