Customer Reviews for

Choker

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

YA thriller

I really enjoyed this mystery - psychological thriller. The blurb above pretty much tells you everything about the book except the ending. I pretty much gave up trying to write a review about the actual story since all of the minor details end up pointing to the endin...
I really enjoyed this mystery - psychological thriller. The blurb above pretty much tells you everything about the book except the ending. I pretty much gave up trying to write a review about the actual story since all of the minor details end up pointing to the ending and I would hate to give that away. If you are a careful reader, you can pretty much figure out "who did it" before the end of the book since there are several clues nicely placed through out the story. This one is geared towards older teens since there is alcohol/drug use, sexual situations and language.

posted by BookHounds on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better

The book started out all right. I hated what the other girls did to Cara. They were awful and despicable. So, I did sympathize with her. For a while. Then she just got to me. She just seemed so, weak and a pushover at times. You couldn't help but get frustrated at her s...
The book started out all right. I hated what the other girls did to Cara. They were awful and despicable. So, I did sympathize with her. For a while. Then she just got to me. She just seemed so, weak and a pushover at times. You couldn't help but get frustrated at her sometimes. When Zoe comes in, she does take an interesting personality change and Zoe is partly responsible for that. However, as the plot wore on, I rather guessed what was going on, and the underlying secret. I am not sure if the big secret was obvious to other readers who have read this book, but I did figure it out when Zoe starts to have a more prominent place in the story.

Although it started off rather interesting, I could not help but lose interest. It was predictable, and Cara as a character just did improve and I stopped liking her. I felt sorry for her, but she didn't make herself likable at all. It came to the point where you can't feel sorry for her anymore she just became so...pathetic. She did manage to grow a spine, but it would shrink rapidly as well.

Another thing I did not take kindly to was the animal cruelty mentioned in the book. It was horrible to read and to me, unnecessary. It was already evident that Zoe and Cara aren't really all "there" so I don't see why there had to be any mentioning of any animals being killed. The ending, well it was predictable, therefore it wasn't that exciting or a complete revelation to read. I thought there could have been more to the book.

It's not a book I would recommend, I would say take it or leave it. I've read much better than this. It's predictable, and by the time you finished the book you find it lacking in something, perhaps a new twist should have been brought in, or something that would have brought the plot to a more interesting level.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    YA thriller

    I really enjoyed this mystery - psychological thriller. The blurb above pretty much tells you everything about the book except the ending. I pretty much gave up trying to write a review about the actual story since all of the minor details end up pointing to the ending and I would hate to give that away. If you are a careful reader, you can pretty much figure out "who did it" before the end of the book since there are several clues nicely placed through out the story. This one is geared towards older teens since there is alcohol/drug use, sexual situations and language.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Creepy and Suspenseful

    The publisher's blurb gets right to the heart of this book.

    When Cara was in fifth grade, her parents, both attorneys, moved to a new neighborhood, taking her away from her best friend Zoe. Although they were very solicitous of her after the move, eventually, they went back to working long hours, leaving Cara pretty much on her own.

    Although Cara is on the track team at Sherman High, she doesn't have any friends and feels like a total outsider. Not even her teammates make an effort to make conversation with her, even when she's sitting at their table in the lunchroom.

    One day during lunch, a carrot gets stuck in Cara's throat, and the only one who notices is Ethan Gray, captain of the boy's track team and Cara's crush. He performs the Heimlich maneuver on her and saves her life.

    Blonde and beautiful Alexis is Ethan's girlfriend. HER best friend is Sydney, Cara's next-door neighbor. They are the mean girls of the school, and immediately dub Cara "Choker", coming up to her in the hall and making gagging noises, humiliating her in front of everyone else.

    One day Cara comes home and Zoe is sitting on her bed, needing a place to stay because something "bad" happened at home and now she can't go back. Cara is so happy to see her and to have her best friend back that she decides to let Zoe stay in her bedroom, keeping her a secret from her parents. She finally has her best friend back, someone to confide in and complain about her life to.

    Suddenly bad things start to happen around Cara. A party at Sydney's house ends in tragedy, and it's easy for the reader to see what's going on, but Cara simply refuses to believe that her friend would have anything to do with it. We see how twisted and possessive Zoe is, but Cara is in denial. While Zoe helps Cara with her confidence and appearance, she also snaps at her and turns on her at various times for no reason.

    As I read, I could actually see this book as a movie. It is suspenseful, and I kept wondering who was next or what would happen next.

    All in all, this is a solid, satisfying read, appropriate for YA audiences, with references to violence, but no explicitly violent scenes. Pretty creepy all in all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Biggest Shock Ever!!!!!!!

