Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This Novel is set mostly at a colonial re-enactment town and mak

    This Novel is set mostly at a colonial re-enactment town and makes great use of the unique setting. The two main characters make for a funny pair. This is a lighter version of the friendship we read about in Fight Club. If you have seen the movie adaption don't think it compares to this book. The thoughts of the characters are the best part of Palahniuk's writing and Choke is no exception.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Choke

    If you can not pronounce the author¿s last name, do not despair, neither can 95% of the rest of the population. What matters here is that what you are getting in this book is some of the nitty gritty you saw in Survivor and not the watered down stuff you saw in Haunted. This book, has gone on to become my favorite Palahniuk book, though I still think Fight Club may be able to dethrone it, once I frigging read it, for now this one wears the crown.<BR/><BR/>It is the messed up story of a lonely guy who works as a Colonialist¿he basically dresses up old school (literally) and plays the part of a Colonial Era citizen in a Museum-type town. I visited a place like that up in Georgetown. Kind of creepy, those places, like the renaissance festival without the turkey legs. Anyway, this guy is really messed up and lonely, taking care of his mom at an old people¿s home and getting his sexual kicks as well as his economic woes by choking.<BR/><BR/>If that does not send you rushing out to the bookstore, I do not know what will. But I do warn, beware of the sex and the language and the plain messed up ideas this man will put into your head which are entirely un-washable. Still, I gobbled this up in a weekend, because it is one of the most original and actually touching stories I have read in a while¿and its actually sort of a love story. Seriously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    .

    .

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Lovely

    Amazing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Absolutely must read!

    I love Chuck Palahniuk, and this book definitely does not disappoint! It's very interesting and somewhat twisted, and the ending is very unexpected! Love love love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    READ IT

    I have read this book three times already, every time I get something new out of it. Just absolutely amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    Touching isn¿t the right word, but it¿s the first that comes to mind

    When I had heard of the book Choke, I was not quite sure what I was getting myself into. All of my friends said it was an awesome book, but sometimes, it¿s not always a mutual feeling. To my dismay, Chuck Palahniuk grabbed my attention from beginning to end. It was a thrilling book with crude humor and a dark vision. Those fellow readers who were unsatisfied with the book truly did not read between the lines<BR/> The book starts off saying, ¿ If you`re going to read this, don¿t bother. After a couple of pages you won¿t want to be here.¿ Why would I not want to be reading this book, was the question I asked myself. Palahniuk had me craving more, I wanted to know for myself why there would be any discern as to reading the book. As I continued reading, one character, in particular, caught my attention. <BR/> The main character and perhaps the protagonist and antagonist is Victor Mancini. He dropped out of medical school to help pay for his mother¿s medical expenses. Currently working at Colonial theme park he finds it is not meeting ends way. So he formulates a plan to make up for the rest of the money, which plays a huge part in the book, hence the title, Choke. Since Victor grew up in a very unstable environment, it is inevitable that his life has many problems. He is a sex addict who is stuck on the fourth step, works in a degrading theme park, has a whacked out mother and has never been in a meaningful relationship with a woman. ¿The truth is, every son raised by a single mom is pretty much born married. I don¿t know but until your mom dies, it seems like all the other women in your life can never be more than just your mistress.¿ This seems to be how Victor lives his life. He is constantly trying to care for his mother, but nothing is every good enough. She is on the verge of death. Victor has a choice for her to either live with a three thousand dollar food tube or to die of starvation. For once he is in control of her and he likes the power, but is confused about what to do with it. So even though he does not truly want his mother to be her old self again, he still seems to proceed with his near death choking situations at restaurants. <BR/> If someone is willing to almost die every night, something is wrong. Victor discovers from his mother, that he may not be the person that he thought he was his whole life. Confused about his own life, Victor knows that he cannot keep living life like this, tricking people into loving him and abusing himself. Will Victor ever change? To find out more about Victors outrageous life and ridiculous outings then I suggest reading this book. Not only does Choke shock and entertain, it will change your life. It is a book about people who want so desperately to be normal that every chance they have, they push it away. Choke is a phenomenal book that articulates how happiness can only be experienced if you are happy with yourself. Even though some parts in the book may not have been appropriate, I thought that Palahniuk did an amazing job in expressing the dirty truth about society and oneself. Its an astonishingly written book, with a plot that is definitely not hard to swallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book

    this is the first chuck palahniuk book i ever read, even before i had seen fight club, and this book is amazing, i continue to read it through the years and i would never ever part with this book, its honestly funny and messed up and everything i love in a book, thats why i continue to follow chuck and purchase and love all of his books. he never lets me down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Wonderful and disturbing

