Customer Reviews for

The Chosen

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMENDED BY ME

This is one of the best books I've ever read. After reading it for a while you become enthraled in it.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Review

I am not much of a reader and I can honestly say I did not enjoy this book. The book seemed to move really slowly. I found myself reading and getting lost not knowing what I had read. The book did have good point. It shows that you should be yourself and do what you...
I am not much of a reader and I can honestly say I did not enjoy this book. The book seemed to move really slowly. I found myself reading and getting lost not knowing what I had read. The book did have good point. It shows that you should be yourself and do what you want in life. The book shows good conflicts between friends growing up. One major conflict of the book is when Reuven is injured in a baseball game and is almost blinded. This allows him to see the importance of his eyesight. This causes tension between him and Danny. (Danny being the one who hit the ball.) A quote that stood out to me was ¿We are commanded to study His Torah! We are commanded to sit in the light of the Presence! It is for this that we were created! . . . Not the world, but the people of Israel!¿ Reb Saunders explaining how he feels about Jews being the chosen people said this quote. I disliked this book and feel that its just not my type of book.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Outstanding!

    This is by far one of my favorite books of all time. I love anything written by Chaim Potok, but this book is indeed quite special. The author gives compelling insight into the unique differences between various sects of Judaism, as well as dealing with the delicate issues of father and son relationships, self acceptance, forgiveness and courage. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    One of the all time best books

    A beautiful story set in an Orthodox Jewish area of Brooklyn, telling the story of two teenage boys who come from very similar yet vastly different Orthodox backgrounds. The book is full of grace

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    The Chosen

    If you like real life novels then you¿ll like The Chosen because this book is amazing. This book will show a real life situation and a way to handle this kind of situation. This book will not only teach you but show you how Danny and Reuven ,protagonist, handled this problem with their parents and with other. This book is fabulous when you don¿t know what o do in lifetime crisis and social problems in that surround you everyday. The Chosen is also a great, contemplative, outstanding piece of reading that will explain and show how the Jewish culture is about. Learning about Jews is reverent because they believe a certain way and even act a different way, that fits what they strongly believe in. If you would love to comprehend about Jewish culture and learn more about their background and experiences of a Jew, you should read The Chosen because is every detailed. This book¿s summary would mainly be about two teenagers and their parents. These two teenagers Reuven and Danny don¿t just meet as many of met. Reuven and Danny met by a accident that occurred to Reuven Malter during a baseball game. From there on, Reuven and Danny became best friends, while both attending same college and becoming classmates. But the story doesn¿t end there, while their friendship is developing everyday more and more, Reuven and Danny¿s father don¿t agree with each other so this book explains about how Reuven and Danny started to have trouble with each other and with there parents.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    HIGHLY RECOMENDED BY ME

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. After reading it for a while you become enthraled in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Interesting Book

    This book was forced on me by my summer reading list for English class, and I was pleasantly surprised, so much so that I have read it more than once. Two boys who practically hate each other at first become friends and have to overcome the drastic differences between their families. While they are both Jewish, there are more differences and prejudices than I thought possible. This book follows the boys from mid-teens through college. Reuven (the narrator) lives with his father (his mother died when he was much younger) while Danny (w/ father, mother, and two siblings) copes with his father expecting him to follow in the line of rabbis that all the oldest men of their family have been. Danny wants to be a psychologist, which is so not cool if you are an Hasidic Jew. Reuven is the opposite; his loving father would like him to become a mathematician or scholar, but Reuven wants to become a rabbi. The fathers are very different in that one forces while the other is content that his son has thought through his choice. It is wonderful to see two boys that are actually friends (in that they talk about the important things as well as the silly) and how they stand by each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    The Chosen was a great book!!!

    I have read this book through many times. Everytime that I read, I find myself enjoying it more and more. This book is a great teacher about friendship, parents and dealing with hardships that come in your life. Reuven, the main character, is immersed in a world of pain and hardship. He goes through many things in the book that people can relate to. This book taught me a lot about how to deal with those things that come up, and how others deal with them. On the otherside, this book was a bit confusing. It discussed Jewish customs that I know nothing about. I could not relate to the Jewish side of the book at all. Overall, this book was very good. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    hi

    I love this book and agree with most of the positive reviews here. When I read the first few pages, I had VERY high doubts. THANK GOD I KEPT READING. It's so insightful and inspiring, and just...well, like the book says at times...there's so much depth--if I even try to explain, I'll butcher it so I'll leave it at that. I now know there's a sequel, and I'm actually a bit apprehensive about reading it--only because this book is so whole, that a second part seems unnecessary to me. Ah well. I can somewhat understand how some people found it disappointing though...I s'pose it wouldn't hurt to be interested in history to read it, but there's so much more BEYOND that. It's the reader's choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    I highly recommend it.

