Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

First Book I Have Read

This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never ne...
This was the first book I have ever read by Chuck Palahniuk and I have to say I will never forget it. Sometime last year a friend gave me a list of books, one of the books happen to be Choke. She told me that the book was by the same guy who wrote Fight Club. I never new the movie Fight Club was based off a book and I thought because I enjoyed the movie so much I would give Choke a try. I found that this book was nothing like I have ever read before. It was so disgustingly enjoyable, I found myself lost in a world that I did not want to enter. Taboo isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind. After I finished reading this book, I could not figure out if I really liked it or not. The book had a refreshing originality to it, but I was not sure I would want to read it again. I continued to think about the book for the next following days, then it hit me: its not whether or not I like the book, it is that fact that I am still thinking about it. I think this is what Palahniuk was truly going for, he didn't care whether people liked it or not it was that people were thinking about his book. I still think about this book today and I am still not sure whether i really like it or not. However this is what makes it wonderful, I love not being able to explain things and define them. I have decided that this is one of my favorite books not because I like or don't like it but because I can't decide.

posted by Middle_of_Nowhere on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It just doesn't connect.

The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.
The title is Choke, but really, the focus of the story is sex, sex, sex. The back cover summary and the title are very misleading about the whole plot of the book.

The book, however, is full of allusions and witty lines, but they don't make the book amazing.

The introduction sets the reader up for one hell of a ride, but the rest of the book just doesn't deliver.

By the end of the story, you'll be sick of his repetitive sentences.

posted by 326105 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Choke

    Honestly, when I was readin the book, I wasn't really as into as I was with, say Survivor or Fight Club. But the twist ending changed my mind and made me love this book as much as any other Chuck book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Choke is by far one of Palahniuk's best works

    After going from class to the local bookstore at junior college I realized I needed something to read that was fascinating and stimulating at the same time. When I saw the human body on the cover of a book and I saw that it was by the guy who did Fight Club I thought why not open up its pages and glance at it. The book was not only amazing from page one but I couldn't put it down. I mean it kept me entranced from the very beginning which very few books do. The book was also one of the most revolutionary books that I have read by a modern day author. Choke is amazing because of the fact that the author adds elements of not only surprise but elements that are captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Inclination, obsession, enslavement, dependence, & fixation.

    Although it can be argued that this book is not appropriate for my age group, I won't agree. Chuck Palahniuk has done an amazing job with this novel. It is a chronicle of pure addiction. A less than middle-aged man with a mommy-complex attends Nymph Anonymous meetings. He sponsors women in this 12 step, but not without having meaningless intercourse with a number of them. This spiraling fixation pulls you through chapter after chapter to a point where you physically can not put down the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    The only book that ever made me laugh out loud

    Ok, no secret that Chuck is a writer who has a redundant corrupt style as in Fight Club, Diary, and Survivor. But, in Choke, he preserves that style but it isn't quite so tiring because of how delightfully hillarious it really really is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Great work of satire

    I loved everything about this novel. I am very fond of works of satire, and Palahniuk is the king of the genre. This book prooves it. I encourage anyone who want to laugh at reality to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Yet another amazing read from Chuck!

    This author never ceases to amaze me, each book is better than the last. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Definate Greatness

    This book was amazing. All of Chuck's books are extremely interesting and fulfilling. I've read almost all his books, never finding any disapointment. Highly recommended for wandering minds.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Non Reader , giving rating

    I do not read often as i like too. In fact it takes me forever to finish a book! However, the book Choke was awesome. If are a person into crude humor and is very imaginative. You've got youself a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    A genre all its own

    It's the uniqueness, the world in which you find yourself that makes reading a Chuck Palahniuk book so special. This is an exceptional book, beautifully stylized in a genre all its own

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Palahniuk - a visionary

    Choke is palahniuk at his best. Clever and a visionary, Palahniuk will always have his readers on the edge of their seat. After every book you read of his, you'll always want to ring your local bookselling clerk by the neck and demand more. This particular book had twists and turns you'll never expect and helps you to realize that true love is always where you least expect, and not everyone is who you think they are. 'Addicting' isn't the right word, but it's the first word that comes to mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    An Inspiring Story of Sex, Scams, and Life