    Those not familiar with Chuck Palahniuk's style and novel substance may be in for a shock. I know I was the first time I encountered one of his books. But, his novels are like potato chips--you can't have just one. They're addicting and wonderfully disturbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Novel

    Chuck Palahniuk is gifted. This novel is entertaining, had me laughing at times. The messages throughout the book are powerful. Chuck gives you a new way at looking at life. Entertaining work of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Kristy-15

    an awesome book, i borrowed it from a friend, and shared it with my sister (who also loves it). A total must read for the fans of the darkly comical, satric genre

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Chuck never chokes!

    An amazing read, but not for the timid or comformist. Prepare for a the literary ride of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    loved it

    I loved this book. It was so funny to see the main character go through this epiphany and then be brought back to reality. I thought the plot twist was amazing and found it to be darkly humorous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Great book

    I just finished this book on the weekend and I found it very entertaining. This is my first Palahniuk read and I feel it is a great outset on my journey of further Palahniuk readings. When you think about it, Choke really doesn't have a plot, it's just a series of events in Victor's life at that moment that seem to be noteworthy. But despite that fact, I really enjoyed reading it while having many good laughs and mindful philosophies in my head. Palahniuk is a very gifted author and I wish to read another one of his books because Choke, in a way, left me a bit unfulfilled. I wanted to hear more from Mancini, his random sexual escapades, his sexaholics meetings, being stopped on the street by past life-savers from various restaurants, visiting the Nursing home, everything from the novel had such an entertaining and engrossing feature and I didn't want to leave it. I want to read another book from Palahniuk that will grab me, have its way with me, and after, lay beside me with a good cigarette. I've heard Survivor is good, I would never read Fight Club because I already know what happens from the film. Either way, Choke makes a great light snack to nibble on when you're bored that you hopefully won't regurgitate. I suggest it to those who like to read and those who want a distinct taste for Palahniuk's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    hilarious,

    Choke was the first book I read by Palaniuk. Now I'm hooked. This book is incredibly funny and dark. I finsihed it in about five hours because I couldn't put it down. I had to see what Victor was going to do next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    mind blowing

    i only started reading books within the last two years and i always told myself i would never buy one, but after reading a few pages of my buddies copy i had to own it. after finishing Choke i ran out and bought chucks entire collection, but choke i still my favorite. i am a big fan of the darkness in the life of victor, and how he doesnt see a light at the end of the tunnel like you see in so many other characters in books that all have a happy ending. he just keeps living his miserable life day to day trying to figure it all out. Chuck's style of writing is unparalled with other books ive read, and i find myself trying to find another author as witty, dark and clever as he is. i have since let all my friends borrow the book and everyone of them feels the way i do. Choke is an amazing, mind blowing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Good Read

    To me the novel was about social rebellion, and to get by in life without having to explain things. Its a good read, its hard to really tell people whats its about, youd just have to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    amazing

    all i have to say is that i wasnt a fan of reading books outside of a manditory school assignment. this book was recommended to me by my best friend, and once i read it, i found myself reading it all the time. chuck's writing has a trance effect on you. you start reading, and you fall into the story. the characters are easy to find connections with and compare to. i have to say that i do plan on reading all of his books, and buying them for my own personal stash of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    one of his best

    this novel rivals fight club as one of the best books i have ever read. it kept me interested from begging to end. the writing style is brilliant and the ending profound. every one of chuck's books, that i have read, has been an interesting twisted thrill ride that i've read over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    sex, mutant chickens, and human squirrels

    C.P. is like Tom Robbins on crystal meth. This book goes to places so twisted and entertaining you almost feel guilty enjoying it. I can't remember a book where I laughed outloud so much. You don't realize how dark the humor is until you try to explain it to someone who hasn't read the book. I loved 'Survivor', but this is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13