    This novel ¿The Chosen¿ by Chaim Potok is by far the best book I have ever read. I don¿t read unless I¿m forced but when I read the chosen I couldn¿t let go of the book I had to know what happened next. This story is about two Jewish boys one named Rueven Malter and the other named Danny Saunders. Both of them are having problems getting to know their own father. This is all happening during World War II. The setting is Bronx, New York. So if you like funny, sad, and suspenseful books then I strongly recommend ¿The Chosen.¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read the Chosen in my English 2 Honors class in high school. Every single student who read it before me told me the book was horrible and I would hate it. I went into it expecting it to be incredibly boring and a complete waste of time. I was surprised to find how wrong everyone else was! The Chosen was very good, although, I must warn future readers, there's a lecture by Reb Saunders (a rabbi) in the second part that's absolutely killer to get through. It drags on for pages and pages, but if you can trudge through that, it's smooth sailing! Highly recommended to all ages, although if you're not interested in history this book is not for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    My Review

    I am not much of a reader and I can honestly say I did not enjoy this book. The book seemed to move really slowly. I found myself reading and getting lost not knowing what I had read. The book did have good point. It shows that you should be yourself and do what you want in life. The book shows good conflicts between friends growing up. One major conflict of the book is when Reuven is injured in a baseball game and is almost blinded. This allows him to see the importance of his eyesight. This causes tension between him and Danny. (Danny being the one who hit the ball.) A quote that stood out to me was ¿We are commanded to study His Torah! We are commanded to sit in the light of the Presence! It is for this that we were created! . . . Not the world, but the people of Israel!¿ Reb Saunders explaining how he feels about Jews being the chosen people said this quote. I disliked this book and feel that its just not my type of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Not recommended for 9th grade honors english students

    My son had to read this book during the summer prior to honors english. He really did not care for the book. I do not think he could appreciate the characters and the struggles that were being depicted. I think the book is most likely a very good book but the auidience, in this case, was not appropriate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Potok's Best Work Ever!!!

    Chaim Potok's novel The Chosen was first published in 1967, by Fawcett Columbine Book Company, and has been a capturing read to anyone who picks up this masterpiece. A fictional story, placed in the streets of Brooklyn, New York, of two teenagers living separate lives, accidently crossing paths to create a friendship that both will cherish forever. Set in a small community with two diverse neighborhoods - Hebrew-Jewish and Russian Hassidic Jews. Reuven Malter, the narrator in this story, is a sixteen-year-old boy who is passionate about his Jewish heritage and is pushed to become a mathematician or scientist by his father who is the rabbi of his community. Danny Saunders, a sixteen year old boy who loves math and science is expected by his father, who is the strict rabbi of the Hassidic Jews and by others around him to become the next leader of the 'tribe.' The two teenagers meet in a game of baseball where Danny hits a baseball into Reuven's eye and is hospitalized. Reuven over time begins to forgive Danny and the two become very close friends. The mood changes from anger to companionship which is the main theme throughout the novel. In this time setting the two experience what is occurring during WWII where religion is the most important article that both depend on. What made this piece very special was how it gave very patent descriptions on the different sects of Judaism. Compared to other works of its time, The Chosen displays how strong human relations are and how others can forgive each other. I enjoyed this book so much through its various emotional features and how it reveals the potential of human kindness and loyalty to others. Potok captures the very essence of forgiveness, compassion, and acceptance of others through his novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Phenomenal Read!

    From the moment I picked this book up, I could not put it down. It captivated me with an action packed, fast paced beginning, that continued to the very end. However, The Chosen did not fail to include any of the little details, or descriptions that truly turn text into a picture in the readers mind. Not one point was missed, and not once did I find myself questioning what was happening. Mostly, I enjoyed how in depth this book was. I found myself delving deep into my mind to comprehend what I found to be the extremely interesting, and touching points in this book. The Chosen describes the loss of friends, loved ones, and bluntly shows how cruel life can be, bringing the reader into a world of reality. Having said that, the sad moments are very well contradicted by touching moments of love, friendship, and compassion. Some points of happiness, and the way lives are turned around, can bring a person to the brink of tears. The way this story was written, from the silent rabbi father, to the genius son, can intrigue anyone into never putting the book down until it ends. After reading, as well, there are also some valuable lessons to be learned. Afterwards, you are likely to take away lessons that teach the value of love, parenting, friendship, and much, much, more. Grab this book off the shelf of your library, and I promise you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Why I like it...

