Customer Reviews for

Chosen (House of Night Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2834 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1899)

4 Star

(602)

3 Star

(226)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

CHOSEN

Okay, so after books 1 & 2 I had to read the third (and actually now just finished the 5th and newest in the series.) I really didn't expect to like the House of Night series as much as I liked the Twilight series. Although I'd still have to say I like Twilight better, ...
Okay, so after books 1 & 2 I had to read the third (and actually now just finished the 5th and newest in the series.) I really didn't expect to like the House of Night series as much as I liked the Twilight series. Although I'd still have to say I like Twilight better, the HON series has deffinently caught my attention and drawn me in (when I didn't want to like it innitally.) If you like Twilight you'll like this series - similar and yet totally different, you've just got to read it! I'd say you don't have to start with books one and two (because the author "recaps" at the beginning of each book,) but I'd recommend doing so.
The only problem is I feel like the heroine (Zoey,) has way too much guy drama - she likes/is involved with about three guys at any given time in the series. It also seems like she always attracts the "hotest" most desireable guys around her - amazing!

posted by timetraveler-1692- on August 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I had to stop at Chosen.

Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was ...
Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was with Erik.

Chosen made me lose all my respect for Zoey. For the first few chapters all she did was complain about her stupid birthday presents, well girl you should have told them straight up instead of pretending to be happy. And how can she be such a tramp for being with Heath and letting Erik stay in the dark? Erik is such a sweet guy. I just had to stop after those first 5 chapters. And I've read in some reviews that she actually slept with the cradle robbing teacher who supposely made her "feel like a woman". Oh that's bull crap right there.

This series is NOTHING compared to the Twilight Saga. It's hard to believe people actually find it better, but everyone's entitled to their own opinions.

posted by MillyMP on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Disappointing.

    After finishing this book, i concluded with: 'Erik Night is too good for Zoey Redbird'. Like the other reviewers, the authors did repeat an awful lot of the previous two books. The story was very uneventful, my conclusion was that it filled 300 pages was because most of the information were things that were already mentioned in not one, but two of the previous books. Also, I am in absolute no favor whatsoever toward Zoey. The entire book she claims that she hates 'sluts'(which is one of the reasons why she supposedly didn't like herself), but in the end, she is one herself. This is most likely the worst vampire book I've ever read.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    pure disappointment

    i read marked and betrayed and loved them, but then i read chosen, and was so disappointed! zoey acts so stupiedly. in my opinion zoey deserves the end of the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Fanfic reviewer

    So far so good... i like the idea. Cand get a bit confusing though...three out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    To author

    Awesome! &hearts - & hearts no space

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Disapointed

    Although I have enjoyed the initial story line thus far in the series, I felt this one was forced. It didn't flow very well. Especially, when it came to the boyfriends. The whole thing with Blake seemed almost unneeded. Neferet could have used Eric and acheived the same goals....I may be wrong, but I would have thought that the story would have worked better. I do get tired of the repetitive-ness of it all. By now we all know the problems Zoey is having, we don't need it said every other chapter. I wish there had been more with the People of the Faith/Teachers dying part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Hah!

    Ha ha ha. I knew it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good

    This seris is okay but the girl acts like a total slut.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Lame...

    Okay so are we just milking for problems now, really?... same thing OVER and OVER and OVER - And of course.... we just could REALLY kill the girls best friend could we.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    A bit disappointing

    I found the first two books of the series quite enjoyable and entertaining but was disappointed with the third book. The author dedicated far too much of the third book updating readers in detail of events that occurred in the first two books - which I'd already purchased and read. The books are pretty short reads to begin with and I felt far too much of the third installment was duplication. Also, in the second book Zoey was becoming a more mature, intelligent fledgling but in the third book she seemed to lose that mature responsible edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Choice for a 3rd book