    Never in a million years would I have guessed the ending, I litterally gad to stop and think and then read it again, if you love a surprising and shocking ending then you will love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been better

    The book started out all right. I hated what the other girls did to Cara. They were awful and despicable. So, I did sympathize with her. For a while. Then she just got to me. She just seemed so, weak and a pushover at times. You couldn't help but get frustrated at her sometimes. When Zoe comes in, she does take an interesting personality change and Zoe is partly responsible for that. However, as the plot wore on, I rather guessed what was going on, and the underlying secret. I am not sure if the big secret was obvious to other readers who have read this book, but I did figure it out when Zoe starts to have a more prominent place in the story.

    Although it started off rather interesting, I could not help but lose interest. It was predictable, and Cara as a character just did improve and I stopped liking her. I felt sorry for her, but she didn't make herself likable at all. It came to the point where you can't feel sorry for her anymore she just became so...pathetic. She did manage to grow a spine, but it would shrink rapidly as well.

    Another thing I did not take kindly to was the animal cruelty mentioned in the book. It was horrible to read and to me, unnecessary. It was already evident that Zoe and Cara aren't really all "there" so I don't see why there had to be any mentioning of any animals being killed. The ending, well it was predictable, therefore it wasn't that exciting or a complete revelation to read. I thought there could have been more to the book.

    It's not a book I would recommend, I would say take it or leave it. I've read much better than this. It's predictable, and by the time you finished the book you find it lacking in something, perhaps a new twist should have been brought in, or something that would have brought the plot to a more interesting level.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    BookWhisperer Rating: Choker

    Choker is a truly terrifying realistic story. True horror is what you find when you read a book such as this. Cara Lange is what seems a totally ordinary child; it is incredible to experience a novel such as this. The reality of this novel will keep readers on the edge of their seat, and reflecting on the story well after the last pages. Slower pace seems to add minimal struggle through the story, but overall it is captivating and an intriguing read. The ending was so unexpected that it blew me away. Having read other books that follow the same kind of storyline it had crossed my mind that it could fall apart this way, but I had wrote it off finally believing that it was not possible. The suspense that Woods offers in Choker is incredible powerful promising for a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Premise

    I'll get the bad out of the way first. In retrospect, I think that I would have enjoyed this novel a little more if I wouldn't have guessed the plot within the first 75 pages of reading. Sometimes, when I do that, everything that leads up to the "big reveal" seems oh so very obvious. I also felt as though Cara was channeling her inner Bella Swan with her constantly convenient clumsiness. By that I mean she was too clumsy, but only when it seemed convenient in the story for her to be clumsy.

    With that being said, let's move onto the things that I did like. The cover is absolutely stunning and I am in love with it. And looking past the obviousness for me, there were some very good plot twists and more darkness to the novel than I thought there would be. Zoe was a crazy character and I found myself spooked by her on more than one occasion. Clumsiness aside, I was also very sympathetic of Cara - even up to the bitter end. However, my absolute favorite character by far was Ethan ... and that boy went through entirely too much in this novel!

    Elizabeth Woods is an amazing writer and I cannot give enough praise for how well-written and detailed this book is. She does an incredible job at fleshing out all of her characters, down to Cara's mom's cat - who I found to be a lot like my own spoiled fat cat. Like I said, I enjoyed this read ... I just guessed the plot too soon and it kind of spoiled it for me. This, however, is no cut toward the author - who's work I will follow because she's such a talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Review

    I honestly found this book very chilling, and the ending left me a little haunted. I hadn't really expected it, but if I read it again, I'm sure there might be some hints suggesting the evidence of what was happening all along.
    The thing that bothered me the most was the extremely descriptive things that were done to the animals throughout this book. I felt there wasn't really a need to include those disturbing, overly realistic details, but I suppose it did add a bit of a dark element to the plot. It really left me a little upset though, especially cerrtain scenes and details that I'm still haunted about.
    Overall, I liked the book and felt it left me thinking- and didn't have a neat, happy ending like most of the books today. As revealed throughout this book, the title Choker had more than one meaning to it, and was a very suspenseful story that left you thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Horrible

    My brain dead librarian recommended this to me. I am in 6th grade. This is the creepiest book I have ever read. DO NOT READ ITS NOT WORTH THE MONEY

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Let's talk a bit about how covers can be duplicitous.  Here we h

    Let's talk a bit about how covers can be duplicitous.  Here we have a pretty pink cover, white winter trees, a long stemmed rose and some lovely handwriting.  Sure the title sounds ominous but how dark could this book possibly be?  Take into consideration that the angle of the trees is what someone who is on their back (like, perhaps, someone who's just been murdered in the woods) might be looking at and you get some idea of just how dark this book can get.  This cover is entirely representative of the story.  Choker is a thriller disguised as a contemporary.  Woods somehow managed to fit two different plot lines into just under 240 pages.  There were several times while reading this book that I forgot it was supposed to be a thriller at all.  I just wanted Cara to win the guy of her dreams and actually make some real friends.  That is probably what made this story so unsettling.  Woods manages to catch the reader off guard by luring them into their comfort zone just before delivering her blows.




