Customer Reviews for

Choosing to SEE: A Journey of Struggle and Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

An Inspiring Read from an honest mother!

This book is a true account of Mary Beth Chapman's loss as a mother. This book made me smile, made me laugh and made me cry.... That is a sign of a great book in my eyes. What I found most fascinating about this book is the fact that even though Mary Beth & Steven are ...
This book is a true account of Mary Beth Chapman's loss as a mother. This book made me smile, made me laugh and made me cry.... That is a sign of a great book in my eyes. What I found most fascinating about this book is the fact that even though Mary Beth & Steven are public figures serving the Lord, they still went through all 7 steps of loosing their daughter just as any mom and dad would. Mary Beth reveals her anger and struggles to understand why... why take her child? Why of all people does she have to handle this. As a mom I was so able to relate to her pain.... And found comfort in knowing that ALL of us scream at and question the Lord when bad things happen.... The raw emotion she shares with us, her reader, makes you feel as if you are sitting on a couch talking with her. It breaks my heart still that she had a story like this to write about, but thank her for sharing her pain and struggles with us. A coworker of mine just lost her 17 year old son, and I have recommended this book for her to read. I think knowing that you are not alone in the pain is a relief.

posted by Booknerd-momma on March 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This book put me in a huge weekend depression!

We read this selection for our Christian bookclub. Even tho, yes I am a Christian, I just didn't like it. I found it hugely depressing, and a bit egotisical. Sorry.

posted by MotherMoonie on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    An Inspiring Read from an honest mother!

    This book is a true account of Mary Beth Chapman's loss as a mother. This book made me smile, made me laugh and made me cry.... That is a sign of a great book in my eyes. What I found most fascinating about this book is the fact that even though Mary Beth & Steven are public figures serving the Lord, they still went through all 7 steps of loosing their daughter just as any mom and dad would. Mary Beth reveals her anger and struggles to understand why... why take her child? Why of all people does she have to handle this. As a mom I was so able to relate to her pain.... And found comfort in knowing that ALL of us scream at and question the Lord when bad things happen.... The raw emotion she shares with us, her reader, makes you feel as if you are sitting on a couch talking with her. It breaks my heart still that she had a story like this to write about, but thank her for sharing her pain and struggles with us. A coworker of mine just lost her 17 year old son, and I have recommended this book for her to read. I think knowing that you are not alone in the pain is a relief.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    (To Infinity and) BEYOND Amazing!!!

    Words cannot adequately express the ways in which Mary Beth's honesty has touched me. I am in 'the Club' with her, as a brokenhearted Mom who also had to bury her daughter. MB has shown such bravery, such courage as she has opened her heart for the world to see. I can say that there is NO GREATER PAIN for a Mommy, than to have to bury our child, and then be forced to go on -- to function, to live -- in my early days after our daughter died suddenly, it felt like someone chopped off my leg, with no anesthesia, and then told me to 'Walk! Move forward, carry on, your other children need you!' Trust me when I tell you ~ when a mother loses her child, even though she has other children and loves them immensely, there is a period of time where the hole in her heart is BIGGER than the deep love that she has for her remaining children. It just is. There is a part of Mary Beth's heart that will forever be incomplete, until she is reunited with her precious Goober! Just like there's an 'Emily-shaped' hole in my heart! ~~ Mary Beth, thank you SO MUCH, for candidly opening your heart and for allowing us to share in your grief and also in your joy! I plan to write to you personally, as I want to share with you some AMAZING similarities in our journeys. I love you and although we'd give it all back in a heartbeat, our hearts are forever tied, as we share a pain that we hope no Mommy ever has to endure! Continuing to lift the Chapman Clan up to the Throne! ~ Love, Wen Gutreuter

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Do you SEE?

    You will find yourself engaged in this heart wrenching non-fiction story. You will go through the horrible tragedy that took the youngest Chapman child, Maria, and the days following. You will start to feel the pain of Mary Beth, Steven, and their 5 other children: Emily, Caleb, Will,(and their adopted children)Shaoey, and Stevey Joy. You will be encouraged to have faith and look to God, as you see Mary Beth heal from her pain. My favorite part is when Emily and her fiancee find out the true Chinese meaning of Maria's name. The most important thing I learned is to put your Faith in God in the most difficult times. I thought the book was good because it showed that a good Christian family can get through the most difficult parts of life. I think that kids with great faith or going through a tough time through ages 11 and up should read this heart-aching book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Beautiful

    This is a beautifully written book that shares not only the hurt and the sadness but the joy and grace in it too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    AWESOME book...

    Wow, I am a mom to three awesome kids... and reading their story really hit home in a way that they are just like us.. all one in Gods eyes.. I felt really moved reading this.. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone... I have already passed it to numorous friends as I bought it in hardback.. such an awesome read...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    God is awesome

    it is a great inspirstional book. mainly becsusr is real. christians suffer but our blessed hope in Jesus keeps us going. Thank you for being such a family of faith that actually chose to put words into actions! i choose to see. God bless

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    So incredibly honest about her journey of growing her marriage and family and the ultimate loss any parent could experience...the death of a child. Through it all she looks to God and her Christian faith but admits to struggling and questioning. I laughed and I cried as I read this book and have recommended it highly to friends and family. An absolutely beautiful book, written straight from a woman/wife/mother's heart. You wil not regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Dealing with Life's adversities and growing your faith

    Very personal, open and honest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Amazing book

    Having lost a daughter I was drawn to their story. I love that she shares their whole story not just their loss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Excellent reading!

