BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chosen (House of Night Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2830 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1896)

4 Star

(601)

3 Star

(226)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

CHOSEN

Okay, so after books 1 & 2 I had to read the third (and actually now just finished the 5th and newest in the series.) I really didn't expect to like the House of Night series as much as I liked the Twilight series. Although I'd still have to say I like Twilight better, ...
Okay, so after books 1 & 2 I had to read the third (and actually now just finished the 5th and newest in the series.) I really didn't expect to like the House of Night series as much as I liked the Twilight series. Although I'd still have to say I like Twilight better, the HON series has deffinently caught my attention and drawn me in (when I didn't want to like it innitally.) If you like Twilight you'll like this series - similar and yet totally different, you've just got to read it! I'd say you don't have to start with books one and two (because the author "recaps" at the beginning of each book,) but I'd recommend doing so.
The only problem is I feel like the heroine (Zoey,) has way too much guy drama - she likes/is involved with about three guys at any given time in the series. It also seems like she always attracts the "hotest" most desireable guys around her - amazing!

posted by timetraveler-1692- on August 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I had to stop at Chosen.

Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was ...
Truthfully, I enjoyed Marked because I admired Zoey's strength and her friendship with her friends were sweet. Betrayed gave me mixed feelings for the fact that Zoey is falling for her supposely "ex"-boyfriend Heath and that teacher whatever-his-name-is, while she was with Erik.

Chosen made me lose all my respect for Zoey. For the first few chapters all she did was complain about her stupid birthday presents, well girl you should have told them straight up instead of pretending to be happy. And how can she be such a tramp for being with Heath and letting Erik stay in the dark? Erik is such a sweet guy. I just had to stop after those first 5 chapters. And I've read in some reviews that she actually slept with the cradle robbing teacher who supposely made her "feel like a woman". Oh that's bull crap right there.

This series is NOTHING compared to the Twilight Saga. It's hard to believe people actually find it better, but everyone's entitled to their own opinions.

posted by MillyMP on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 601 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    OHMYGOSH!!!! I DEFINITLY LOVED IT!

    Well this book was definitly at the top of my favorite list( also the last two books) i like zoey and definitly think erik is the best choice out of loren, heath, and erik. KEEP WRITING!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I like this book

    Zoey is a whore but i really like the story

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Dapplefeather and co

    I LOVE the idea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Chosen: Prolouge

    None of us ever think about the world ending in front of us. We all believe it will happen in the distant future, after we have long since passed. I used to think like that too. 3946, the height of Earth's Golden Age. Space Travel had been acheived 457 years ago, and though we had thus far not found another planet with an intelligent species of life on it, we had found a life-sustaining planet. It was named Taerria, a slight deviation of the word terra, which is a synonym for Earth. We'd planned on settling it later on, when it was approved by the governments of the world, and when the appropriate people had been chosen. Then the wars started. Just one war, at first, between Lithuania, a now powerful country, contrasting to old times, when it had been a small thing, and Greece. Then Russia got pulled in. Then Canada. Germany. Italy. Japan. China. France. England. Then the United States. Soon, we all had to face facts. We were in the middle of World War III. Nuclear attacks were only so far away. Suddenly, settling Taerria went from a nice idea, to a necessity for the savior of the human race. Only one problem was left. Who was to be chosen? <br>
    <p>
    Hello! This is the author of Chosen here. My name is Emris. I used to rp on here, but not anymore. I'm stealing my old nook from my brother Aeron while he isn't using it to write. Now, here's the rules: <br>
    1. I will only post another segment when the last segment written has at least three positive comments. <br>
    2. This is MY story, I write it. Not you. I'm not going to add your OC in, of which half the time are Mary-Sues. Or change my plot. You have NO IDEA where I'm trying to go with this. So don't try and change a plot. You'll just end up fu<_>cking the whole thing up. Excuse my profanity. <br>
    3. IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, DON' T READ IT! Simple. I don't want a bunch of people who read every chapter then complain about it for a paragraph. Contructive critisism is fine. Hate mail is not. <br>
    4. I am an English Major in College currently. That does not make me absolutely perfect. I will have grammar mistakes sometimes, I will have spelling mistakes sometimes. I'm not a SpellCheck like on Microsoft. I'm a human being. <br>
    <p>
    That being over with, please comment! I love *contructive critisism*, so feel free to speak your mind. Thank you! &heartEmris&heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    If you want ag If you want a good scary thrill pick up this book and read cover to cover

    If you want a good thill with a twist grab this book and dont stop reading until you are done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Sk<_>&lambda<_>wind's Bi<_>&sigma<_>

    Name: Skywind. Age: Fourteen moons. Gender: &male<_>Male. Looks: Large gray tom with white-tipped paws and ears. Eyes are a striking royal blue. Personality: Kind, strong, caring, loyal, willing to stand up for friends, cats in need, and those who cannot stand up for themselves. History: Awoke on a seaside cliff. A breeze was ruffling his fur and his eyes shone in the night. He came across FallClan, was appointed as deputy, and fell in love with the leader, Firestar. Mate: Firestar. Kits: Very soon. Other: Eats like a pig. Do not attempt to feed him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Story keeps moving

