Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Book I Have Read

    This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Palahniuks book not hard to swallow

    From the very beginning of the novel Choke, by Chuck Palahniuk, we are instantly warned, "If you're going to read this, don't bother." This warning should be discarded immediately for this book was great. The main character, Victor Mancini, a med school drop-out, is a character that you really shouldn't like, but you do. You really can't help it! His perception on life is one to really think on, and by the end of the book you don't really want to leave his twisted world.
    Palahniuk's diction is simple and easy to understand, yet, the way he strings them together, create a picture unlike any other. Palahniuk certainly has a way of reaching into our minds, disturbing us and all the while making his readers beg for more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    um....

    Well, Choke was the first book by Palahniuk that I've read, and I now want to read all of them. Choke was very different from anything that I've read before. The ending is very VERY surprising. It made me laugh, it made me cringe, it made me want to keep reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Entertaining, humorous, easy read. My first introduction into Pa

    Entertaining, humorous, easy read. My first introduction into Palahniuk. It's a dark book, but full of damaged yet everyday characters you'd meet the bus.

    I'm surprised it was 300 pages because I believe I read through it in a matter of days. A real page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Look at this review

    So people are all mad and grossed out by this book. Im thirteen years old and it has taken me days to wrap my head around this book. I was satisfied with it 100% his writing is one of a kind. And if you read this and you think sex is gross just skim those parts. Id rather you didnt though because the depth of his mind set and track of thought is key to understanding the moral of this book. This book isnt ALL abouts sex. I highly suggest thid book for entertainment. And disregard the comments that say "its all about sex"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Classic Chuck

    If you have read any of his other works, you will enjoy his sick look on life in this book as well. Do not assume the movie did this book any justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Oddly entertaining.

    If you liked his other writing, such as Fight Club, you might enjoy this book. It is a dark, sometimes humorous, and sexually charged story. I read through this book in one week and I do not have much free time available for things I like to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    good story

    Good book. Good story. Definitely would recommend. Easy read and keeps you wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Excellent and insightful

    Great look at addiction and self loathing. Brilliant character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Good book but not for everyone

    Heed the warning at the beginning of the book but if you go ahead and read it, be ready for some very raw images. Overall I enjoyed the book but some people may find its language a bit much to take. The story was enjoyable and easy to follow. The twist at the end I did not see coming. It was a good plot just a little shocking with the language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    This was my first Chuck book and I've began my quest to read more Chuck books. His writing is raw and could be seen as somewhat offensive. Keeps you hooked and guessing the whole time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A gripping read (no pun intended)

    I couldn't put it down, despite being on vacation at one of the most beautiful places in the world. It has all of the twists and turns I've come to expect from Chuck's books. For me, it was a quick and thoroughly enjoyable read. A warning, however, that, as with most of Chuck's work, this is not for the faint of heart or the weak of stomach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    First Chuck Palahniuk book I read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this read. Although I have not yet read the book it reminded me a lot of Ed Norton's monologues in Fight Club. The pattern of the story also reminded me of Fight Club. If you're looking for a book to make you feel happy I would suggest something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Another Offbeat Selection From Palahniuk

    I really enjoyed Choke. Out of the Palahniuk books I've read (others being Lullaby and Diary) it was definitely my favorite. There were many different parts of the storyline: St. Anthony's, Colonial Dunsboro, flashbacks, and the restaurants, where the title comes from. I found all of these different sections and Victor's views and experiences on each of them equally interesting to read about. In interviews Palahniuk comes across as very proud of his research into his books, and it is clear why. His medical knowledge and references are appropriate and interesting. They also add to the book, and aren't simply there for the sake of showing off.
    I really liked the characters. Even the characters like those at Colonial Dunsboro, and the hilarious Cherry Daquiri, who are fairly two-dimensional, were fun to read about and added a lot of texture to the setting. Eva, and the other elderly characters at St. Anthony's who project their past traumas onto Victor gave the story poignance to contrst the sarcasm preeminent in Victort's attitude. Victor's mother was an interesting character too, especially in the flashback sequences. Last but not least, I loved Victor and Denny. The only character that really fell flat for me was Paige Marshall. She struck me as off, and not in the way that the character is supposed to be. Her appearances seemed removed from the rest of the book. They didn't quite fit, and I felt like Palahniuk put her in for one of his famous twists, and not to serve any real purpose. But all in all, I really liked the book, and would recommend it to anyone, as long as they can laugh at its subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'For sure'

    This was a fun book and a very easy read. It had a few cool plot twists and the ending was delightful. I found some aspects of it to be very annoying. An example of that would be how the main character says 'for sure,...' in almost every sentence. That didn't take away from the book though.
    The characters were a lot of fun. The twists were all understated in a nice way. It was a quick read and it was so refreshing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Good

    When I first started reading Choke, I could not put it down. It has a clever writing style and a lot of weird humor. Overall I liked the book except for a few things. It started off with a strong beginning but the middle started to drag. It took a while for the plot to thicken. It just kept going on with the same events and nothing was progressing. And I have to say that I was kinda let down at the end because I feel like nothing was resolved. And in order for me to like a book I actually have to like the main character or relate to them in some way, but I didn't feel that with Victor in this book. He leads a very depressed and empty life and it annoyed me how he refused to change. And be warned that there are a lot of sexual parts in Choke. I wasn't expecting that and they got annoying after a while because I wanted to read about the characters' lives, not all this sexual addiction stuff. Although the sex addiction is an important aspect in the book, I didn't think it needed to be brought up so often. My review may sound a bit negative but I still liked it and plus this was my first Palahniuk book so maybe I need to get used to his writing. I recommend it because it's interesting and different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Quirky, funny, entertaining

    This is the first Palahniuk book that I read, and now I plan to pick up his others. You can't help but love the characters he's created here, no matter how flawed they are. If you want to read something fresh, with some unconventional twists, this book's for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    shocking hummor

    this is the first book that I have read from chuck P. I thought it was very good. The hummor is shocking and could be repulsive and offensive to a lot of people, but That was the best part of the story. the tought of someone living Victors life is a trip. So if you are easily offended don't read it but if you can handle some dry hummor on the edge this is a must read. I defenitly plan to read more of his books soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read


    This is another awesome book by one of the worlds most talented writers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Chuck

    Loved it all the way through. Thanks Chuck for another great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9