Customer Reviews for

Chomp (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Great read, a sure hit!

Carl Hiaasen has done it again. Here is book that is still set in Florida, but the characters are universal. Meet Wahoo, the boy not the fish, son of Mickey Cray, animal wrangler. Together they join the cast of EXPEDITION SURVIVAL! to explore the wildlife of the Flor...
Carl Hiaasen has done it again. Here is book that is still set in Florida, but the characters are universal. Meet Wahoo, the boy not the fish, son of Mickey Cray, animal wrangler. Together they join the cast of EXPEDITION SURVIVAL! to explore the wildlife of the Florida Everglades. Between the two of them, a dead alligator, a indignant bat, and a survivalist who can't - hilarity reigns. This is a great action filled book, especially a good read for those in late elementary school and middle school

Highly recommended.

posted by bookwyrmian on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

CookoBird

Not really feeling this book in the series. You can trust my reviews even though I am only THIRDTEEN, I read all Carls' books with this animal series but, this book changed subjects a bunch it seemed. Once you get to the third chapter it starts to stay on one topic. Bu...
Not really feeling this book in the series. You can trust my reviews even though I am only THIRDTEEN, I read all Carls' books with this animal series but, this book changed subjects a bunch it seemed. Once you get to the third chapter it starts to stay on one topic. But, I guess it is a good book if you understand well like me....but if you have trouble focusing ad processing things quickly then please do NOT waste your money. Plus, I think this book for me was ten dollars and ninety-nine cents. So, its an okay book overall!

posted by 10475316 on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read, a sure hit!

    Carl Hiaasen has done it again. Here is book that is still set in Florida, but the characters are universal. Meet Wahoo, the boy not the fish, son of Mickey Cray, animal wrangler. Together they join the cast of EXPEDITION SURVIVAL! to explore the wildlife of the Florida Everglades. Between the two of them, a dead alligator, a indignant bat, and a survivalist who can't - hilarity reigns. This is a great action filled book, especially a good read for those in late elementary school and middle school

    Highly recommended.

    51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Sink your teeth into this must read!

    This is sure to be another hit for Hiasen! Hiasen, who specializes in books that team his love of animals and Florida with high action and great writing, tells the tale of a boy named Wahoo (yes Wahoo) that you will not be able to put down. Wahoo's family, like many these days, is struggling financially. So when his father, an animal wrangler by trade, receives an offer to work on Expedition Survival! he can't turn it down. However due to a recent injury (due to an iguana falling from the sky) he needs help and that is where Wahoo comes in. The story of their escapades on a reality show that starts out with more humor than reality quickly takes you for a ride as the show's lead star insists on the show becoming more "real" in the Florida wetlands with all of its natural animals and dangers. Mix in the reality of Wahoo and his father trying to protect his friend Tuna (yes Tuna) from her abusive father and this books dynamic characters and capturing story will have you hoping that it does not end too soon and that they will all come out alive in the end. A must read for all fans of Hiasen's Hoot and Gordon Korman's Zoobreak series. Grades 4-8

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Cant wait!!!

    I have read all of carl hiassens florida series and luv them all so much. My friends luv them too. So happy he's making another. Cant wait for it to come out!!! Will pre-order it. This is Nicole age 12 and in the 7th grade.

    18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Psycho chicken

    Awesome book! Ive read all of the books and this one is the best books so far!!!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love this book! I would recomend it. It is definetly not boring, i could never put it down. Great for middle school students like myself. If you like animals, wildlife, adventure, and action, then this is the book for you!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    CookoBird

    Not really feeling this book in the series. You can trust my reviews even though I am only THIRDTEEN, I read all Carls' books with this animal series but, this book changed subjects a bunch it seemed. Once you get to the third chapter it starts to stay on one topic. But, I guess it is a good book if you understand well like me....but if you have trouble focusing ad processing things quickly then please do NOT waste your money. Plus, I think this book for me was ten dollars and ninety-nine cents. So, its an okay book overall!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    The book, Chomp, featured two main characters in the beginning.

    The book, Chomp, featured two main characters in the beginning. Mickey Cray is one of them and he has an interesting past. He has a major concussion because of an over population of iguanas and so when a big frost hit, it froze them in a tree but no one knew that and so when he sat under a tree one fell down and hit him over the head. He now suffers from a bad concussion and the vision of seeing double. The other character is his son Wahoo who helps and takes care of his father while his mother is in china earning money to take care of the hospital bill. But something that makes Wahoo and his father different than ordinary people is that they own a whole backyard full of funky critters that you would never dream to have in your backyard. As the story goes on, Mickey and his son, both animal wranglers, have an exciting event that could change their life forever. How about a big movie star named Derek Badger who is on a TV show called Expedition Survival, where he has to survive in the wilderness. His signature is to catch critters and eat them, but what makes this celebrity so important is that Mickey gets a job offer from them. Also in the story is a young girl named Tuna who ran away to the Everglades with Wahoo and his father for a video shoot for the show. Next, Derek Badgers true identity is exposed to many people. The true identity isn’t all that good and could cost Derek his job.
    I would recommend this book because it was very suspense filled like the photo shoot in the Everglades that always kept me in suspense. The book also told a brave story at the end and even a little lesson on child abuse that was truly and eye opener. Finally, I found the book to be filled with action like water boat high speed chases or just funny quotes.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Chomp

