Customer Reviews for

Choke

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Important subject, handled well. Great MG read that can appeal to older readers as well.

I totally related with Windy. Not in the popular crowd, but not really completely on the outside crowd either. On that edge and wanting to change so many things about yourself. I also related with the feeling of doing things I didn't necessarily want to but it sounded c...
I totally related with Windy. Not in the popular crowd, but not really completely on the outside crowd either. On that edge and wanting to change so many things about yourself. I also related with the feeling of doing things I didn't necessarily want to but it sounded cool because a new friend thought it was fun.
I felt for Nina. She really stood up for Windy and Elena, which warmed me to her, but I could tell that something wasn't quite right with her. I just wondered what was brewing under the surface, and Diana Lopez peeled back her layers slowly. Obviously she has the problem with the choking game, but you have to wonder what her motivations were.
Elana is the best friend that is awesome. She is so nerdy and that completely appeals to me, as does her loyalty and ability to forgive.
I also really appreciated the idea of finding yourself and looking for what you love and how to incorporate that into your career. We got to see it with Windy and her relationship with her parents as well as in her own life, working at the nursing home with Mrs. Vargas. By the way, I appreciated so much the well written and close family relationships as well as the presence of Mrs. Vargas, Windy's adopt a granny.
Diana Lopez writes with fluidity that got me lost in Windy's story and feeling for her as I read about her self discovery and journey into the dangerous. She also handles such a difficult subject with finesse.
The ending is heartbreaking but a wake up call, and I couldn't really expect much different, although she did surprise me some by the end results.
Bottom line: Important subject, handled well. Great MG read that can appeal to older readers as well.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

SOOO SAD AT THE END ... almost made me cry Everything is good but the end was ad :(

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    This book was amazing!

    After i finish this book i was sad. I cant belive people do the choking game in real life. This story was wonderful! I love it. But it sad that Nina, a beautiful girl thats great at drumbs and is happy......plays the choking game. She says its safe. But she a finds out... tht its not at all. So thats how u become breath sisters. I dont know what people injoy in this game! I encourage people NOT to play the choking game. It can be very dangerous. U can get brain damage or die from it. Nina in the book almost died from it. She got very bad brain damage and cant walk or talk right. She cant do alot of things she used to be able to do. She needs alot of help know. I just count help thibk how terrible that would be! So please never try te choking game. U can become addicted to it. And can push it so far u can kill ur self. Dont do te choking game!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Wow

    This book is so good i love it so far please dont tell tje ending havent got there yet i a. 11 and ibam reading tjis book so really kids under10 shouldnt read it or they might try the games love the book so much!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Perfect

    This is absolutly my new favorite book. It talks about the dangers on being so desperate to fit, the confusion of middle school, and is very moving. I reconmend this book to everyone who is having trouble realizing that they are special

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Comfused

    I am 11 and I totally understand the context and vocabulary being used. I have read a similar book called "perfect" that is just like this. Maybe would like to check out this book if you liked this book because have the same conflict of "fitting in" with the crowd, even though you have to do dangerous things to do it. Personally, I would not do what windy did just to fit in with the cool girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Amaing!!!

    This book is amazing. Definately not for kids under the age of 12! It is action packed and exciting on every page! I would sugget this book to girls ages 12+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    I have not read this book but I will tell any teen who has that

    I have not read this book but I will tell any teen who has that this is NOT a game! I lost my 13 yr. old daughter to this in 2007.  'Friends' who want to do this with you are NOT friends. It CAN kill you and eventually it WILL kill you! The memory of the night I found my daughter will haunt me forever. She would have been 21 this year. I thank Ms. Lopez for writing this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    OMG A MUST READ

    But soooooooo sad tho. I learned so much from this book and i am thirteen. Recomended for preteens and above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    PayPay

    I love this book it teaches you a lot the end is a tiny bit sad but its the bomb please read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Choke

    This book is very inspering and intresting.If i were to buy this i would. And thank you for letting me read this beloved book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book opens yoir eyes ti what people will do to quench their feelings. Its terrible that the choking game is based on a true story but is very informational and easy to understand. A different kind of read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Choking

    WHAT THE HECK IS 'the choking game'??? Somebody PLEASE tell! I AM DYING TO KNOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Anonymous Review

    This is a very good book and it also a got the ge group they were going for tp read it! Most people my age dont enjoy reading, but I do so I recommended this book to my friends and they really liked it, surprisingly! Hopefully you have a second part to this book, I really want to learn more about Windy and Nina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    A good read

    Choke was an excellent story. Although at times it might be a little disturbing there was an excellent plot which was made into an excellent story. I have never read a book about the plot or heard of the plot so it was a very original plot. I loved the story and woukd definetly recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good sample

    I
    want
    to
    read
    the
    rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Anonymas

    What happened at ending?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    To below

    What happened?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Luv It

    I'm 12 and I loved the book! It was really good, it kept me up all night reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Outstanding

    A great book to open your eyes about frienship and the dangers and seriousness of the game

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2