Customer Reviews for

Chosen

Average Rating 4
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Wild Romantic Suspense Ride This book grabbed me from the first

Wild Romantic Suspense Ride This book grabbed me from the first line and
didn’t let go until the end. Fast-paced and action-packed, it had me
flipping my virtual Kindles pages at mach speed. The author hardly ever
lets the reader catch their breath. The suspense plot is...
Wild Romantic Suspense Ride This book grabbed me from the first line and
didn’t let go until the end. Fast-paced and action-packed, it had me
flipping my virtual Kindles pages at mach speed. The author hardly ever
lets the reader catch their breath. The suspense plot is tight and keeps
us guessing. We, just like Emma, Will and Jake, have no idea who the bad
men are and why they’re after them until the end. The Characters Will
is a tortured hero hiding behind a cocky persona. I love how the author
didn’t make him so self-assured that he can’t hide that he’s freaked out
and a little scared of a 5 year old. Emma is believable as a mother
doing everything in her power to keep her son safe. However, my
mommy-meter went off every time Emma cusses like a sailor in front of
her young child. During moments of life-threatening danger, I can
understand letting one or two fly, but she didn’t seem to have a mommy
filter on when things weren’t so tense. Jake is a child who is wise
beyond his years. He’s confused as he comes into his new powers but
deals with them like an adult, stoically accepting the fate life is
about to deal him. The Heat Factor The sexual tension builds slowly
with these two. After all, they have more pressing things to do (like
staying alive) than ogle each other every five minutes. But once the
burner gets turned up, the sexual chemistry is definitely sizzling
between these two. The author does a good job building up to the moment
with some steamy foreplay and then fades to black, leaving the
nitty-gritty details to the reader’s imagination. If you want graphic
sex scenes, this book is not for you. Not Quite a HEA The author
doesn’t tie the ending of this book up in a nice, neat bow. There are
many questions left unanswered and Will and Emma are still on the run.
But hey, that’s what sequels are for. *G* What Makes This Book Standout
This book is a page turner. Once I started it, I kept my Kindle by my
side at all times and even got a few thumb cramps from hitting the NEXT
PAGE key so fast. If you like good romantic suspense with a little
paranormal thrown in, don’t miss this gem of a book.

posted by Lori_reader_writer on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

The Good: Interesting and engaging storyline, with some well-dev

The Good: Interesting and engaging storyline, with some well-developed characters and plenty of action. Sub-plots are likewise well-developed, coming together smoothly and in a technically logical fashion.

The Bad: Obviously written from a feminine perspective, which ...
The Good: Interesting and engaging storyline, with some well-developed characters and plenty of action. Sub-plots are likewise well-developed, coming together smoothly and in a technically logical fashion.

The Bad: Obviously written from a feminine perspective, which is in and of itself is not a bad thing; however, emotions and actions should reflect how a real person, regardless of gender, would react in the real world within a given situation. Many of the emotions assigned to Will in stressful situations are out of character with what a man (in this case a soldier) would be feeling. A military man would not waste valuable time lamenting at length the fact that moving he would cause Emma pain; he would focus on removing her from danger and then deal with his emotions. If an author is going to cast the leading man as a battle-hardened ex-Marine, then that author needs to be able to take on the mantle of his psyche via research and personal interviews with relevant subjects, otherwise the character is not believable. I did not find Will believable; he did not think like a battle-hardened soldier, his thought processes (and subsequent actions) were more those of a female in a Harlequin romance.

The Ugly: Unfortunately, again the lack of research again rears its ugly head; the author clearly knows nothing about firearms, something that could be deemed important considering the prolific use of them in the story. A basic foundation in writing is to write about what you know, and if you don't know about something then research it before putting pen to paper. A rifle does not have a "tip", it has a barrel. Will would not hold the "tip" of the gun up, or nudge someone in the back with the rifle's "tip", he would hold the gun barrel up, or nudge someone with the end of the barrel. This is the equivalent of writing a book about sewing and saying you "Stepped on the bobbin to make the machine start sewing."
In addition, Emma at one point pulled the trigger of her pistol and held it, sending multiple rounds into her assailant. A pistol fires only one round with each pull of the trigger unless it is a machine-pistol, which is highly unlikely considering the legalities of ownership and the expense of such a weapon. Considering Emma's financial situation and her constantly being on the run, her having such a weapon is both unbelievable and illogical. Again, this inconsistency is akin to a protagonist who makes minimum wage driving around in Lamborghini. Not believable.