    I started to read this book on vacation and found myself so enthralled that I couldn't put it down. I was moved to tears (literally). The subject matter is by no means light an airy, but the authors interject with humor and tie things together at all the right moments. Mary Beth Chapman is very honest about what she perceives to be her shortcomings, but in actuality they are signs of her grace and her strength. Anyone who is mourning the loss of a loved one and trying to maintain their faith could gain a lot from her experience. Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Not exactly what I had expected, but in a good way. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to others

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Great read

    Great read to understand how faith helps you though hard times and know this is not the end. This world is not our real home. Thank you to the Chapman's for sharing their story for other's to share and believe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Choosing to SEE--Three very powerful words.

    Mary Beth Chapman is a true woman of faith. Following the death of daughter Maria, she has learned to SEE. The three powerful words left for her under a picture drawn by Maria.

    The light blub finally came back on for me. I have been a Christian for years. However, like many it has been difficult to really SEE that God is in control. Mary Beth's words have helped me to begin the journey to find my eye's to SEE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing read, you won't be disappointed!

    All I can say is "Oh my goodness, you have to read this book!" Let me make something clear, I enjoy reading all kinds of books, but if it is not a story, not fiction, the likelihood of me actually finishing it is small. I read this book cover to cover, in a matter of days. It spoke to my mother's heart, my woman's heart, and my spiritual heart. It is Mary Beth's testimony and it is so powerful, it truly will change lives!

    Many of you will remember that a few years back, Steve and Mary Beth Chapman lost their youngest daughter, their son hit her with his car. Yes, this is the story of that, but more than that, this is the story of their family. Of their lives. Of their adoptions, their careers, their testimony. Have you been craving to read something real? Have you gone to church and left feeling that everyone was fake, putting on a sunny smile where no one is free to be real????? This book will shatter all the pretenses. Mary Beth is not perfect. Yes, reply with the sunday school answer that no one is. But there you go, a perfect little sunday school answer. Mary Beth gave me a sense of freedom, she made me want to reach out and share my imperfections, relate to her, talk to her, be real with her. And that, my friends, is the power of a testimony. Not to be a pretty little package all tied up with a bow. But to be messy, to be real, and to be used for God's glory to touch lives and hearts, giving people a chance to relate! To feel that they are not alone!

    Anyways, all that being said, this book truly did start a change in my life. A passion to be real. And a passion for adoption. Adoption is always something I have considered, but after reading this book, I put it down and told Jonathan "we will adopt one day". We will wait until God opens that door financially and emotionally for us as a family, but I know with all my heart that the day will come when we will fulfill our calling to look after the fatherless. There is a child out there who needs a mother, and I intend to find him/her.

    Read this book! You will not be sorry you did. Give it as a gift, keep it in your bookshelf, but don't just put it on the side to think about.... sit down and read it. It will have you laughing, crying, and will show you the power of a true testimony!

    **I received a complimentary copy of this book through Baker Publishing Group

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    This book was very well written and life changing.

    If you want to see life differently read this book. Her heart breaking true story will make you see that the petted little things just don't matter anymore! Read this if you are willing to choose to see! GREAT READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Would Have Known? Amazing! Just Amazing!

    I can not think of anything else to say that would do this book justice. I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    In Choosing to SEE, Mary Beth Chapman shares the story of her li

    In Choosing to SEE, Mary Beth Chapman shares the story of her life and how the reality differs from her carefully planned out life. Readers might know of her as the wife of singer Steven Curtis Chapman, but through her book, readers can get to know her as a woman, wife, and mother.

    What impressed me the most about this book from start to finish is the honesty. Chapman shares the good, the bad, and the ugly parts of her life. Sometimes it is easy to dehumanize celebrities or singers and put them on pedestals and forget they are people just like us. Chapman shares her struggles with depression, her insecurities, and past regrets. In doing so, she makes herself accessible to readers. She also shares some funny stories along the way.

    The story of the tragic loss of their daughter was difficult to read. I anticipated that she would share in the book about how her faith in God helped her cope with the loss and provided peace to her and her family. What was surprising (in a good way) to me was the way Chapman shared how she and her husband coped with the grief and cried out to God in that grief. The scenes of Steven screaming out to God in their soundproof room, or pounding on the windows of the car stay with you, as does the scene of Mary Beth exchanging clothes with her friends in the hospital room so that the blood-soaked clothes don't scare their other daughters.

    If you are a mother, this book is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Ji



    Yigk
    Uoyo
    Bmn,
    Hjyiyo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Awesome read about Mary Beth Chapmans's life and struggles. Love

    Awesome read about Mary Beth Chapmans's life and struggles. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Ok

    It was a very sad story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9