    First of all we have Cara, our main character.  She is the quintessential high school outcast.  She doesn't really have any close friends, she's super awkward and she can't seem to relate to anyone.  She's pretty miserable overall.  She's being bullied by the school's resident mean girls, their leader is dating the guy Cara is in love with.  Then her childhood friend, Zoe, appears and starts camping out in Cara's bedroom.  She starts helping Cara build up her self confidence and everything starts getting better.  It's all well and good until the bodies start piling up and Zoe seems pretty comfortable with it.  




    The "thriller" aspect of the story is an ever-present force that guides the story along without over-shadowing it.  This creates an incredibly tense and upsetting atmosphere throughout the book.  Everything seems more realistic and that's what makes it so frightening.  I saw the ending coming from a mile away but that didn't make it any less disturbing when my fears came to fruition.  This is definitely not the book for you if you like neat, tidy, happy endings.   This one stays with you for awhile and was truly and excellent read.  I'd recommend this if you are looking for something more psychological and dark than a crime thriller.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I know, I am going to use the word ‘CREEPY’, yes..



    I know, I am going to use the word ‘CREEPY’, yes..yes.....I could get the thesaurus out and look up another word, but I’m not going to. This story has awesome creepiness that clings to you.

    Oh hush, these book covers do not give you any indication what you are in for. Like blimey a pink cover or the cover with Cara on the front.

    Seriously!! Creepy, creepy and a little wrong in parts..ha! Which doesn’t make for a bad book, it actually was a real page turner.
    I really enjoyed this lunch sized novel. I did, reasonably early into the story have about four theories in my head, one kind of stuck pretty strongly and I was right. But that’s not to say that others will pick up on what the story would eventually reveal.

    I think Mr. Tim O’Rourke’s writing has taught my brain to really think differently, he is the master of deceit, so I couldn’t help doing brain gymnastics with this story. There were a couple little side order things I didn’t pick up on and I love a title to a book that means something to the story.

    I am completely overriding for my review rating, that I worked out the plot, as the book was really well written and made me ‘feel’ quite tense the whole time. I was hoping I was wrong as I was thinking how sad it would be if I was right. I didn’t want to be right, darn it!
    I did have a chuckle and Elizabeth had me reaching for Goodreads to see if she was an Australian author ( no she is not) because she wrote about an orange newsreader.....hehe!!! We have one of those on our television news . Like the girl is orange, not that there is anything wrong with that, no offence meant. I am a real white skin...so you know we all could do with a tan.

    This appears a stand alone book and I have already written to the publisher putting my 2c in for a plot thought for a second book . I know, presumptuous of me, but I could not help seeing a direction this story could take. This would make me suck up my theory big time and spin all the readers who maybe did work out the direction the story was going and pull a ‘nah..na..nah.na.nahhhh’ at all of us...or not..hehe!!! I am just a housewife blogger, what do I know.

    One particular chappy I felt sorry for, and I really love his character and want to read more about him. So, maybe this is my way of getting more Ethan * waggles eyebrows*.

    Cara’s character could be misconstrued to be a tad annoying with how easily she lets Zoe dictate to her. But you have to read the whole book. A friendship like they have , there is always a leader and a follower. A weaker and a stronger person in the relationship.
    Visually I really saw every scene really clearly. It was almost like watching a little movie in my head, especially, some of the extra creeptastic scenes. Like yowzer!!

    I recommend this book for those that like some extra creepiness with a strawberry on top....mwah...ha....ha.....haaaaaa!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Absolutly amazing!!!!!!

    So unpredictable. One of the best books ive evee read. A MUST read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    It was good but predictable.