    I would most definitely recommend this book to someone else because it's just that type of book. When I first bought this book, it was for my English class, but after I read it, I don't regret buying it. I really like this story of two boys from different worlds, and how they became friends. This book has showed me friendships, how it can survive even the worst of it, but mainly about silence. I never really thought about silence, how it can affect someone's life, until I've read this book. I also love how Chaim Potok put each boy into their own obstacles, and how they overcame it. The relationships with other characters also, and ended the story with just the right ending to the story. I can't wait to read the next one. ^^ And I hope you will give this book a try, if you're one of those type of people who likes to read fiction, but not about magic and stuff, but about common things in our life, this is the perfect book to read. Hope it helped! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Holds ones interest; hard to stop reading

    Very moving and real storyline; well written; excellent learning tool about relationships in family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    great book

    this book follows the freinship of two jewish teenage boys, one very orthodox and the other not so much. It is neat to see how they learn and how much you learn yourself while reading this book. I learned a lot of interesting things about jewish costums and the jewish religion itself. It is a wonderful store of knowledge and an exalent read with a good storyline. I love reading this book and feel like i learn something knew everytime. I would recomend this book to anyone and everyone. A definite classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    an OK book

    If you like helping a friend, overcoming big problems, and achieving what you want to do in life then you will like The Chosen because this book will impress you a lot. This book will help people learn how to overcome great difficulties. The characters in this book all have problems with there dads and there religion and at the end they become successful and achieve what they bereave in the most. This book will make sure they stay positive and not negative in hard times. The setting in this book mainly takes place in the Jewish part of New York. In that place there are the orthodox and the normal Jews. The setting focuses in the Jewish part of New York only, but there will be a few times the setting does change but not too many. In my opinion the writer makes it less complicated by focusing on the plot more then the setting changes, making the book easier to understand. The plot in this book focuses on how Reuven entered Danny Saunders¿ life and he had to help him become free from his dad, and get him what he wants. In my opinion the plot gets slow and boring towards the middle, but at the last few pages it gets interesting. I will not recommend this book to anyone who likes fast paced plots that are not repetitive as this book¿s plot is the exact opposite. The story contains three main characters, Danny Saunders, Reuven, and Rev Saunders, who is Danny¿s dad. Reuven is trying to make his friend free from the control of his dad. But Danny¿s dad is a very powerful rabbi in the Jewish community, making Reuven have no support at all. In my opinion the characters are the people that dot make this story boring and help out in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    It's awesomely amazing

    I chose The Chosen by Chaim Potok over the summer. The Chosen talks about things that happen in the past but we don¿t know if it is true or not that¿s why the book is realistic fiction. This story takes place in Brooklyn, New York during the World War II. It¿s also appropriate for ages 13 and older because it talks about history, two friends who have a big differences between each other, and it has 284 pages. There are two Jewish boys age of 15 years old named Reuven and Danny. Danny has a beard and ear locks and talks mainly of a language called Yiddish. Danny¿s tradition is to wear formal clothes everyday, study Talmud, and never shave or cut off neither the beard nor ear locks. Reuven speaks mainly English and dresses casually. Reuven and Danny meet each other at a baseball game. When Reuven first sees Danny he starts hating him. Reuven is later taken to a hospital after the ball hits his eye. When Reuven was in the hospital Danny goes and visits him and they become friends. After Reuven gets out the hospital, he goes and visits Danny¿s family. Reuven realizes that Danny and his family barely communicate with each other only with studying. One day Reuven¿s dad had a rally and he was to make a speech but when Danny¿s father realizes what the speech was about he gets mad and tells Danny to never speak to Reuven. When the Jewish state was being established Danny and Reuven were still not talking to each other and their friendship almost got broken up. Reb Suanders, Danny¿s dad, later forgets about the Jewish state and Danny and Reuven were able to talk to each other again. Danny later needs Reuven¿s help to tell Reb Saunders that he doesn¿t want to talk his place in being a rabbi. The conflict between Reuven and Danny is that they have differences that make their life difficult. My connection with the book is when Danny¿s father plans out his life is the same thing that my parents are doing. If you are a kind of person who likes books with big conflicts then you will like The Chosen because it talks about two friends trying to stick together. The reason I chose this book is because of the history in it and how people¿s lives have change since than.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    This book maybe worth it

    If you like ¿love, compassion, and friendship¿ then you will like this book The Chosen. This book is basically about two boys that you would think would never become friends in the beginning but end up being the best of friends. Its takes place around World War II and D- day. As this book goes on you will also see a big bond between Revuen and his friend Danny and the rest of the family and friends. In the beginning to this was so boring and I kept falling asleep, then has it went on it a little bit better but I still didn¿t enjoy this book all that much. It was just too slow and it wasn¿t working out for me. But I hope you enjoy the book and if you do well you must really love books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    the chosen

    The Chosen Chaim Potok is the author behind the brilliant story of The Chosen. Chaim Potok writes about the life of two boys and their struggles. The book is about a boy named Reuven who is Jewish and how he is living his life in Brooklyn during World War II. This book shows the struggles of two friends and how religion is affecting them from being friends. If you like books that talk about friendship and how something is getting in the way of doing then you would love to read The Chosen. The book is about how Reuven meets Danny after getting hit by a baseball and how they become best friends. Reuven soon finds out that Danny¿s father who is a rabbi is raising Danny in silence. The only thing that Danny and his father talk about is about religion and nothing more because his father is a rabbi at a synagogue. When Danny¿s father dies Danny is suppose to become the new rabbi, but Danny does not want to be a rabbi, instead he wants to be a physiologist and doesn¿t know how to tell his father. In order to know what happens you must know read The Chosen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7