    I began the House of Night series with minimal hopes for the book. The moment I began I was hooked. Marked and Betrayed drew me in but I found Chosen to drag a little bit and the teenage angst and drama became a little annoying. Although necessary to read to understand the subplots, try to skim over the teenage drama and find the core of the story. All and All a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Chosen

    This is my least favorite book in the whole series. I hated how Zoey had three boyfriends. I mean, COME ON! Just dump Loren and Heath and be FAITHFUL to Erik. I really hate that throughout the books Zoey's affections are constantly swaying from guy to guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than Book #2

    I have previously stated in my review of Betrayed (HoN #2) and Marked (HoN #1), that I liked this series, but the teeny dialogue and inner monologue kind of bugged me. Well, it still did in this book. I know a lot of teenagers, and maybe it's just the ones where I live, but they don't talk like that. However, if you cans set that aside like I was able to, then the underlying story is quite good!

    In this installment of Zoey Redbird's adventures as a fledgling vampyre, Zoey has some serious issues to deal with. First, she has become, in her own words, "a bit of a ho-bag". She has not one, not two, but three boyfriends to juggle. Heath her human ex-boyfriend who imprinted with her accidentally, Erik the fellow fledgling who is the coolest, nicest, handsome, and most popular boy in the House of Night, and Loren Blake the young and seriously hot, full vampyre professor. It was bugging me for a while that Zoey seemed to feel guilty about all of this, but didn't really seem to do anything about it. Another reviewer said, quite correctly if Zoey were a male, there is no way we would be expected to tolerate the relationship juggling. No one would forgive it just because there was a fleeting moment of guilt. Without revealing too much, doing things you shouldn't be doing, generally catches up with you in the end.

    One thing that I love is the strong Native American links this series has. I think it is a wonderful twist to the vampyre tale. Zoey's grandmother is one of my favorite characters because of this. She teaches Zoey and supports her where her mother will not. Which brings me to more of Zoey's family. Her mother and step-father are deliciously horrible people. Her mother is one of those spineless women who seems to want and need a man to hide behind and tell her what to think and how to think it. Her step-father is a religious overachiever. His way is the only way and if you don't agree then you are wrong. In Zoey's situation, it seems exceptionally cruel. They consider turning into a vampyre an evil choice, however, Zoey had no say in the matter. She was marked, and if she didn't go to the House of Night immediately, she would die. Therefore, in their minds, Zoey is evil. Pretty harsh.

    This part of the series had a lot more graphic parts to it, both violent and sexual. Actually I was surprised with how racy it got. Again, doesn't necessarily bother me, but I know it influences many people's opinions on deciding to pick up a book or not. There is more than just innuendo.

    We get to see a lot more of the creature formerly known as Stevie Rae. Zoey is desperately trying to find a way to save her, but her humanity, or what is left of it, is rapidly disappearing. The storyline involving Stevie Rae was very interesting to me and I thought it was clever the way she began to embody the vampyre stereotypes that none of the true, adult vampyres in the book possess.

    Overall, the good outweighed the bad in this book. There are some major plot twists and turns that I did see trying to sneak in, but not right away. I just caught on before Zoey did. There were some hints things I picked up on for the next book as to who is behind some gruesome attacks, but I am not sure if I am right. I still want to find out! I'm glad I stuck with the series. The first book was pretty good, the second was alright, and the third was the best thus far. I will be picking up Untamed (#4), Hunted (#5), and Tempted (#6) in t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It could've been better.

