Customer Reviews for

Chosen (Ancients of Light #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great

This book was amazing. This book manages to sweep you away to a magical land and make you not want to leave.I can't wait for the next installment.

posted by 17130903 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

This book was a little different from my ususal read. All in all it was good but parts did move rather slowly.

posted by 4177192 on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great

    This book was amazing. This book manages to sweep you away to a magical land and make you not want to leave.I can't wait for the next installment.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Yh

    Impressed.never read this author before.good plot development and liked the characters.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Good book

    I stumbled upon this book and wanted to give it a try. I am glad that I did. This is a really great book. I cant wait for the next in the series to come out!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    In ancient times, a prophesy foretold of the Chosen, a witch so

    In ancient times, a prophesy foretold of the Chosen, a witch so powerful that she would be able to unite the Witch and the Vampire, two groups who had been divided for Millennia after a bitter betrayal. That's where the story begins, but it picks back up (after a magical hiatus) in the modern day. Will Kaitriana be able to fulfill the Prophesy and save the world? Who is the key?

    I loved this book. Heather Fleener did a great job of vividly painting a world that is magical while still telling a classic good vs. evil story. It was a steamy read full of action that had me anxious to turn the (virtual) page to see how things would unfold. I'm looking forward to reading the next installment in the series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good Read

    This book was a little different from my ususal read. All in all it was good but parts did move rather slowly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Bleh

    I could hardly finish this book! Why does poor kat need 2 be tormented as well in her mating scenes? I feel hatred toward that horrible, abominable lorcan. She cant even decide things without the consent of that stupid, bossy lorcan! Its like she's a toy,, a pet 2 play with! She is like being manipulated by that dumb, incoherent lorcan. Ugh.... plz heather change lorcan's persona and make him nicer! I am not saying i dont like ur book, its just, it wod be better if lorcan treted her like an equal... or he wasnt in the the story at all.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Ok

    I agree with some other comments regarding how the Chosen was treated

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Tz

    Liked the story could have done without such an overcontroling lead male role found it rather offputting acually the only reason i finished it was to see if he would come to his senses and treat his "mate" as an equal instead of constantly trying to break her spirit--he didn't so for me not really interested in reading any others in this series

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Its...

    A pretty good book however getting a glimpes into the next book i am disappointed that it wil be new characters.... it sucks when authors do that sometimes....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    More please

    Wonderful book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Don't listen to the haters...

    Some feminists bashed thiis book because othe male lead. But they were'nt even paying attention to the fact that the prophesy was deciphered to mean that Lorcan would be the leader and Kaitriana was to be his key to fulfilling it. Get a life people...it's a romance, of course the male will be a little dominant. He obviously loves her and doesn't mistreat her at all...except playfully, as she does him. For heaven's sake, don't read this if you are too feminist to enjoy it properly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OMG, I'm not sure I can even finish reading this book. I am skip

    OMG, I'm not sure I can even finish reading this book. I am skipping dozens & dozens of pages chapter after chapter of meaningless drivel in the bedroom (no sex, no plot, no action) and trying to search out revelant pages that have actual PLOT happening on them. Hugely BORING & a huge disappointment! Didn't the publisher even assign an editor to work with this author??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Surprisingly Delightful!

    I was very surprised at hiw well written this was! This is definitely an author I will be reading more of.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Absolutely no complaints. Lots of great detail and steamy sex. This book reads like a epic fantasy with a love story. Not a short story, Fleener could have shortened the story, but didn't. Thank goodness! I could read it again immediately!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Why this isnt my kind of book...

    The writing grammar and descriptions are perfect but once i saw that the story was progressing into a seductive novel after the 17th seductive scene i gave up. I was expecting something else. More action and adventure. Dont get me wrong i enjoy romance in books as much as the next romance fan. It would have been better if Kat stayed a toddler and he would have to guard her with his life. So giving it 3 stars was me being generous. Once again dont get me wrong the author is perfect. Story is bleh...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Yes read you will love it

    I read this one two times. Once when it first came out and just now to refresh before starting to read the second one. In my Nook it has 700 pages. Adults only. Its a very hot book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Great read

    Now im hooked! I need to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Chosen was a great introduction to this series.  It eased you in

    Chosen was a great introduction to this series.  It eased you into the world of the Realms and introduced you to its history of Light vs Dark very nicely.  It is a rich world with a lot going on.  Witches and Vampires have been warring for centuries - each chosing a side and fighting til death.  When the Chosen is prophesied, a witch with unimaginable powers, everyone begins to watch for her - each with their own reasons.  I wasn't a big fan of the Chosen, Kaitriana (although I love her name).  While I enjoyed her banter and her fun-loving attitude, there were times she carried it too far.  Jorcan was a little too serious - he needed to lighten up a bit.  Their story was a great romance though - a true opposites attract and love conquers all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Oh. My. Goodness.

    Best. Clan. Ever. Romeclan with Ceasarstar? This. Is. Epic. I suppose there's a collessium? xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Antonyclaw

    Of course. You should advertise some more. Im locked out of all the erin hunter books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8