BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Choose to Lose: The 7-Day Carb Cycle Solution

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

The easiest non-diet to follow! EVER!

This book is like the key to the puzzle of how to lose weight. The book itself is well written and you can tell Chris took the time and really thought it out. It has his verbiage so you know HE WROTE THE BOOK, there's no question about it. It's not another one of those ...
This book is like the key to the puzzle of how to lose weight. The book itself is well written and you can tell Chris took the time and really thought it out. It has his verbiage so you know HE WROTE THE BOOK, there's no question about it. It's not another one of those books aiming to inspire you to lose weight by doing the same exercises. This is a TOTALLY fresh and original way to lose weight. Read the book from front to back - I finished it in 3 days, you'll be happy you did. Also, DO THE 'EXERCISES' TO PUT YOUR MIND IN CHARGE OF YOUR BODY. It seems silly, until you stand in front of the mirror, and actually see what Chris is telling you to do and see your body for what it really is. He calls you out on not doing it (loved that part, too haha). This book will definitely help fight obesity in America, if everyone reads the entire book. It's a very easy program to follow, and you get to enjoy foods you enjoy. YOU WILL NOT BE HUNGRY.

posted by W-Tramontana on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Sounds good,makes sense,but is it realistic?

I like the idea but certain things i dont feel i can do long term. No milk allowed not even in coffee. Protein every meal 5 meals a day. If you dont like eggs every a.m. you are left with plain yogurt or cottage cheese. Also in order to get protein in 2 of the 5 times i...
I like the idea but certain things i dont feel i can do long term. No milk allowed not even in coffee. Protein every meal 5 meals a day. If you dont like eggs every a.m. you are left with plain yogurt or cottage cheese. Also in order to get protein in 2 of the 5 times i need to rely in whey or similiar protein shakes.

There are plenty of proteins,carbs, and fats you can choose from on this program. However, the program does have many restrictions. If its not on the list you cant eat it. The only up side to that is you are allowed cheat meals or you can make sunday a free day. This may be my saving grace if i try this diet.

I normally do weight watchers where i can have milk and flavored yogurt, icecream and anything i want as long as i count points. I was looking 4 something different, because of little success. Due to that reason alone i might give this a try or atleast begin adding small changes to my WW plan (e.g. make high point days using activity points and your extra weekly points, and fluctuate high and low point days, no simple sugars, eating protein first then carbs, cutting back on milk-NOT eliminating it.

In the end i think its an interesting read. Maybe borrow it from a friend or library first though to make sure its for you.
Regardless of if you follow it to the letter, there are ideas you can take and use such as his fitness plan and other tips and info in this book.

posted by RARNY on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    The easiest non-diet to follow! EVER!

    This book is like the key to the puzzle of how to lose weight. The book itself is well written and you can tell Chris took the time and really thought it out. It has his verbiage so you know HE WROTE THE BOOK, there's no question about it. It's not another one of those books aiming to inspire you to lose weight by doing the same exercises. This is a TOTALLY fresh and original way to lose weight. Read the book from front to back - I finished it in 3 days, you'll be happy you did. Also, DO THE 'EXERCISES' TO PUT YOUR MIND IN CHARGE OF YOUR BODY. It seems silly, until you stand in front of the mirror, and actually see what Chris is telling you to do and see your body for what it really is. He calls you out on not doing it (loved that part, too haha). This book will definitely help fight obesity in America, if everyone reads the entire book. It's a very easy program to follow, and you get to enjoy foods you enjoy. YOU WILL NOT BE HUNGRY.

    41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Love the program; can't wait to buy the book!

    I started doing his carb on/carb off program in the fall when he was on the Dr. Oz Show. I lost 30 lbs. without a book. I can't wait to buy the book. I have 10 lbs. to go!

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I have been on the weight loss roller coaster for about 30 years

    I have been on the weight loss roller coaster for about 30 years and have spent the last three years on the same coaster with my husband. We both have a decent amount of weight to loss and got tired of trying the eat like a bird diet plans. We started watching Extreme Makeover Weight Loss Edition with Chris Powell and just absolutely fell in love with him. He motivates and inspires people daily. One day my husband was watching his stuff on you tube and discovered that he had this book. We bought the book and it changed our whole view on "dieting". This book will truely change your mind on food and your inner self wether you have 10 pounds to lose or 300. The plan is easy to follow if you pay attention. You set up your own meals in approriate portion sizes (it is all explained) with the calories you should have and everything. He gives you morning shapers to do every other morning and teaches you to transform your mind and allow your mind to rule your body. There is no I can't if you just believe in yourself. We only started a week ago and together we have lost 21 pounds. We have many more to go but we are motivated due to the changing of minds and becoming "athletes in training!" I highly recommend that you get this book and follow this plan. It WILL work if you put mind over matter and believe it can. Follow it and you too will be successful! Good luck and I KNOW YOU CAN ALL DO IT TOO!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great Book! Easy to Follow!