    Chuck Palahniuk¿s novel Choke starts off ¿If you¿re going to read this, don¿t bother¿There has to be something better on television¿(p.1) It continues on telling the reader about the main character as a stupid boy you would never like to meet. As you can see Palahniuk is not your average author but instead an author that exposes the dirty undergrounds of society that we all ignore. Through descriptive scenes he demonstrates the anarchic, protagonist Victor Mancini¿s moral flaws. Victor Mancini, a medical school dropout, took a job in a 1730¿s theme park to pay for his suffering mother with Alzheimer¿s disease. Also Victor, a well-developed character, attends weekly sex-aholic meetings to score with nymphomaniacs. Victor suffered a rough childhood without a father figure and constant abuse from his mother that is revealed in flashbacks. Despite his rough childhood he still took care of his ailing mother in the nursing home. His low rent job at a theme park did not produce sufficient funds to take care of them both, so he had an ingenious scam to make more money. Mr. Mancini went to restaurants purposely choking on food to have a normal person be a hero for the day. Victor changed many of their lives thinking they made a difference in his life, they also feel responsible for his, so they send him money at any opportune time. As each day goes by Victor¿s mother continues to starve herself to death and needs a stomach tube to prevent her avoidable death. Victor tends to be ashamed of what he has done with his life, so when he visits his mother he acts like people that have helped her out throughout life. Victor comes closer to his mother through these meetings and after Dr. Marshall, a seductive hospital employee that Victor fantasizes about, shows him his mother¿s diary he realizes that he is not a complete waste and she thinks well of him. Palahniuk¿s Choke may not be your ordinary novel, but truly an inspiring novel, which in the end makes you want to change your life for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    Weirder Than Fight Club, Great!

    This book was delightful. The character makes you feel that maybe your life isn't as bad. This book is full of unspeakable twist and turns, making it a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    The best book ever

    For some, it might be a stretch.. But I think this book is one of the best ever. I love what it says about society and the way it hints at true social freedom within a so called free society. I finished this book in two days, a fast amazing read. If you thought the underlying themes of the movie Fight Club were interesting, this book will blow you away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    One of my favorites ever, ever.

    Chuck Palahniuk is a new, unique author that seems to make a character that has that anarchist, yet down to earth mentality. See also Tyler Durden. See also Brandy Alexander. This may tend to bore people, but I enjoy it. Choke is one of Palanhiuk's best, right up next to Fight Club(the greatest movie/novel ever, ever).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    A Truely Amazing Book

    One of the best books I have read in a real long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Loved every page!

    Choke was a very disturbing yet intoxicating book that left me wanting more. Mr. Palahuink is an amazing author and thinker and has lead a path of his own and I couldn't applaud him more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    should have been called 'HOOKED'

    'Incredible isn't the right word but its the first one that comes to mind.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    My First

    My first Chuck Palahniuk novel. An excellent read... I couldn't put it down. I now have a new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    I Love Chuck P.

    Choke is tied with Survivor(another Palahniuk novel)as being my favorite book. I read Fight Club and loved Chuck P's style, so I picked up Choke next...and WOW. It's incredible. To me it blew Fight Club out of the water. I had to of read this book in about 2 days, b/c i couldn't put it down. And right after i finished it I went out to the store and bought his other two. If you are reading this, then stop and go buy this book!! You'll easily become a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    strong narrative voice drives a well written plot

    palahniuk somehow creates this narrative voice that is calm and serene but also carries with it a sense of desperate resignation. it's as if he has taken the collective inadequacies of a nation and funnelled it into a character that is self-aware and seemingly well-adjusted despite obvious psychological maladies and dysfunctional interpersonal social dynamics. while it might seem at first that the narrative voice in choke is similar to those seen in palahniuk's other works, a more careful inspection of the narrator's tone reveals slight nuances that distinguish the voices of victor mancini from tyler durden. however, this does not mean that victor mancini is any less provocative or well-defined. palahniuk does well to give the reader a strong sense of character development. also, while the novel seems to jump back and forth through time between mancini's childhood and adulthood, it is done skillfully. palahniuk really allows the reader to get inside mancini's head, and after getting all the information past and present on mancini, the reader can't help but finish the book and then immediately begin an attempt of psychoanalyzation of mancini. the graphic sexual content is at first surprising, but nevertheless necessary to show the inner workings of mancini. symbolism abounds in the novel and palahniuk's insights continue to intrigue the mind even after the end of the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13