    It was good but the first the first time Zoe appeared in Caras life again, I predicted the ending. I mean, it was kinda obvious. There were just so many signs. The most prominent sign to me were the times when Cara would imagine whatever Zoe would say or do in a particular situation and then try to act it out. It may have seemed to others that Cara was just trying to act as brave as her friend but to me, the way Cara convinced herself that she was sure this was what Zoe would do in this situation, it made me uber-suspicious. Since I guessed everything from the start, when it came down to being revealed that Cara was Coo Coo, I wasnt that shocked at all. There were parts that shocked me however, like when Caras parents recommended that she go see her therapist, when they said that Cara had Zoe as an imaginary friend from since she was young and when they revealed that Cara hadnt been taking her medication. I believe that Cara has Multiple Personality Disorder instead of imaginary friend hallucinations since Cara cant remember the actual crimes she committed and Zoe only appears when times are rough for Cara. There are a few things I wonder about though, Zoes " abuse " and the crime Zoe seemed to have committed back at " home " before " running away ". I wonder what Cara did in place of those events, if she had killed someone somewhere and has suffered any kind of abuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling Read

    A really intense book that had some predictable parts, but yes still made me gasp in shock. The min characters of Cara and Zoe were once young best friends who got into all sorts of things, but when Cara moved away, her world seemed to stop and she became more of a loner. Even though she is on the track team, she barely has any friends and no matter what she does all she gets is taunts and mean thoughts. When Zoe comes back she's a different girl. She at times is very nice to Cara and other times is very mean and biting. But the secrets that come out in this book are truly surprising and you never expect them. Its a great fast read and awesome if you like suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Just...Wow(:

    I was reading the book thinking I had the mystery down packed and all of a sudden this twist comes out of no where which made me throw my book on the ground yelling "What The Heck!!". My friends was wondering if something was wrong and of course it was! I let one of them read it and she was sucked into the book. Once I saw her finsh it she threw it on the ground as well! The book should be a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Surprisingly good :)

    This book was actually better than i expected. The cover caught my eye when i was browsing and ince i started reading i was surprised. This book s main character was very easy to make connections to and kind of reminded me of myself. The events that were in the novel were very exciting and made me as a reader think about them. The ending was the best part with a surprising and unexpected twist which made it the highlight of the whole book. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm glad I bought it! (might be a spoiler)

    I really enjoyed the whole plot and every charater...something happening each chapter made it even better! The ending made me mad, but I loved the book anyway! Buy it---it's worth it!

    The big question: is Cara really crazy or is Zoe actually real!!!???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best friends can either make you or break you

    Wow. Just WOW. choker filled me with an unexpected yet delightful horror that I am still reeling from the shocking - just SHOCKING - ending! Holy fudge sundae, I get to know a book for the first 2/3 of the story, only to get sucker-punched with no real warning! Not cool - and yet I loved it! :) I could totally relate to Cara with my fair share of humiliating high school memories, although I never had to endure any Mean Girls treatment (thank goodness!). No, but I can sympathize with Cara's feelings of loneliness and feeling like an outsider who can never quite fit into anywhere. Not to mention the major crushing on the cutest boy in school who is seven-leagues away from ever noticing a quiet mouse of a girl Zoe, on the other hand, was just plain weird - and Cara never really got into figuring out why. She simply rolled with it. Zoe stole her mom's zombie pills and dares Cara to take some? Okay. Zoe has run away and wants to stay with Cara? Okay. Zoe doesn't want Cara's parents to know she's back? Okay. Zoe smells dirty and has yellowed teeth, but seems fine with it? Okay. Zoe had poisoned the old neighbor's dog when they were kids? Okay. Zoe persuades Cara to kiss her to "practice" for the real making-out with Ethan? Okay. o_O <--my face as I want to shake some sense into Cara. Just thinking about Zoe makes me shiver still. choker will definitely thrill and chill as the incredibly creepy story unfolds, and I admit the truth seems so obvious that it really blindsides you. I almost cried for Cara at the end when everything finally came out in the open! Not to mention her crush Ethan - poor, poor guy - I can't imagine how messed up he will be for the years to follow. If you love to torture yourself with horror movies (i.e. nearly pee your pants as you jump in your chair and then laugh at your reaction afterward), I can see how choker might be a perfect addition to the bookshelf. It is definitely different from the usual pop-and-sparkle that I tend to read - this is one for the broad daylights, dear Readers, or under the bedsheets with a flashlight if you feel dramatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Thrilling

    Exciting and captivating mystery! Couldn't put it down. A little predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    hmm...

    enticing book...imagery and sensory details needed work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Great Read!

    Well... choker was a great book.... one of my favorites to read! It was not that suspenseful because i guessed the outcome but it still kept me on the edge of my seat not knowing what was around the corner. The character development and plot was great... i really felt like i was there!I recommended this book to all my friends. It was a chilling mystery and i really do hope that there is a sequel! I would like to know what happens to Zoe and Cara, and i really hope that Cara proves that Zoe is real or she is really real! I recomend this book! I WANNA SEQUEL! HAHA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3