Customer Reviews for

Chomp (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Great read, a sure hit!

Carl Hiaasen has done it again. Here is book that is still set in Florida, but the characters are universal. Meet Wahoo, the boy not the fish, son of Mickey Cray, animal wrangler. Together they join the cast of EXPEDITION SURVIVAL! to explore the wildlife of the Flor...
Carl Hiaasen has done it again. Here is book that is still set in Florida, but the characters are universal. Meet Wahoo, the boy not the fish, son of Mickey Cray, animal wrangler. Together they join the cast of EXPEDITION SURVIVAL! to explore the wildlife of the Florida Everglades. Between the two of them, a dead alligator, a indignant bat, and a survivalist who can't - hilarity reigns. This is a great action filled book, especially a good read for those in late elementary school and middle school

Highly recommended.

posted by bookwyrmian on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

CookoBird

Not really feeling this book in the series. You can trust my reviews even though I am only THIRDTEEN, I read all Carls' books with this animal series but, this book changed subjects a bunch it seemed. Once you get to the third chapter it starts to stay on one topic. Bu...
Not really feeling this book in the series. You can trust my reviews even though I am only THIRDTEEN, I read all Carls' books with this animal series but, this book changed subjects a bunch it seemed. Once you get to the third chapter it starts to stay on one topic. But, I guess it is a good book if you understand well like me....but if you have trouble focusing ad processing things quickly then please do NOT waste your money. Plus, I think this book for me was ten dollars and ninety-nine cents. So, its an okay book overall!

posted by 10475316 on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love this book! I would recomend it. It is definetly not boring, i could never put it down. Great for middle school students like myself. If you like animals, wildlife, adventure, and action, then this is the book for you!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Teenager Wahoo Cray doesn¿t live the life of the average kid. H

    Teenager Wahoo Cray doesn’t live the life of the average kid. Having a
    dad who’s a wildlife wrangler with a private zoo, Wahoo has grown up
    with alligators, monkeys, birds of all sorts, giant tortoises, snakes,
    you name it. His dad, Mickey, hasn’t done much running of the business,
    though, since he got a concussion from being hit on the head by a
    falling iguana that died in a hard freeze. With money running low,
    Wahoo’s mom has gone to China on a two-month teaching job and she’s
    depending on Wahoo to keep an eye on his dad. Wahoo has always looked
    after all the animals, including a twelve-foot alligator named Alice
    with movie credits to her name, and he has—or actually doesn’t have—the
    missing thumb to prove it (he was showing off to a girl so he can hardly
    blame Alice). When he takes a call from Expedition Survival! looking for
    a place to shoot an episode of the reality TV show starring fake
    wrangler Derek Badger, Wahoo accepts the job on his dad’s behalf. After
    all, a thousand bucks a day plus animal rental fees is awfully hard to
    resist when you can’t pay the mortgage. Badger especially wants to
    shoot scenes with Alice and with Beulah, a fourteen-foot python with a
    penchant for biting (although she can be persuaded to let go with a slug
    of liquor). Who could predict that Derek would go missing in the
    Everglades after being bitten on the tongue by a bat that crashlanded
    into his cheesecake crumbs (of course, she wouldn’t have bitten him if
    he hadn’t tried to eat her for the camera) or that he would convince
    himself he was going to turn into a vampire? Misappropriated airboats, a
    drunk with a gun, and a kidnapped Mickey lead to more mayhem and there’s
    no one ready to come to the rescue except Wahoo and a girl named Tuna
    Gordon. Can they learn to drive an airboat to get there in time? Will
    Derek turn into a half-vampire because there’s a half-moon? Carl
    Hiaasen never fails to be entertaining and Chomp is no exception. It
    might be written for young middle-graders but adults will love all the
    action and craziness, too, and will sort of wish they could visit Wahoo
    and the family zoo.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Reading

    Im reading this currently so dont ruin anything for me! Kind of boring in the beggining but makes up for it in the end

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Chomp

    Chomp is another great book written by Carl Hiassen. I loved it as much as I loved his other books; Flush, Scat, and Hoot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    This was an amazing read!

