Customer Reviews for

Chosen (House of Night Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2826 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1895)

4 Star

(598)

3 Star

(226)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

WOW

I have to say this series is awesome! I read all 5 books in a week! I just couldnt put it down! I cant wait till november to read the 6 book!!!

posted by lish on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I had to stop at Chosen.

Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was ...
Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was with Erik.

Chosen made me lose all my respect for Zoey. For the first few chapters all she did was complain about her stupid birthday presents, well girl you should have told them straight up instead of pretending to be happy. And how can she be such a tramp for being with Heath and letting Erik stay in the dark? Erik is such a sweet guy. I just had to stop after those first 5 chapters. And I've read in some reviews that she actually slept with the cradle robbing teacher who supposely made her "feel like a woman". Oh that's bull crap right there.

This series is NOTHING compared to the Twilight Saga. It's hard to believe people actually find it better, but everyone's entitled to their own opinions.

posted by MillyMP on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2846 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 143
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I had to stop at Chosen.

    Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was with Erik.

    Chosen made me lose all my respect for Zoey. For the first few chapters all she did was complain about her stupid birthday presents, well girl you should have told them straight up instead of pretending to be happy. And how can she be such a tramp for being with Heath and letting Erik stay in the dark? Erik is such a sweet guy. I just had to stop after those first 5 chapters. And I've read in some reviews that she actually slept with the cradle robbing teacher who supposely made her "feel like a woman". Oh that's bull crap right there.

    This series is NOTHING compared to the Twilight Saga. It's hard to believe people actually find it better, but everyone's entitled to their own opinions.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Not the best

    I deffinately liked the first one the best. The dialouge in the past two books is just too repetitive and all Zoey does is repeat her problems over and over again. All I kept thinking through out the book is that she is an annoying skank. The plot redeems the series though, and I will continue reading the series just to find out what happens.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Too many words to describe

    Let me get it out there that I do not ever write reviews for books, but chosen has been bothering me for so long and after my sister '15' shared the same opinion I knew it was not just me. The first book showed a lot of promise, then then second book I could feel it kind of going downhill...but then the third book came out and it ruined the series for me completely. Of course there were things about the writing that bothered me, like how Zoey's voice seems to be more of the authors I dont know how to explain it other then every time she was going on about how she felt about something like religion, sexual orientation, how people act...it did not feel like her. The whole time you felt like you were just reading the authors opinions on things even if it was written as Zoeys thoughts...I cant explain it easily through writing. But then there is her issues with men...thats what killed it in the end. I liked how Zoey was a strong character and did not lean on someone else the whole time. But even that does not make up for everything else this character is forever ruined for me. Not only was her relationship with Eric horrible, and a neglected part of the story, but then her obvious lack of control with all three...yes people three men of her life was just horrible to even read. Of course the author had a explanation for every time she lost her control and ended up cheating on her boyfriend, but I think even with all the reasons in the world her poor choices and stupid decisions changed a lot of peoples opinions of her. No I will never recommend this book, im only 17 but I dont want a character portrayed like Zoey being the one young girls read about.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Disappointing.

    After finishing this book, i concluded with: 'Erik Night is too good for Zoey Redbird'. Like the other reviewers, the authors did repeat an awful lot of the previous two books. The story was very uneventful, my conclusion was that it filled 300 pages was because most of the information were things that were already mentioned in not one, but two of the previous books. Also, I am in absolute no favor whatsoever toward Zoey. The entire book she claims that she hates 'sluts'(which is one of the reasons why she supposedly didn't like herself), but in the end, she is one herself. This is most likely the worst vampire book I've ever read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Not The Best They Could Do

    I found this book to be the most annoying one(besides TEMPTED of course). Over all it was a great book.The ending just kinda killed it though. I really hated the fact that Loren Blake just used Zoey because of Neferet. I`m not saying what she did was right, considering the fact that she was with Erik when she and Loren did it. If I were Zoey after the first time Loren kissed her, I would have slapped him in the face and said "I have a boyfriend, so you really need to back off!" and walk away. I would not let him drink from me (my chest no less)and have it with him! I`m sorry but I personally think that Zoey is a girl who really needs to decide what she wants to do with herself.
    She can`t keep on making out with guys behind their backs! It is just not right!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    I have to say this series is awesome! I read all 5 books in a week! I just couldnt put it down! I cant wait till november to read the 6 book!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    House of Night Series rocks!