Hopefully, I don't come across as being overly critical; indeed the book has many redeeming qualities and garners many stars from other readers. The author is quite talented and weaves an interesting tale. But one of the guiding principles of fiction is that it must allow the reader to suspend disbelief in order for the story to work, and for this reader such is not the case. Characters acting illogically and a lack of knowledge of the subject matter was enough to kill my interest in the second volume; a shame, considering the potential of the well-conceived plot...

posted by ddh1961 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Wild Romantic Suspense Ride This book grabbed me from the first

    Wild Romantic Suspense Ride This book grabbed me from the first line and
    didn’t let go until the end. Fast-paced and action-packed, it had me
    flipping my virtual Kindles pages at mach speed. The author hardly ever
    lets the reader catch their breath. The suspense plot is tight and keeps
    us guessing. We, just like Emma, Will and Jake, have no idea who the bad
    men are and why they’re after them until the end. The Characters Will
    is a tortured hero hiding behind a cocky persona. I love how the author
    didn’t make him so self-assured that he can’t hide that he’s freaked out
    and a little scared of a 5 year old. Emma is believable as a mother
    doing everything in her power to keep her son safe. However, my
    mommy-meter went off every time Emma cusses like a sailor in front of
    her young child. During moments of life-threatening danger, I can
    understand letting one or two fly, but she didn’t seem to have a mommy
    filter on when things weren’t so tense. Jake is a child who is wise
    beyond his years. He’s confused as he comes into his new powers but
    deals with them like an adult, stoically accepting the fate life is
    about to deal him. The Heat Factor The sexual tension builds slowly
    with these two. After all, they have more pressing things to do (like
    staying alive) than ogle each other every five minutes. But once the
    burner gets turned up, the sexual chemistry is definitely sizzling
    between these two. The author does a good job building up to the moment
    with some steamy foreplay and then fades to black, leaving the
    nitty-gritty details to the reader’s imagination. If you want graphic
    sex scenes, this book is not for you. Not Quite a HEA The author
    doesn’t tie the ending of this book up in a nice, neat bow. There are
    many questions left unanswered and Will and Emma are still on the run.
    But hey, that’s what sequels are for. *G* What Makes This Book Standout
    This book is a page turner. Once I started it, I kept my Kindle by my
    side at all times and even got a few thumb cramps from hitting the NEXT
    PAGE key so fast. If you like good romantic suspense with a little
    paranormal thrown in, don’t miss this gem of a book.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Chosen

    Do you remember that movie "Legion" that came out in 2009? The one with the storyline where a young pregnant woman, Charlie, finds out that her unborn child is the key to humanity's survival? This book has the same sort of storyline (just exchange "Legion's" angels for members of a secret society and throw in a little bit of the TV show "Supernatural", with the characters constantly being on the run and frequenting sketchy motels), with the main character, Emma, finding out that there is more than meets the eye when it comes to her son (and that he is caught in the middle of a battle between good and evil), but unlike the movie, this book is extremely well done and entertaining ("Legion" did not live up to my expectations whatsoever, but this book completely exceeded them).

    While there were numerous reasons why this book was so successful, Denise's writing style, the original storyline, and the likes of, I think that this book was most successful because of how fast paced and engaging it was. Because Will, Emma, and Jake were constantly on the move, fighting for their lives, etc., you could never find yourself bored with the storyline- you were seriously on the edge of your seat the entire time (and trying to guesstimate what Denise was going to throw at you next- an exploding truck? Another gun fight? A near drowning?).

    Furthermore, the large majority of her characters were so well-developed, complex, but, most of all, real. Despite all of the hardships that Will and Emma had endured in their lives, they remained strong, resilient, and grounded (while a lesser character would have curled up in a ball and cried). Though I must admit, that I did have a bit of trouble connecting to Emma's son, Jake (especially when he was behaving as if he was possessed- talking more eloquently and grown-up than any 5 year old I have ever seen before)- I did prefer the story more when he was not as involved in it.

    All in all, after reading this book it becomes evident that Denise is an author to keep your eye on. I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us in the next book in this series, "Hunted"!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A sexy thrill ride

    I've read CHOSEN in all of its incarnations, and have never grumbled about diving back into the pages. It's a thriller, yes, and there's plenty of action and weapons and intrigue to keep you turning the pages. The paranormal bent is as mysterious as it is well executed, and the love interest...well, let me tell you. If they made Will's on an assembly line I would be standing in front, possibly without clothing, to grab the first one.