    There are a lot of things that kind of annoy me about these books but overall they are very addictive. Throughout the book the main character,Zoey,fights to save her best friend's humanity with the help of her past mortal enemy Aphrodite. My respect for Zoey crashes and dies when she starts going out with three guys. One who happens to be a professor at her school. The fact that most of the relationships center around kissing and bloodbites aren't really impressing me much. I can say,though,that the book sends you on a wild ride filled with surprises that you won't expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chosen

    This isn't the best vampire series I've ever read but it's a fun read nonetheless. I actually like the plot lines in these books, it's filled with intrigue and plot twists... it's all this other stuff that sort of gets in the way of it being a great book. The whole "teen lingo" is taken too far to where it's rather annoying at times and the constant circle casting gets a little annoying too. I actually like the whole affinity for elements, I feel it's different than a lot of other vampire novels. But there was one chapter where there were two circle castings back to back and it's pretty much the same thing each time and Cast puts a lot of detail into each one. Overall a good book and I'll definitely read the rest of the series because the end of this one leaves you wondering what exactly will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Less fullfilling as the first two

    While not the best vampire series, I've enjoyed it so far. But the 3rd in the series has definitely not been my favorite. I can't exactly pinpoint what it is that made this book less than than the first two. Maybe it's the "teen" talk that seems to be way over the top. Or maybe its the strange relationship between teacher and student that doesn't seem quite plausible. I also didn't quite like how fast Zoey's friends seemed to drop her after the discovered she had been lying. Seems second chances aren't given in the House of Night. I did enjoy the development of Aphrodite's character and what might actually be a friendship between Zoey and her. I also liked the strength Zoey is showing. Her powers would be a lot for any teenager to handle and think so far she's doing a understandable job taking it all in stride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chosen...

    This series is okay, i just dont like the fact that zoey cannot control her bloodlust and that she cant control her feelings and really think about the 3 GUYS who shes involed with. It makes her seem like a hoe. =(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meh.

    I've finished Chosen and feel utterly disappointed. The first book caught my interest, I got through the second hoping for more, and the third just bombed...I've started the fourth book now, and I hope it brings my expectations back up. This book basically was about hormones, and stupid commentary. I was so disappointed in the main character that I almost stopped reading. Many times in the story Zoey refers to herself as a ho, and I couldn't agree more. The writers brought her from a great interesting character to a idiotic, mindless, and for lack of a better word...ho. I would have loved to have the plot focused more on conflicts, and less on Zoey having sexual encounters. I'm hoping for more in the fourth, or I might just have to shelf the fifth book that I've already bought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NEVER AGAIN

    Yes, I have to admit, I am a TOTAL nerd and I love to read so naturally I will read anything. When I read the first book, I fell in love with Zoey Redbird and all of her friends. In the second book, I thought it was good, but you could tell Zoey had a guy problem. When I started to read the third one I thought it was ok. It wasnt the best book I have ever read, but I could manage because I needed to know how it ended. When i came to the middle of the book (and just to let you know by this time Zoey is dating Erik who I LOVE and is imprinted with Heath but Erik knows that) and Loren gets to Zoey I thought it was a little too much. Then when he kisses her (and Loren is a teacher) I WANTED TO THROW THE BOOK AT THE CASTS' FACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CMON!!!!!!!!!!! But, again, I could manage. I understand that Zoey thinks Loren is cutre blah, blah, blah. By the end of the book, I completely lost respect for Little-Miss-Perfect. I used to relate myself to Zoey because she was never the coolest in school but she was SO not the loser either. She was somewhere in the middle, like when your in the hall and everyone says hi to you and you may not know their name. I dont even want to remember that I thought of myself like her! I would NEVER have made HALF of the deisions Zoey has made! This is my least favorite book of the series, however if you plan on reading the whole series YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK! THE REST OF THE SERIES WILL NOT MAKE ANY SENSE!



    I planned on reading the whole series again, so I picked up "Chosen" and put it right back down! Howver, I CANT WAIT UNTIL OCTOBER 27 FOR THE 6TH BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Tempted)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    chosen by: P.C cast

    i love this book although it is kinda of edgy and unrealistic i think it is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chosen

    I like the series. It's written for the teenage audience, and even though I'm way beyond that age group, I like the concept of the storyline. I don't think the writing is as detailed as it could be, but over all, I would recommend the series to the teen audience. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone younger than 14, however, due to some minor sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12