    Great author love his books

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    TY

    Awesom, I loved it, I read it every night for 1/2 an hour to an hour, a very funny yet mysterious book. GREAT JOB CARL! ( the book d0es include cursing kidz) :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Havent read it

    Wow ive read all the books i have a ton of friends in fl and can relate with the wild life i csnt wait to read it! But its soooo expensive but the cheapest then my schools catolog $15 and barnes and noble the store $25 So $10 is amaxing!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great

    I love carls books so intersting

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book

    Excellent book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Chomp

    I think i'll like i because i liked his book Hoot

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Yes!!! Another one!!!

    I cant wait for this new book!!!! I love this sersies !!!!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jan

    This book is awsome!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    One of his mericals

    The perfect book for book project. An amazing book that you can't put down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    This new realistic fiction novel by Carl Hiaasen continu

    This new realistic fiction novel by Carl Hiaasen continues his tradition of protecting the Floridian environment and strikes a tone with most young readers. I read this book because I have read all his other environmental novels, and I like how he finally writes a novel involving more alligators as they are the most recognizable Floridian species. Now even though it had some unoriginal jokes and some unbelievable scenes (such as the crew of the survival show actually paying attention to the main character even though he is 12 years old), it contains some material, like guns and alcoholism, aimed at higher audiences. This book would find its ground for middle schoolers as they are not too young or too old.
    The book starts off as the main character, Wahoo Cray, has to deal with his dad who sustained a concussion. This disrupts the family income as Mickey Cray is an animal wrangler. Things get worse for Wahoo as his mom, who teaches senior executives how to speak Mandarin, leaves to work in China over the summer. To get extra income Wahoo and Mickey sign a contract with the reality show Expedition Survival!, but soon start to dislike the show as its “Super Star”, Derek Badger, is a complete fake. As they are filming in the Everglades, Derek gets lost and they have to form a search party. Soon everyone gets lost and there is an interesting turn of events when they are about to get rescued.
    You will not put the book down as there are some cliffhangers that will keep you hooked. The book could use some improving, especially with the dialogue and some unbelievable scenes, but I would still recommend the novel if you’re in the mood to read something, but don’t plan on an in-depth read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Teenager Wahoo Cray doesn¿t live the life of the average kid. H

    Teenager Wahoo Cray doesn’t live the life of the average kid. Having a
    dad who’s a wildlife wrangler with a private zoo, Wahoo has grown up
    with alligators, monkeys, birds of all sorts, giant tortoises, snakes,
    you name it. His dad, Mickey, hasn’t done much running of the business,
    though, since he got a concussion from being hit on the head by a
    falling iguana that died in a hard freeze. With money running low,
    Wahoo’s mom has gone to China on a two-month teaching job and she’s
    depending on Wahoo to keep an eye on his dad. Wahoo has always looked
    after all the animals, including a twelve-foot alligator named Alice
    with movie credits to her name, and he has—or actually doesn’t have—the
    missing thumb to prove it (he was showing off to a girl so he can hardly
    blame Alice). When he takes a call from Expedition Survival! looking for
    a place to shoot an episode of the reality TV show starring fake
    wrangler Derek Badger, Wahoo accepts the job on his dad’s behalf. After
    all, a thousand bucks a day plus animal rental fees is awfully hard to
    resist when you can’t pay the mortgage. Badger especially wants to
    shoot scenes with Alice and with Beulah, a fourteen-foot python with a
    penchant for biting (although she can be persuaded to let go with a slug
    of liquor). Who could predict that Derek would go missing in the
    Everglades after being bitten on the tongue by a bat that crashlanded
    into his cheesecake crumbs (of course, she wouldn’t have bitten him if
    he hadn’t tried to eat her for the camera) or that he would convince
    himself he was going to turn into a vampire? Misappropriated airboats, a
    drunk with a gun, and a kidnapped Mickey lead to more mayhem and there’s
    no one ready to come to the rescue except Wahoo and a girl named Tuna
    Gordon. Can they learn to drive an airboat to get there in time? Will
    Derek turn into a half-vampire because there’s a half-moon? Carl
    Hiaasen never fails to be entertaining and Chomp is no exception. It
    might be written for young middle-graders but adults will love all the
    action and craziness, too, and will sort of wish they could visit Wahoo
    and the family zoo.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Reading

    Im reading this currently so dont ruin anything for me! Kind of boring in the beggining but makes up for it in the end

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!! I've read all of the his books! And my favorite is scat!!

    Carl Hiassin is a-w-e-s-o-m-e!!! He is an great author for children who love awesome stuff! He is very detailed and comes up with creative ideas with amazing gusto and grace!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12