    All of the characters are real, acting and reacting in authentic, believable ways no matter which way the story twists and turns. Trust me, you will want to hang on for this ride and buckle up for the sequels as well.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Chosen is the book that started me on an ongoing love affair wit

    Chosen is the book that started me on an ongoing love affair with Paranormal novels...I loved reading about Emma's downtrodden hard life as a single mom and her intense love and devotion to Jake! This is by far one of the easier books to loose yourself in that I have ever read. In fact I loved it so much I share it with complete strangers on a daily basis! And even talked my husband and 16 year old into reading not only Chosen, but the whole Series...Denise Grover Swank deserve's an A+ for her amazing talent ! If you haven't read her books, get out there and buy them now and read them! You will be as addicted as I! 

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Can't wait for the sequel!

    From front to back this book kept me on a roller coaster of emotions. Emma, the female lead, is one bad ass lady who has protected her son with all she has in her. So when Will finds them she is naturally suspicious of him even with her son Jake's reassurance that they need him she is reluctant to let him in. And though Will didn't have good intentions when he set off looking for them, he quickly finds himself bonded to Emma - in more ways than one.

    The characters are so real that while yes, it's paranormal, the storyline is written in a way that I felt connected to the characters - especially Emma. The only time I was disappointed was when I read the last page b/c I cannot wait to know the what's next for Emma, Will and Jake.

    Bring on the sequel!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Hooked 100%

    After reading Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes by Swank, I knew I had to read Chosen. This book is well outside my usual genre and if I hadn't LOVED her first book, I doubt I would have given Chosen a chance - and it would have been my loss! I am absolutely and completely hooked on this story and can't wait for the next installment to see where it goes. I adore Will as a flawed leading man who is being given a chance at redemption. I don't want to give any spoilers, but suffice it to say my toes are tapping until I can dive back into this wonderfully weird world of prophesies, destiny and power-hungry bad guys.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    Amazing characters plot Exciting Great read Couldnt put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Terrific Read

    Great book, interesting characters and plot. I am looking forward to the next book in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Exciting From Page One!

    I don't give five stars lightly but this book definitely earned every one of them. From the very first page it took my breath away and kept me totally captivated. It's a story of a mother on the run, trying to protect her son, with wonderful, original paranormal elements thrown in. I loved it and can hardly wait to read the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    I never give five stars lightly. It takes a well written book with great character development, great pacing, an excellent plot, and great world building. This book had it all. The author grabbed me on the first page and never let me go. It was exciting from the opening sentence. I didn't want to put this down, and I haven't said that about a book in a long time. I enjoyed her debut novel immensely and she has outdone herself with this one. A touch of very original paranormal, mixed with action, danger, and just the right amount of romance, make this book an absolutely must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Really entertaining

    Enjoyed the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Exciting

    I fell in love with this story!! I was captured from the beginning and couldn't put it down. I felt as though I were apart of the story, laughing and crying right along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Loved this Series

    Loved this series. Read all 4 books in a 4 day weekend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Anon

    From page one there is action, adventure, thriller suspense...and if that's not enough for you to read Chosen there's also the ultimate of good vs evil. However the writer keeps you guessing as to which side is the right one to be on. The characters are strong and realistic. I caught myself holding my breath on more than one occasion. Bought book 2 as soon as I finished reading 1, grabbed some crackers and a bottle of water, wrote this review and I'm ready to jump into Hunted with high expectations. Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    So Good!

    I loved this book and I'm already on to part 2 (Hunted). It was fast moving and I read it in 2 days!! Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Amazing!

    I chose this book on a whim, and wasn't disappointed. The characters are well written, the dialogue flows very well, and the plot just flies!

    Ms. Swank has taken a "Catch me if you can" story and given it one heck of a twist. Just when you think you know what's going on, she throws yet another curveball into the mix.

    This is a nail biting, heart-breaking, on the edge of your seat, triumphant love story! This is a story for any parent fighting for their child, and each other; in the face of paranormal (?) odds.
    This is a story for everyone. Be sure to check out the sequels. They do not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Destine

    Im bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Love it

    So far really great series and its really cooto read from an author from the same area

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    AWESOME

    Gotta get the whole series (4 Books).
    Chosen
    Hunted
    Sacrifice
    Redemption
    FREAKIN AWESOME SERIES!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6