    I read this book in about a day, it's only about 160 pages. In the preview you do not get anything of the actual plan because he begins with lots of background necessary for understanding why you should be following the plan. There's some inspirational stuff from his own life as well as from one of his clients. But, the actual plan is easy to follow and it makes sense! I've been doing it about a week and I already notice changes in myself, both physically and mentally. This is something anyone can follow and you can eat good food that you like and even cheat a little (NOT BINGE) because it's good for your metabolism! I actually felt too full the first couple of days from all the food I had to eat. This book is all about portions, using your metabolism to your benefit, and eating food groups in the right way. This is finally a book that anyone can follow! Yes, you will have to buy healthier options and get used to things like whole grain breads and pastas and put away the so called "healthy" things that aren't really that good for you, like regular yogurt. But, there are easy recipes and simple exercises that leave you sore even if you worked out before! But, on this plan you can have meat, pasta, cheese, peanut butter, etc, as long as it's the right kind of meat, pasta, cheese, and peanut butter and as long as it's in the right size for you. You don't get to see much in the preview, but it's worth it!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    This book is awesome. I have not started yet (next week) but I

    This book is awesome. I have not started yet (next week) but I can tell. Hell, I've read every diet book out there, and this one takes the cake. This is doable, and very similar to the only one that has ever worked for me, only this is better. I recommend this book. I really like that he has worked with people who are severely overweight. He knows that it is very different than working with someone who needs to loose 50 or less pounds. If you need to loose 50 or more, this guy knows what it's all about. I have 150 pounds to loose (wow, that is hard to admit). If you have never struggled with food addiction, you cannot know what it is like....and it is not like other addictions, it is truly unique, but this guy gets it, and this book is like a breath of fresh air. Even if you are new to weight loss, you'll love this book. It is so well written, easy to understand. He doesn't over complicate it or get wordy just to fill pages. It reads like a normal conversation, you can understand it, which will make it easier to follow. He used the analogy of a furnace to explain the way the body uses energy....and I GOT IT....a light switch went on. I am so happy to have purchased this instead of the other one I was looking at.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    very informative!

    I just finished reading the book and loved the information provided in regards to macro-nutrients and the important roll each plays in a person's metabolism. If a pregnant/breastfeeding woman wants to purchase the book just for weight loss, don't waste your money. I am breastfeeding and the very first thing written is to not follow the eating plan- bummer!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesomeness

    Chris Powell is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Good book with some good ideas. Not just a low carb Atkins diet.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Healthy diet****

    I have followed this diet for a week now but have not lost any weight yet. I would like to hear from other people that have tried it, if it works and is so, how much longer do I have to wait to see results. I am getting discouraged:(

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Can't Wait!

    So excited for this book to be released. I know it will be as impressive as Chris Powell

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Can you drink diet drinks such as diet soda, diet ice tea, cryst

    Can you drink diet drinks such as diet soda, diet ice tea, crystal light drinks? Are you limited? I started Atkins Diet 3 weeks ago lost 10 pounds then for some unknown reason I gained 2-1/2 back and I don't understand how..I didn't cheat or change anything. I sure hope this diet works better. I really want a diet I can be at ease with and I love what I am hearing that he tells you how to exercise and helps mentally and physically not just diet wise. I have to buy the book then I will get started! Wish me luck and please send me tips or ideas. We should all keep in touch so we can help each other through this journey. Good luck to you all and God Bless!!! Thank You Chris you are amazing can't wait till 8:00 Extreme Weight Loss is on tonight :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    love it

    Got me motavated again





    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    I love Chris Powell and this book does not disappoint. It is very easy to follow, it's concise, great recipes also

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Look forward to reading-- on the NOOK????

    I hope this book will be available for the NOOK!!

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Carb Cycling

    I love the easy way he breaks down creating a new lifestyle. My favorite part of this book is his explanation of carb cycling and some of the recipes. I still go back and use some recipes periodically but love the protein shake one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2