    This was an amazing read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Very well written

    Th author really knows how to write. I have read the whole series and I could not wait for this book to come out. It did not dissapoint. I can not even describe how good this book is!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    This book looks really nice I've read the rest of Hiaasns books

    This book looks really nice I've read the rest of Hiaasns books and this looke really cool

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    CraxyCatLady425

    This book sounds interesting just by reading the book preview!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Great reading

    Another masterpiece. Enjoyed every sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Anonymous

    Lots of people in my grade read these never really had an opinion about these. Kinda thought they were childish. But maybe not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    How the book

    I haven't read the book but is it good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wahoo is hands down one of my favorite leading lads.  For such a

    Wahoo is hands down one of my favorite leading lads.  For such a young boy, he is remarkably caring and his concern extends not just to his friends and family, but those in need, no matter if they are two, four, or more legged.  Speaking of the two-legged variety…our friend Tuna is a special gal too, though her life has been turbulent in far more dire ways than Wahoo’s; considering he basically lives in a wildlife rehabilitation center, that’s REALLY saying something.  Let’s just say Tuna’s Dad is WAY less than worthy of the title.  Thank goodness Wahoo and his dad are there to lend a hand…even if things do get a wee more than dicey as the story moves along.




    Rolling along with the river ripples, we would be negligent if we left out the team that is Extreme Survival…mainly shining the spotlight on Derek of course.  He’s the STAR of the show. You know, the main man, the top banana, the one who actually does all the survival practices that are showcased on his amazing show…or wait, maybe not.  He manages to tick off the semi-friendly croc that resides at the Cray’s residence and get “attacked” by a bat…which if you know anything about wildlife, you know their bites carry A LOT of disease...QUITE entertaining in this case.  ^-^








    It’s a deceptively hard hitting book with an ending satisfying on many levels.  The writing allows readers to visit Florida without ever driving South.  Inside the pages you’ll get swept away by the danger the Everglades and the people in them have to offer, caught up in the emotions, revel in the respect shown for animals and habitats (by most at least) and cheer on the good guys when the cheering is good.  There’s a little something for every reader whether boy or girl, young or young at heart, and a few valuable lessons to walk away with as well.




    ****review copy received in exchange for my honest review...full post can be seen on my site***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    UNICORNS. SUCK IT.

    I would say this book is good. I WOULDNT want to be named after a fish though...Did you know unicorns eat rainvows and poop butterflys? It is true. That is why there are so few rainbows and so many butterflys. Love-The simple loner looking for a friend talking abiut unicorns. :/ i hate my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Loved it!

    Chomp was an excellent adventure story with lots of humor sprinkled throughout. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    CHOMP

    Amazing, i thought this book was very interesting. The main charecters were played and written in the best and at the same time interesting way. This book Chomp was fiction but some parts were very realistic. Animals are a main part if this book and expadition survvial i reccomened it to all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Pickles part 2

    I hope you read. Part 1 is at Hoot. (Same author.) Enjoy!- It felt good in my tree. I dunno why they call me Pickles, probably they fed me lots of pickles when I was young. "Hey," someone was outside, knocking on the tree. "Hey, its me, Colin McJump. Apollo kid, 5 foot 6." The voice said. "Colin, leave. I wanna be alone." I said. "Well, fine. But give me a proper send-off." I hopped out and punched him in the eye. "Proper enough for ya?" I asked. Colin winced, but nodded. "Too violent. But proper enough." He said. I grinned. "CAMPFIRE!" Chiron roared. A bunch of campers crowded into their stands. "Welcome back, everybody. What happened to you, Colin?" Chiron asked. "Pickles happened." Colin muttered. "Oh. Alena, Nero, no kissing now, please." A girl and a boy groaned. I recognized them as the weirdos who tried to get me to teach them the song I'd sung earlier. "Nero, lead us." Chiron said. Nero started singing 'Counting Stars' and 'This is war'. I didn't know where 'This is war' came from, but I went with it. Then, the lights flickered. The ground shook. "EARTHQUAKE!!!" Milo the satyr cried. We tumbled and everything went black.- Guess what? My birthday is soon! Its on Thursday. The next part is at the City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau. And I may not be able to write 24-7. But everyone will be in the story at some point! Character apps are a voldy res 6. Good night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Carl Hiaasen is always reliable for a fun book. This is another

    Carl Hiaasen is always reliable for a fun book. This is another outrageous collection of characters going wildly off the rails. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    In Chomp, the star of the new reality television show, Derek, ¿g

    In Chomp, the star of the new reality television show, Derek, “gets bitten by a bat and goes missing in a storm.” I don’t know why that is so funny, but as soon as I read it I knew I would love “Chomp.” 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Chomp by Carl Hiassen

    I recommend this book. I couldn't guess what would happen next! Criminals surprised me and adventure kept me on the edge of my seat. I also spent a lot of time laughing out loud while reading. Hiassen is a talented writer; if you liked Chomp then I suggest you try Hoot, Flush, or Scat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3