    Still enjoyable. The plot thickens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    W She reallt She really needs to make up her mind cuz shes giving mr wipplash

    Loren hearh or erik the world may never know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good

    It was a good book but a bit... odd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    okay

    this was okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Chosen Review

    Things are cracking down at the Tulsa House of Night. After Professor Nolan is killed with a note left that seems to lead to the People of Faith Security is upped, leaving the school filled with Son of Erebus hotties. Although Zoey is dating Erik, the best catch in school, she is still strongly tied to Heath through imprint due to her unusual bloodlust and although she tries to break things off with him, she always comes back to the same thing. Then there is Loren Blake, the sexy poetry teacher that seems to have a thing for Zoey as well. But boys are the least of Zoey’s problems. With the higher security, Zoey and Aphrodite have to come up with another way to sneak out of school to help Stevie Rae who seems to be lost beyond hope and with Stevie Rae gone from the school, Zoey has to replace Stevie Rae’s position as Earth for the Dark Daughters ceremony and it seems that Aphrodite is the perfect fit, as awful as she might be. With all these secrets flying around things are bound to fall out and fall apart. Chosen is the third installment to the House of Night series and is filled with Love, Friendship, Betrayal, and Magic.

    I truly enjoy reading this particular series. For me it’s very much vampires meets Harry Potter with a more mature twist. I was so into this book that for a while I had to quit reading it because I was too nervous about what I thought was going to happen. I have read this series a few times through now, normally starting over each time a new book comes out so that I’m not missing anything, and one of the things that I particularly like is that it keeps evolving and therefore, although there are nine books, the story doesn’t get old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    I loved this series.

    I loved the whole series and every single book I devoured in no time at all. I like that Zoey is flawed and is like a normal teenager. Some people on here want her to be perfect. If she was perfect there would be no plot or reason to read. I reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Amazing

    The entire book is amazing, but close to the ending I noticed how typical the protagonist, Zoey, was acting. Humor is here and there, and the details of the book is amazing. Well written to relate to actual teens. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed thoughts on these books.

    Ok, I'm giving this a 4-star rating even though I actually do have a lot of various complaints and somewhat agree with some of the more negative reviews I've read. Firstly, the writing really isn't that great. Some books are just richly written, some are way more simplistic and even 'bare' in spots. These books are most definitely more simplistic. Like Twilight simplistic. It's a little off-putting at first until (or unless) you get engrossed in the story. By this point in the series things in Zoey's life have started to both speed up and slow down. Things aren't always going her way so much as in the previous book, and the drama is increased. She gets herself into some pretty sticky (and dumb) situations, and I've seen a lot of complaints about this but hello? She's a kid. We've all made dumb choices as teenagers (and adults). The story also started to feel pretty repetitive and I did find myself skimming in a few places. And yes, it gets a tad preachy with Zoey's beliefs. However, having said all of that I still found the entertainment value of it outweighed all of my complaints. Which is exactly what happened with the Twilight series, which I love but can also equally pick apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i liked it!

    i was very happy when i finished this book. it was a success!! i really like how Zoey has grown and changed compared to the first book. honestly, i like how she's cursing more because i always thought her not cursing was kind of babyish... it's still a problem but not as bad... i also really like how Zoey is becoming friends with Aphrodite!! i really like her. i think that Zoey and Aphrodite can be very powerful when they're together.
    this book was pretty good. i cannot wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ~gasps~

    CHOSEN...
    Resumed...Zoe's dead-undead bff is it true??? imagination??
    Erik..yummy yummy Erik is so damn good she doesn't deserve him at all!
    Heath is way head over heals for Zoe...not that she complains but doesn't help with the Erik situation...
    Loren just happened to take the only good thing left from her...
    her new bff might just be who was not so long ago her swore-to-death-worst-enemy-ever!
    she lies so much...she can't believe it
    and EVEN WITH SO MUCH GOING ON with her...she still manages to stay focused on what Nyx asks for her...
    now that's what I love about the whole books!!
    she stays true to her beliefs and in theory to her friends...(to protect them)
    I couldn't put this book down at all!! never! so I ended up reading it in one day!!loved it...love the way of Zoe's pov! can't get enough of it!!
    oh yeah...and something is killing vamps...guess who's the one that has to save the day(again)? yeap...you guessed right!
    our girl!Z!!!u go girl!
    4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    GREAT BOOK !!

    this is a totally awesome book. i love the house of night series , it really gets you into the book. but to fully understand this you need to start the series from the beginning. i cant wait to read the rest !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    good read

    excellent for the young or those of us who just never grow past fantasy-----relaxing read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    pretty good

    it was all good... up till the end oh fyi has some STRONG topics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 601 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31