    All of the books in this series are wonderful! I can say now that after reading the latest one out that I can't wait for more. This is an edgy and fun book with good character development and a good story line. I recommend reading the first 2 books before this one though just to get a little back story, even though things are explained for those who might not have read those.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    agreeing with the review before me

    This book was good but throughout the book the problems are repeated over and OVER again and it gets not only repetitive but annoying. I also didn't like how skanky the Zoey was in this book, I thought her character was smarter than that. One thing I will say I liked about the book, was that the story itself was good and I enjoyed the twist toward the end. If only they repetitiveness was taken out, it would make the difference for me between a 2 star rating and a 5. I hope the next book coming out in the Fall doesn't have that same repetitive feel.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awsome effing book

    OMG this book is so effing good i was jumping up and down and screaming like a crazy person with all the stuff that was going on best book in the series so far read it in one day cant wait to read the next one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Surprisingly good!

    Some series just can't keep my attention past the first or second book, but this series is great and just keeps getting better! A must read for YA fiction lovers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I LOVE THIS BOOK AND ALL THE SERIES I JUST COULDNT PUT MY BOOK DOWN ITS AMASING AND INTERESTING AND I CRIED ON SOME PARTS LOVE IT KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK THANK YOU FOR WRITTING AND KEEPING US YOUR FANS HAPPY
    MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You have to read this book

    When I started reading the House of Night Series, I was not sure if I would like the series or not. I have read 3 books now, and I have to say that I am definately hooked.
    This series is about a young lady who is trying to deal with becoming a High Priestess, juggling her friends and boyfriends for that matter. Zoey's life is so complicated and she has to deal with a lot. I can definately see Young and old people can get into the series because it relates to the average person of today; Of course not everything (most young people are not marked to becoming vampires or priestess). You want to fit in, you want to have friends, and you want to make something of yourself.
    This book was really well written. I found it very hard to put the book down. I do have to say one thing....I really like Zoey's grandma! When her mom and steploser have given up on Zoey and her lifestyle, her grandma is there backing her up. Zoey's grandma gives her all the encouragement and knowledge to accomplish anything she sets her mind to do. That is what family is suppose to do.
    Zoey goes through a difficult time in this book.....She has/had 3 boyfriends (which one will she choose), her friends are really cool (until they find out most of what is going on), Stevie Ray is changing and needs Zoey's help, Zoey is going up against something big. Doesn't that sound inviting? Read this book, you will not be disappointed. Honestly!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading

    The story really does rival Twilight and Laural K Hamilton's vampire stories. The plots are addicting and the story is painted well. Its fun for a quick read, only takes a few hours. The only down side to this, and the other books, is the spelling and gramatical errors that pop up. But hey if you like vampires you'll like this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Naladhdgdhhgfjfhrfhfhchvbfbhudhyfhfhfgdtggf fhdhdg whdjsjdhdhxd xndbxdhe¿xoxoxoxooxxooxxooxx

    Dbxhdhsdxc ffgbfntbxjjkggghvhvyvyvtvyvyvhvvhugjctcyuuyhbhbvfggf ggvvvggbggv1901010123346790000877631123456789011121314151617181910100179484856&:&%3!¿?¿¿¿^\^^______________________?¿¿?¿¿¿???¿^^¿¿^¿¿^¿¿oxoxoxoxxooxxooxxooxxooxxooxxoos

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    3 love interest..need i say more

    There are vampires dying, a crazy high priestess on a rampage, but all you think about is the 3 love interest of Zoey. Heath, the human ex-boyfriend is my favorite, but he isn't zoey's. Eric turns out to be a total jerk, but he is provoked. Loren Blake is the new love interest, but don't get use to him. The series is getting so exciting. I literally read Chosen in a day and a half. Once you start you can't stop. P.S. Stevie Rae is back!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Chosen, the third book in the House of Night series

    This book is amazing. Out of the entire series they are finally facing the biggest problem so far and figuring it out along the way is the best part, as they slowly put together the clues of Neferet they find out who they really are and who their friends and foes are too. With Zoey still upset over Loren's death everyone hopes she can find comfort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CHOSEN

    Okay, so after books 1 & 2 I had to read the third (and actually now just finished the 5th and newest in the series.) I really didn't expect to like the House of Night series as much as I liked the Twilight series. Although I'd still have to say I like Twilight better, the HON series has deffinently caught my attention and drawn me in (when I didn't want to like it innitally.) If you like Twilight you'll like this series - similar and yet totally different, you've just got to read it! I'd say you don't have to start with books one and two (because the author "recaps" at the beginning of each book,) but I'd recommend doing so.
    The only problem is I feel like the heroine (Zoey,) has way too much guy drama - she likes/is involved with about three guys at any given time in the series. It also seems like she always attracts the "hotest" most desireable guys around her - amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    OHMYGOSH!!!! I DEFINITLY LOVED IT!

    Well this book was definitly at the top of my favorite list( also the last two books) i like zoey and definitly think erik is the best choice out of loren, heath, and erik. KEEP WRITING!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Gooooddddd

    Lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This was great? ! This was great!

    Really good book everyone should read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2846 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 143